We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Lunch Thali”
Review of Aangan

Aangan
Reserve with OpenTable
Aangan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,616 of 13,754 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: Broadway and 103rd street
Transit: Subway 103rd Street Station - # 1 Train
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Lunch Thali”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wandering toward the subway and in search of good food, well prepared and presented that doesn't cost a month's rent, we stopped at Aangan on 103rd and Broadway. We have traveled in India and rarely find such a delicious thali (platter of small dishes). I chose the seafood thali and my husband selected chicken and lamb. Everything tasted freshly made and came out of the kitchen steaming hot (temp). The most extraordinary thing was that even the tandoori shrimp were perfectly cooked and juicy. Nothing was dry, rubbery or bland (we have eaten some dreadful stuff lately--here in New York). The naan came to the table hot from the oven, fresh and lightly buttered. The restaurant's interior is quite lovely, also...high ceiling and beautiful stenciled design (rongoli designs?) on the walls. All in all, a surprising find.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    27
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delivery”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I haven't eaten in this restaurant, but I order delivery from them fairly often. They have a take-away deal that is out of this world. I order through GrubHub, and the deal is an appetizer, main dish, nan, rice, and condiments for $15. The food is good. I usually order the samosa (2 with curried chick peas), and one of the chicken dishes. Excellent deal. I can usually eat one order for two meals.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Overperforms”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I am always amazed how much better this restaurant is than I expect it to be. Perhaps that's because it is on 103rd St and Broadway. Make the trip for finely prepared and some unusual dishes. I have never had tandoori meats so juicy, the sauces are flavorful and well-spiced. It's a tablecloth restaurant with really welcoming service.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrillMeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“taste from the India”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I been there twice, because the flavors of this restaurant are amazing, really you can enjoy a tasting menu of 8 courses with the real Indian Flavors. excellent

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our last meal in NYC was Indian ...”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

... and we were really happy with the food quality. We're from India and this was out only Indian meal the entire trip. It was very good food, friendly, unobtrusive service ... and for lunch they had a fixed meal for about 11$

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amiamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aangan also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Aangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing