We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant”
Review of Inakaya

Inakaya
Reserve with OpenTable
Inakaya is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #856 of 15,923 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $100
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Transit: 1, 2, 3, 7, A, C, E, N, Q, R, and S trains to Times Square/42nd Street/Port Authority Bus Terminal.
Description: Japanese Sushi & Robata Grill Restaurant with over 40 years of experience. Our original restaurant in Japan was established and opened its first door in the heart of Roppongi, Tokyo in 1970, as the traditional "Robata-yaki" restaurant. Since then, Inakaya has been loved by substantial numbers of distinguished personalities, comprising of former President of the United States, renowned politicians, Hollywood stars, and other celebrities and the epicureans from around the world for more than 40 years.
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

The place is located near Times Square.

The restaurant is huge, the service is correct, and the food is just delicious.

I very much liked this place, I will definitely come back to that restaurant.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Zineb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 316 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2018

I was in the mood for sushi, and this place was right across the street from our AC Marriott Hotel, so it was the easy choice after a long day of walking around the city.

Although we did not have a reservation (which are highly recommended) we did get seated immediately in what are apparently the less desirable high-top tables. I was ready to eat and the high-top didn't bother at all.

The server was attentive and the freshly prepared grilled oysters, sushi, and chicken skewers came out quickly, hot, and delicious. I enjoyed the meal very much.

If you are looking to feed two for under $10 try Kiss My Slice just down the street. You are not going to get away that easy at Inakaya, but you will likely enjoy a great Japanese meal.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank opsboss2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2018 via mobile

Had lunch here. The sushi roll was about average. Meat skewers were alright but the American Kobe beef one was quite chewy. Very pricey relative to the quality of food. Probably will try elsewhere next time.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank heguangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

My wife and a friend were looking for a place on our walk to Penn Station after a matinee. We stopped at Inakaya as it looked attractive and was convenient on 40th. We were pleasantly surprised by the robata and sushi...we stayed with lower priced items that were very well prepared - even at that, our snack was pretty pricey. A key for us though was that Inakaya is a relatively quiet (at 5:30 pm at least) compared to many other options we considered.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank gosaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2018 via mobile

My partner and I chose Inakaya for our last meal in NYC. We wanted somewhere near our Hotel in Times Square where we could share a few dishes (not hugely hungry) and a nice bottle of wine at the end of our trip. On arrival we were asked to wait for them to clear a table as it was ‘unusually busy’ for a Monday night. We were seated after around 10 minutes - but then waited another 15 minutes before anyone came to take our drinks order... we ordered our food as well as we got the impression it would be another long wait til he returned. The wine was OK but at $60 a bottle was well overpriced. We shared a seaweed salad, one tempura shrimp (3 pieces) one special roll (6 pieces) and some steamed veg (small box of mixed vegetables - mushroom, cabbage, sweet potato & one tomato) and the bill came to around $140 which is pretty steep compared to what the same (and to be honest - better portion sizes) would cost back home in London. Perhaps we should have ordered more rolls / sushi plates - but as we weren’t super hungry we thought the above would be enough - shame as we had higher expectations for our last night in town.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank adw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inakaya also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Inakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing