We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the concept”

Le Relais de Venise L'Entrecote Midtown East
Ranked #745 of 16,401 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $100
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown East
Reviewed June 1, 2019

Good meal of sliced steak, fries and salad for $32. Setting was pleasant, good for conversation and staff was friendly. Food was good - just not tops but price was reasonable. Plus you get second helpings of fries and steak!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Dee5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 751 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

They serve steak, salad and fries, a total bargain at thirty dollars. I ordered mine medium and it was a perfect reddish pink. The salad was delicious with a light tasting vinaigrette- I was afraid of a heavy mustard taste but it was a delicate, flavorful salad.
They bring your meal on two portions to keep it hot. So you get half of it at the start and then more later. Wonderful! We got the pesto on the side. Two of us liked it and one did not.
They have nice wines and some beers. We had Kronenburg to keep it authentically French.
Desserts were great. We had a montblanc,a creamy dessert with chestnuts, and the profiteroles.yum.
All over, an incredible dinner. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 795marjories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

This is different, and has a brilliant winning formula.

No menu as such.

You get a green salad for a starter with nuts.

You are asked how you want your steak cooked.

You Oder drinks. No dithering over choices.

The results. A really nice and well presented salad. Not overly flooded with dressing.

The steak was amazing. Cooked perfectly. I asked for rare, and got it served rare. A rarity nowadays!!

It was also cut really thinly. You could see each piece of steak was cooked as asked for.

Lovely french fries and an amazing sauce. Just the right amount and didn’t flood your plate.

Then a bonus. They came round with more steak and fries.

Offered the desert menu but couldn’t manage anything else.

Definitely worth the visit. Reasonably priced.

Staff really efficient and friendly.

3 restaurants in New York, London and Paris. When I’m back in the UK from NY I’ll visit the London one next time I’m there.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 770carlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Our family comes twice per year to NYC, and we always love to come to Le Relais de Venise. This is our favorite steak French restaurant in the city.

We love the sauce and the frites. The steak is always cooked to perfection. We always select the house wine.

Service is friendly and prompt.

We love the decorations too. Overall, it is a very pleasant experience.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank AlfredoMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019 via mobile

You have one choice and one choice only, a green salad with walnuts to start and then steak and fries. You would think that with only one choice, it would be good. Andnit was. The salad was good. The steak perfect and that sauce...yum. They are true to their word and bring you seconds. Then I had dessert, a peach melba which was lovely and also the size of Manhatten itself. Good meal and good service. Id go back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank stuart a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais de Venise L'Entrecote Midtown East also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Relais de Venise L'Entrecote Midtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing