We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity transcends”

Le Relais de Venise L'Entrecote
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Relais de Venise L'Entrecote is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #575 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $100
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Steakhouse with French Steak Frites specialty. Perfectly cooked succulent steak covered in a secret house sauce, true to popular Paris original. Crispy thin hand cut fries and lush green salad. Fine wines including popular house bordeaux, French cheese and an array of delicious desserts in a sparkling atmosphere of casual elegance.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
250 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Simplicity transcends”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

After being in the restaurant for nearly two hours, I forgot New York was outside the door! Being in this restaurant made me feel like I had been transported to a hole-in-the-wall brasserie in some winding street of Paris. From petit four top to two top tables and servers dressed a la mode, being in the restaurant is an experience in it of itself.

As other reviewers have already mentioned, there is only one item on the menu and it is steak frites. Tender steak with just a tinge of pink in the middle and frites served crisp, yet velvety smooth inside. Before dinner, they serve salad with walnuts and a light vinaigrette dressing to start things up. All of this is available for only $28.75/person...a steal by New York standards. Of course, dinner is best served with a glass of wine and for only $8.5/glass, they have cotes du rhone! Apres dinner, try for the creme brulee.

Whether you're a local or visiting New York, check this restaurant out. Perhaps you'll feel that you've been sent to Paris too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    223
    77
    39
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Simple and delicious.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

During our first night of a NYC trip we stumbled upon this restaurant. What a find! Not only was the food amazing from the tender steak to the crispy fries but the price is very reasonable especially for NY. This restaurant does one thing only but they do it well. I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys a great simple steak.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 31aprilc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“One of the best steak frites outside Paris...”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Fans of MASH may recall Major Charles Emerson Winchester III once saying he did "...one thing at a time, he did it as well as he could and then he moved on...".

L'entrecote in NY follows the example of its siblings in Europe; it does steak and frites ONLY, does hem very well, and then offers a choice ONLY for dessert.

Yes, you heard right; this joint is a prix fix (set menu) and the main is steak frites; that's it.

On a relatively quiet Sunday night we arrived at 6pm to a room that was already half full. Service was prompt and the protocol explained to us in a timely fashion. The chopped salad entree arrived quickly but the floor staff lost points for opening our bottle of Pommery but NOT pouring it. Yep, had to pour an expensive French pop on my own.

The steak frites arrived about 20 minutes after the salad was cleared. Protein was cooked to medium and fries were appropriately hand cut and fried to perfection. It was a textbook example of the dish and the surprise "second serving" pushed us well into "wow" territory.

Dessert was a vacheron glacé' with perfectly cooked meringue stacks (meringue should be chewy AND crunchy) and gorgeous ice cream and chocolate sauce. Yum.

Overall a stunning meal but in hindsight a slightly production-line experience. The decor was pleasant but it felt a little contrived. Would I return? With such a limited menu the replay value is limited. If you are a fan of steak and frites then this is nirvana. If not, look elsewhere for French fare...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pauly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Fun Place For Steak Frites!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

L'Entrecote is a large, old school restaurant with only one thing on the menu: Steak Frites! You sit down and they start you off with a green salad. After that they bring the cart and serve you a healthy portion of Steak Frites with a special sauce (or no sauce if you like). And after that they offer you another portion. The steak and sauce is delicious and the fries are perfect -- golden and salted. They offer a variety of desserts -- we tried the meringue/ice cream tower and it was insanely good. So if you're in Paris, London or NY and looking for a good niche restaurant, give L'Entrecote a try!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"We have butter, but we cannot give it to you unless you order the vegetarian menu."”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

This place is ridiculous! My husband and I ate here in July. We knew going in that they had a set menu but I had no idea how set it was. The waitress came over and explained the menu and that they only cook their steaks a certain way. They even write it on the table as they tell you. The waitress asked if we wanted wine. We weren't in the mood the drink and she seemed offended when we said no, saying that it pairs so nicely with the meat. They give you bread- no butter and your salad- no choice in dressing and the dressing was not to my liking. The lady at the table next to us asked for butter for her bread and the waitress said, "We have butter but we cannot give it to you unless you order the vegetarian menu." And then walked away without waiting for the lady to respond. Then you get your steak and fries all on one tiny plate so the sauce runs under your fries making many of them soggy. The steak was fine. I wasn't a fan of the sauce. The fries were great though. Then, they bring you more steak and fries. During this time of our dinner, another couple sat down next to us. The woman politely informed the waitress that she was very allergic to wine and wondered if the food served here was ok for her to eat. The waitress looked distressed and went to get the manager who informed this poor women that she absolutely could not tell her if the food had wine in it as the recipe is a secret. After the lady broke out laughing at the ridiculousness of that statement, the manager said she might want to skip the salad dressing and sauce on the steak if she was worried abut possible allergies. We didn't have dessert. By that time I was disgusted by the behavior of the manager and wait staff, I just wanted to leave. The tables around is were also upset after the odd comments and behavior. $30 for sub par food and horrible service, no thank you! I would never go here again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais de Venise L'Entrecote also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Le Relais de Venise L'Entrecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing