We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but worth it.”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #600 of 13,687 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $80
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Nassau and Pine Street
Description: You are cordially invited to join us for an evening or afternoon of relaxed elegance and exceptional cuisine. Our impressive menu of nationally renowned dry aged steaks and the freshest seafood will ignite your culinary imagination as our award-winning wine list of more than 5,000 bottles awakens your inner sommelier. And as our gracious, knowledgeable servers delight you with their uncanny ability to anticipate your every need, you’ll experience firsthand why the American Culinary Federation recently bestowed upon us their “Achievement of Excellence Award.” Whether you’re celebrating a special occasion or hosting a business luncheon or dinner, we can help you flawlessly pull off any private dining event. Our team has extensive experience and the ideal materials to work with—a capital setting, distinctive food and unmatched service. Located in The Financial District on Nassau at Pine St. * If you are making reservations from outside of the U.S., email newyorkwallstreet@tcgdine.com
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pricey, but worth it.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Long walk from where I was staying, but worth the exercise. Attentive staff, plenty of fluff, and even a little snobbery. Just what you'd expect. Had the Capital Burger, and it was cooked perfectly and tasted great. The "side salad" was huge - almost a meal in itself. If you're eating on your company's dime, this is a nice place to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GRapFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    88
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noord, Aruba
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always satisfied at any Capital Grille visited!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

When traveling to the United States we make sure to either lunch or dine at any Capital Grille across the country and we have never ever been disappointed.
They offer a deferent menu for lunch however both, lunch and dinner are superb!
A little costly but again you pay for what you get and Capital Grille is a Winner for sure.
Have recommended them to all my clients and will always make one or two stops when in the US.
Capital Grille is on the top of my list of restaurants to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saponara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
451 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great Steak!!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The steak is always made to perfection. If you like a lot of flavor, try the Bone-in Kona Sirloin. The atmosphere is good and the service outstanding. There was a party going on and someone had too much to drink, as it got loud. To be honest it was no big deal, but the manager came around to each table and apologized for the inconvenience. They even bought us our dessert. Since the location is downtown, the weekends are slow, so you can always get a last minute reservation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nez D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Take Out”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great Restaurant with take out which is great the sandwiches that were ordered were marvelous we ordered for the entire office absolutely wonderful. Heard sit down dinner is even better. Atmosphere at the restaurant was great. Very old banker type pricey but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 08859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“In a nutshell - "Classic"”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

When you think about old school, steakhouse-style restaurants, everything that you would quintessentially dream up can be found at this Downtown eatery. Unctuous steaks? Yup! Succulent lobster? You got it! Tried and true favs like shrimp cocktail, crab cakes, and carpaccio? Check! Check! Check! Yes there are many new-fanged innovators out there doing things with food that would blow your mind, but sometimes at the end of the day you just want to dive into a perfectly cooked, juicy steak...and I don't think there's anything wrong with that!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing