We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee cold”
Review of The Breslin

The Breslin
Ranked #1,406 of 13,687 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cork, Ireland
1 review
“Coffee cold”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

March 13 2014.Great atmosphere, food excellent ,staff very friendly until we complained that our coffees were cold.Waiter went on to tell us the cups were warm and that we had our coffee a long time which we didnt and he was not the person who brought them to us in the first place.He made a big deal about replacing them and would ask the person to make them really really HOT.We could not believe the Drama he went on with and his rudeness.Coffee was replaced but we felt his attitude was that customer is never right and should be argued with at all costs.Spoiled what had been a lovely evening until then.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    229
    108
    42
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Over rated foodwise and appalling service”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

What can I say about this place apart from the fact that it's completely over rated, the service was dismal and the staff rude, the food was dire and in fact their signature dish (supposedly) was the lamb burger which was something that I could easily have picked up at one of the burgers carts dotted around central park. My friend and I didn't have starters and went straight for the main dishes, she orderd the saltimbocca which was swimming in melted fat and full of globby chunky bits of insepid fat with hardly any meat and I had the burger which was so unbelievably mediocre and the accompanying thrice cooked chips were burnt and greasy. If the kitchen staff are incapable of cooking the chips 3 times properly then just stick to frying them once rather than serving burnt chips. British people know their chips just like American's know their fries - nothing more off putting than eating greasy burnt chunky chips....yuck! Also the wine list was expensive for what they were offering.

The sweaty, surly waiter tried to clear my plate 3 times during the course of my meal. Not sure if it's because they're geared for get 'em in & get 'em out type service where the customer feels totally rushed and has to neck a bottle of wine and has to inhale the food rather than try to savour the experience and the taste - although to be honest with the saltimbocca and burger being so disgustingly dire, there really wasn't much to savour. After 40 mins (from when we placed the order to when we finished eating) and a bottle of wine later, they cleared the plates and then an uptight unfriendly waitress asked if we wanted desserts, we said no and were about to ask for expresso's instead but she stormed off and then returned with a bill. We hadn't asked for the bill. When she plonked the bill on the table I couldn't help myelf and say if she wanted us to leave, were they in hurry etc in a rather sarcastic tone. She said no but then came back to the table 3 mins later, literally 3 mins later to collect the money but we hadn't put the money down yet as we were finishing off the wine. In all my years I have yet to come across such surly, rude and inept waiting staff. If they're too important, too cool and hip then maybe do something else instead that doesn't involve any customer service related work.

Over-priced and over rated and would absolutely not recommend this place to anyone. If you want a decent meal, head to the restaurant in the NoMad hotel around the corner instead. Deliciously moorish and perfectly prepared food, more or less the same price and super attentive but unobtrusive service.

I really hope that people that go to The Breslin do not think that this is a true example of a British gastro pub as it really isn't.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Spanner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“not one smile on the staff”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

spent a metric crap ton of cash on the overpriced food and the service was very slow. would recommend against.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiredboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hot Spot. People Watching. Great Bartenders.”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Saturday night. Single female in NYC on business. Decided to check out the Ace Hotel lobby bar on recommendation. Went to the bar strictly to drink a scotch, relax and observe. The place fills up fast and gets good & loud. DJ mix was decently shelved as background atmosphere. I will give kudos to bartender, Javier. Timely service, good attitude and helpful. It was appreciated. Thank you, Javier. All in all, Ace Hotel Lobby Bar (The Breslin) is a cool, urban watering hole to explore-whether it's in your neighborhood or not.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fetekreyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A true NY experience”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Breslin restaurant has some outstanding culinary delights to offer which makes this fact alone a must for any NYC visitor. The rather eclectic setting and mix of patrons are a clear indication that this is locale is a trendy place to socialize very informally. The table service is very well trained and patient and likes to take time to explain the fine culinary creations of the chef de cuisine. The pervasive presence of bovine figures throughout the restaurant - interspersed by the occasional deer or swine adds to the unusual character of the locale. Don't expect discreet service or a private table in this restaurant- the informal and open-minded patron who likes to experience something non-traditional will not be disappointed!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Muralto60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breslin also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Breslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing