We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reviews are spot on” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breslin

The Breslin
Ranked #1,079 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reviews are spot on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stopped here on a Friday night. Place was packed and the wait for a table was 2 hours. Nonetheless made it to the bar, quickly scored 2 barstools and, mid - 2nd drink opted to eat at the bar. Zak was our bartender, seemed exceptionally serious at first but proved to be a friendly and knowledgable mixologist. Went with the oysters and a couple of lamb burgers. Wonderful experience chatting with John, a new friend from London. Left satiated and smiling before our "table" was ready.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RFM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    220
    106
    35
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lamb burgers, rib steak, oh my”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is one of the best restaurants in NYC...the lamb burger is out-of-this world! The steak rules too. Totally worth it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
“Great food crap service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

The food was great but the service slow, surly and rather officious. I arrived late sunday night and asked for a table for two – my companion was upstairs in the hotel freshening up. The restaurant was empty but I was refused a table until my companion arrived...

The waiter was totally inattentive and disappeared after we had been served....

The (maybe too young?) hipster staff hung out at the bar chatting totally ignoring the guests.

I won't be eating there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffHodges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lamb Burger is outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The burger was soooo good I had to have it for lunch and dinner!

Service can be a bit slow and I had to ask for ketchup from three different people before I got it which was the only thing that I wasn't pleased about.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naz9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something a little different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We went with local friends, with the promise of the best lamb burger in the city. Three of us were not disappointed - it is an amazing burger! My better half went with the pork belly (something we don't get much of where we work). Maybe it was just the craving for pork, maybe not, but he says it was some of the best pork belly he's had ever. He wants to go back with a larger party next time and see about the whole piglet served tableside. Recommend trying the fried peanuts.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucien113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breslin also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Breslin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing