We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
“Comfortable & Clean”
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Stayed two nights (Sun & Mon)
The hotel staff very friendly & courteous; the bed was comfortable and the room
was well appointed; the marble-tiled bathroom was spacious (compared to the room!)
and very nice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_in_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,416
    1,310
    242
    38
    19
See reviews for
968
2,553
235
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ohio
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

I recently spent a 3-day weekend at the Distrikt hotel located in the fashion District near the hip restauraunts of Hells Kitchen and the Theatre District. This hotel is contemporary, fresh and new with an amazingly personal staff - who were always eager to answer questions and give directions. From the great coffee, to Frette linen to the sexy showers and plush bedding - every detail was perfect!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copper7man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you so very much for your comments on TripAdvisor. We take pride in the services and amenities we offer...but are thrilled when the efforts of our team is recognized. We look forward to sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Got really impressed with the choice we made staying at Distrikt and confirmed the reviews are for real. It's quite new and an extremelly clean hotel in downtown area. Located just few blocks from Times Square and less than a block from a Sub station. Staff is incredible and willing to make your stay just perfect. The rooms are small (NYC standard) but spotless new and with an excellent bed and shower, little nice tech touches as the alarm clock with i-pod deck and big LCD screen with HD channels make the staying better. Only point for improvement we missed a small refrigerator in the room. Other than that this place is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato_R_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
It was a pleasure reading your kind comments, and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Next time you visit us, please request a refrigerator, we have small ones that we can deliver to your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

I just got back from a 3 night stay and it was perfect. Check in was easy and fast. The room was a great size with lots of room for all our luggage. It was well appointed and very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was spacious (for NY). Check out was just as easy as the check in and there were no unexpected charges or fees. I'll definitely be staying here again. And for the price you can't beat it.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephAnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We spent three nights at the Distrikt hotel and enjoyed it very much. The location was good - one block from a main subway/bus station. The rooms were average size - but were very clean and new. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tlhoffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Distrikt! Please return to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

This hotel is on a mini-hotel row (there are 4 hotels on the street) next to the Port Authority building and a short walk to Times Square, subway, the New York Public Library, etc. (It's also a short walk to Mood Fabrics, which fans of Project Runway will know about!)

Everything seemed new and clean. There was free wi-fi. There was a small restaurant and bar off the lobby.

My sister and I shared a room. Other than her snoring ;-) I slept fine.

I probably would like to be just a tad closer to Times Square (the Port Authority seems to have a certain number of vagrants in the area) but felt safe and we didn't mind the walk. And the rate was good (averaged less than $250 a night). A nice, new, clean, comfortable hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Hmmm, maybe our designers can make anti-snoring rooms! Thank you for your wonderful review! We love our garment center neighbors, especially Parsons and Mood!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Stayed at this hotel 10 nights. Great location close to Times square and Broadway as well as subway.. Staff were fantastic always helpful we felt like they were our friends by the time we left. Nothing was too much trouble. Great complimentary internet. Rooms were excellent very modern and lovely bathrooms and always well maintained to a high standard . Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any friends in Australia travelling to New York.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lampoono78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
We are so glad we could earn your recommendation...especially on such a long visit! Thank you for choosing Distrikt, please let us know if you plan to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
932 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 468 in New York City
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,717 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,851 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing