We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

This small hotel exceeded our expectations for room size and comfort. We were also very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Although NY prices are all high, we did feel that the Distrikt Hotel was a good value. The block it is located on is not glamourous, but it's an easy walk to Times Square and has the benefit of being blissfully quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shopkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, October 20, 2010
Thank you! Your comments epitomize our goal at Distrikt! We are so glad to have exceeded your expectations and will share with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,503
    1,360
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,025
2,606
246
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,050)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This hotel exceeded my expectations exponentially! Prior to arriving in the city, I emailed the hotel requesting recommendations for dinner. The staff was very responsive and gave wonderful recommendations- they were extremely friendly and easy to work with. Everyone always had a smile on their face and greeted you when you walk in. Security is exceptional as well. You can take the elevator to only your floor using your room key- it will not stop on any other floor unless there is another room key used. We were in an upper floor so noise was never an issue. The size of the room was more than adequate. I had heard that hotel rooms in NYC are small but ours was just fine. I can't say enough about how clean the room was. As stated in other reviews, there is a parole/probation office down the street from the hotel but we never felt unsafe...there are several hotels on the same street. I cannot wait to go back. And I'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules9195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
There may be nothing better than when we exceed the expectations of our guests. We will congratulate our team on making your visit extra special. Thank you, and return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We made the Distrikt Hotel our base while staying in New York for three days and it was fantastic! Great location close to Times Square (although there were a few sketchy areas on the walk), beautiful rooms that had recently been updated, and very clean. Front desk staff were very helpful and provided some tips on area attractions, advice for the subway, and some great food recommendations. Nice views from our room as well.

The in-hotel restaurant was not open for dinner yet, but looks like it will be very nice when it does open.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank extra2816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Thank you for your review! We are proud of the design but are happiest when we hear about the staff assisting guests with recommendations! Your kind comments are appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for 4 nights in October. I picked this hotel becasue of price and location for my first trip to NYC. After booking the hotel a few months earlier, I was kinda worried about pickin a hotel/location to stay online. Reviews were good, so I took a chance. After arriving at the hotel, I was amazed by the location. Perfect. Then I walked in the door and the staff were so accomadating. I was able to get an early check in and was off to my room. The place was super clean and the beds were so comfrotable. There were many extras and everything was so clean. When ever we needed anything, the staff was so very helpful. I could not imagine staying anywhere else, the only thing that would have been better was if I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asifali28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
We do hope you stay longer next time! We will pass on your kind comments to our team, they love the feedback from our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, UT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Very nice newer hotel. The location was good...some would have you think it was a seedy side street but it's really not. We never felt uneasy about walking there at any time. The staff was friendly and helpful...especially liked the bell captain (Carlos?)...very pleasant. I do have some minor complaints. You can hear through the room doors (doors are about 3/4" too short on the bottom) so you can hear people coming and going to their rooms. You can also hear inside the rooms from the hallway. Luckily, there were only five rooms per floor so not a lot of traffic. The WiFi didn't work. (We didn't really need it, so I didn't worry about it.) TV would freeze picture often (digital reception issue) but again not a huge deal...I didn't watch it very much. Could not dial out on hotel phone even when following instructions...ended up just usin cell phone. Overall, very good experience but they could work on some minor details.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvw999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review Distrikt! We will pass on your compliments to Carlos, he will be thrilled. We apologize for the problem with wifi and video, the incoming connection has been fixed and everything is functioning correctly again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinhedo
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The hotel is great, everything working like an orchestra.
The location is not the perfect one but the other pros get over it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, October 16, 2010
Thank you for your kind review and comments! We hope you return to Distrikt soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Just spent 4 days at this hotel, first time. I was really impressed. It is modern, well maintained and the efficiency and friendliness of the staff is outstanding. Although the location, next to the Port Authority terminal may not be great, it is convenient to the theatre district and other midtown attractions. The staff went out of their way to make the visit pleasant. It was my birthday and on arrival there was a cupcake in my room. When I checked out four days later the desk clerk remembered and said she hoped I had a great birthday! The hotel is quiet and the beds really comfortable. Will plan to stay there on my next visit to NYC

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
1,000 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
384 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,828 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#22 of 467 in New York City
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing