We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

As everyone has said in the previous reviews, this hotel is the best!!! Everything said is true, we loved the Distrikt and lots of nice eating places to the left out of the hotel, rather than the busier right out of the hotel.
The people are the friendliest I have encountered in NYC, willing to help at all times, the girls on the desk are wonderful, Lauren, Anna and Sara. We particularly like the morning coffee. The area is in the middle of everything, just a short walk to wherever you want to go in Manhatten.
The beds and pillows are just divine, I felt as if I slept on a cloud every night!!!, clean and fresh linens.
Look forward to seeing you guys in December!!

Thank you all for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2010
We must admit, we enjoyed you as much as you enjoyed us! We look forward to your return in December (and that isn't because of the cookies)! We will pass along your kind comments about Anna, Lauren and Sara. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    1,228
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for 2 nights over Labor Day weekend. My husband booked the stay on hotwire.com about 4 months ago and got a fantastic rate of $186 per night, which is CHEAP in NYC. The hotel is brand new and absolutely spotless. When you arrive at the hotel, it doesn't look like much on the outside, but you'll be pleasantly surprised when you check-in. The rooms exactly like the photos on the website.

The service by the hotel staff was extraordinary. We were checked in right away and upgraded to a superior room with a bigger bed. We also had some sweets waiting for us in our room and chocolates on our pillows at night. The staff refreshes your room during the day and provides turn down service at night. The parking garage is right next door to the hotel and it is only $24 per day with validation, which is also a NYC bargain.

The location of the hotel is also outstanding. The street it's located on isn't really anything special. It's mostly other hotels actually. But it's a very short walk from times square, 6 blocks from restaurant row and 8-9 blocks from many great theatres. I felt very safe walking around this area at night and the hotel also has security measures in place to prevent people who don't belong from getting upstairs. Each floor only has 5 rooms on it, so there isn't really much noise from other guests, and there isn't any street noise whatsoever.

I highly recommend the Distrikt Hotel. It's an absolute hidden gem.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjb11711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

First, I need to say I have no ulterior motives for writing this. To put it simply, I find that reviews here seem suspiciously positive, or people pick at the stupidest things and give a hotel an "average" rating.

I have stayed at many hotels. Some great (Four Seasons Beverly Wilshire in LA), and some bad (Too many to name). So I know a good hotel when I'm in one.

I will say that it is hard for me to find fault with this hotel. It is not a 5-star hotel, simply because of it's smaller, more intimate size. It is not a sprawling property, which I love. It's a true boutique hotel that is classy, sophisticated, modern, and charming.

Take the good things that everyone has said here: brand new hotel (LOVE that-it even smells brand new), very clean and pristine, great looking (they use good quality furniture and appliances, unlike many "boutique" hotels that just go to target for "expensive looking" stuff. You can tell they put time, thought and money into the rooms. You don't have to worry about things breaking, chipping, etc, because they are cheap. They really thought the design out, and it shows.

Love the fact that visitors need to be escorted up. My friend loved that....He was actually brought up to my room.....classy!

Great bathroom....clean, clean, clean...no hairs in the shower, I wasn't afraid to walk on the floor without slippers (usually I always wear flip flops in my hotel room. not here). There is ample counter space in the bathroom for your sundries.

great bed. Great air conditioning....even at 71, it was FREEZING! love that.

No noise in the halls. since there are only four rooms per floor, it's like being alone on the floor. My room was SO quiet, which in NYC is a godsend.

Service is great too. very friendly and courteous.

I didn't order food, but even the room service menu truly shocked me. A hamburger for only $8.95? Is that a typo? Normally, hotels charge $15 for a burger!

My one negative is that there is little room to put your luggage and clothing. There is a tall vestibule with two drawers. For me on a one night sting, it wasn't a problem; however, for two people staying for five days, it would definitely be a big issue. There is no closet to store the suitcases, and you can't put anything under the bed. I don't know what would be done in a situation where someone has two or three suitcases. They would definitely get in the way. for sure.

Location. I am a New Yorker, and trust me when I say it's a phenomenal location. Yes, the street it's on is seedy (not unsafe, but seedy..porn shops, poorly lit, garbage all over), but it is near everything for tourists...times square, broadway, Hell's Kitchen (lots of great local restaurants) and the CUPCAKE CAFE! and right across the street from Port Authority Bus Terminal and ALL subway trains. Central Park is 5 minutes from there, SoHo is a 10 minute train ride....need I go on?

All in all I really really love this place. I'm definitely coming back.

Oh, and on booking.com, I got it for $179.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdrum30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

This is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The room was clean, large (and not just by New York Standards) and quiet.

The service was incredible. Our room was cleaned an average of 2 times a day, and they would leave chocolates and the weather report for the next day. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, always willing to give restaurant recommendations and directions to local sites (hint - ask for a NY map when you check in, theirs is excellent). We enjoyed every place they suggested we try. We were able to check in several hours early (and got a free upgrade!) without any hassle or attitude. I recommend checking out their webpage for the best deals - especially their social networking pages. They helped bring our luggage up to our room (they even convinced my husband to relax and let them help him with his bags - no easy task). And would frequently help get the elevator for us when they noticed our hands were full.

The hotel is also incredibly safe. It's true the street it's on doesn't look that great - but my husband and I never once felt unsafe, even late at night. And, you need your room key to operate the elevator, so you don't need to worry about anyone getting into the building who shouldn't. I know this made me feel better. The in-room safe also worked out great for us and was very easy to use.

As I mentioned, the rooms were incredibly spacious. And our upgraded room had an incredible view - picture worthy! We never once heard the street or people from the room next door to us. I think I heard someone in the hall a couple times, but it really wasn't very bad. The bathroom is a little on the small side, but the full size shower (large enough for 2) and the incredible water pressure more than made up for it.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pigpenandrubberduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minas Gerais
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel is very new, and has a great location in New York. The room is big and the bed extremely good. Bathroom deserves a thumbs up too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcarrijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton,Ontario,Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Distrikt hotel. It was our first visit to NYC. We were very pleased with our choice. The location was perfect, we were able to walk to times square in only a few minutes. The staff were friendly and helpful.The hotel was spotless. There are only 5 rooms per floor, so there is minimal hallway traffic/noise. My wife and I felt safe in our travels to and from the hotel. I would recommend the double decker sight seeing buses . You can hop off and on these buses . It's a great way to see many of the sights in New York. When we return to New York, there would be no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BramptonBlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Distrikt for 4 nights in mid-August.

The rooms were clean and very modern. My husband contacted them ahead of time and told them we were celebrating my birthday. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a friendly birthday note and two complimentary cupcakes on our desk. Nice touch!

Shower was great - good sustained pressure, and plenty of hot water. The hotel was very quiet, and the flavoured iced teas in the lobby were extremely refreshing after a hot day in NYC.

The hotel is in an ideal location for exploring the "Big Apple". Lots of great restaurants nearby in Hell's Kitchen and it's conveniently located near the A C E subway lines.

Any issues we had were handled promptly and professionally by the general manager. Her dedication to customer satisfaction is superb, and the reason we will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleared4takeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing