We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Distrikt is a great choice in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We had a fantastic stay here for five days in June, 2010. It had all the hip, modern design of a W hotel, but with friendly and helpful staff that make you feel at ease and at home.
Staff: Really can't say enough good things about these guys -- they were quick to offer advice on restaurants, bars, directions and sights -- going so far as printing out walking maps to help us navigate the Big City and fielding calls when we were out and about to look up the best cheesecake joint in our vicinity.
Amenities: Lobby has three iMacs and there's never a long wait for one of them. Clean, small (hey - it's Manhattan!) rooms with comfortable beds and ipod-friendly clock-radios and WiFi throughout.

Location: It's got a subway station on the block and is located on the western edge of the midtown/times square area, so you can hit Restaurant Row, the Theater District, Times Square, and the eateries and bars on 9th (technically Hell's Kitchen) with short walks.

Peeves: Minor, but...A) skip the breakfast (not worth $14). B) showers put form over function -- difficult access to faucet means you'll get doused with cold shower water when you start it up.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonTrailBlazer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,281 - 4,287 of 5,463 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

I was looking for a smaller hotel near Times Square that was not too expensive. Found Distrikt on TripAdvisors and gave it a try. The front desk were wonderful. They had several computer stations for use free of charge and free cups of tea. Very nice touch. The rooms were new and modern. Clean and beautifully maintained. I loved staying here. We took the Port Authority bus from Newark and just walked around the block to the Hotel.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Happy-Travelers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Spent a full week sightseeing in New York City. This hotel was simply fabulous. It was located in midtown Manhattan, right next door to subway access, and easy walking distance to the theatre district and Times Square. Rooms are well equipped, and since the hotel is almost brand new, everything was sparkling clean and modern. Staff very helpful and friendly. Also easy walking distance to many restaurants. We didn't try the hotel buffet breakfast; found several good eating places within a few blocks for breakfast. Wonderful Italian restaurant 2 blocks away for dinner one night - Carbone. Couldn't have been a better experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Pisendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

What more could you ask for? The Distrikt surpassed my expectations. We were welcomed with warm hospitality the minute that my friend and I walked in the door. We were always greeted by a smile by the front desk staff and were very helpful when we needed assistance.
The beds were luxurious. I can't remember the last time I slept so well in a hotel. The washroom was bring and clean. The whole hotel was clean.
I will be recommending Distrikt for sure to many friends!
On my next visit to the city I will be a repeat customer for sure! Thank you again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Took two days and stayed at the Distrckt Hotal in NYC, New Hotel, good size superior KIng size room. Nice colors, lovely styled rooms, Wi-Fi available, helpful staff.
Bathroom good size, great shower, linens and mattress in room.
Enjoyed the neighborhood and the Hotel. Bar and restaurant in hotel. Would stayh at tehis otel again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55432J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I booked this hotel because a coworker had chosen it as the location for the job we were on. I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

The location is so-so. It's not a bad or dangerous area... it's just that there really isn't anything in the immediate vicinity. It sits between 8th and 9th Avenues. Times Square is about a 10 minute walk. Plenty of theaters within that 10 minutes as well.

Check-in was quick and easy. The staff was very friendly. You are welcomed to your room with a letter from the manager and a brownie (which was very tasty).

The room - I was given a street view room. There wasn't much of a view - just the port authority parking garage. But the furnishings were nice. The clock radio is an iPod/iPhone dock. Nice large flat screen with plenty of channels. The bedding is a little soft for my liking, but was very comfortable. It's pretty quiet (I had been concerned as when I was walking back to the hotel I could hear a jackhammer going across the street... but I did not hear it in my room). They also have a stocked refrigerator in the room - but as is the case in all hotels, the items are WAY overpriced. You're better off going to the Duane Reade across the street in the port authority building (open 24 hours).

The bathroom - the shower rocks. PLENTY of pressure. Plenty of coverage.

I did not get to try the restaurant or the wireless (free), so I can't say how good those are.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mobycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Stayed 3 nights from July 3-6th. Great room, great bathroom, extremely clean. I didn't like the absence of a lobby (there is one but its tiny) and I didn't like the that there were only 5 rooms per floor; it always seemed that I was the only one on the floor.

Service is good, staff is very good (especially Ashley and Linda) in the bar/cafe. Yeah, I'd stay there again.

Oh...the neighborhood is VERY questionable and incredibly littered.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natchezeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
466 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 469 in New York City
11,723 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 469 in New York City
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#46 of 469 in New York City
594 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#174 of 469 in New York City
3,887 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $176 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Splitty, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing