We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update: Still my favorite NYC hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Update: Still my favorite NYC hotel”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

You know a hotel gets it right when you are trying hard to think of one thing to criticize for your review, but you are struggling. OK - one thing. The in room wifi is not good enough for streaming video. In this day and age, it's hard to believe good hotels still have bad internet. But I don't go to NY for business, so I can live with that. I can't put my finger on why I like the Distrikt so much. My husband and I have stayed there many times now, and each time is better than the last. The staff is friendly. The rooms are tastefully decorated. And the Distrikt has the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in away from my home. I love the location which is convenient to Broadway, Hell's Kitchen, and the subway. Did I mention the comfortable beds? I think it is worth repeating. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tarheeldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,414
    1,308
    241
    38
    19
See reviews for
965
2,551
235
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Distrikt hotel is a nice hotel. The rooms are of a correct size and well decorated. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. We didn't like the location of the hotel. The hotel is very well located for all the sightseeing (such as Times square etc) but it is near a big bus and metro terminal so the environment of the hotel is very dirty and noisy. But for new york the price/quality of the rooms was correct.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. It is close to a good metro station for exploring the city and also close to the Times Square. Going in the other direction the neigbourhood was a bit shady and there was nothing to see. Would go again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews. We were not let down! This was my third time in NYC and the best! We stayed for 10 nights last October. The hotel was beautiful and modern, the rooms big for NYC, nicely decorated and very clean. The location very central yet it was quiet. The staff was extremely kind and helpful. They did everything to make our stay perfect! Advice: get a room at the top floors! It's more pricey but the views over Times Square and the Hudson will pay back!!

Room Tip: Top floors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zefi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

As always, the reviewers of Tripadvisor.com did not fail me. My BFF and I decided to go to NYC for our 30th birthday in August-Sept. I came on here, like I always do whenever I'm planning a trip and found this cute boutique hotel.

When we arrived in NYC, it was not difficult to find the hotel. It was tightly snugged between other big name hotels but it was very visable. The hotel reception area was small but they had snacks and drinks for guests. The hotel rooms were very big for the price. It was clean and well kept and being that I have hotelpobia, this is not a lie. During reservation I had noted that my BFF and I were celebrating our birthdays so teh staff left behind cupcakes, chocolates and cards to wish us a happy birthday. THAT was awesome!

The hotels proximity to everything is ideal. I love to travel to big cities and always make sure to stay at the heart of everything. The hotel is right across from a subway terminal and within walking distance to time square.

I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank type_r_ladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

LOVE the hotel and LOVE the staff. All were fantastic. You could see the teamwork and collaboration in every member of the team, and all were super friendly and hospitable. Overall our 9-day visit was an absolute pleasure. The location was very easy for both foot and metro and, although there are some sleazy establishments nearby they were easily avoided by crossing the street (and let's face it, that type of establishment is found throughout all of New York). My teenage daughter and I never felt uncomfortable, but wanted to raise as other reviewers had mentioned. The hotel was very clean, beds and linens very comfortable, and enjoyed the in-room coffee pod machine. I have touted the hotel and sung its praises to everyone since my return. What a beautifully managed, fantastic hotel. We most definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Some windows opened, some didn't. If that matters to you (as it does to me), be sure to inquire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joy_and_faith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a great hotel by the Ascend group. This boutique hotel is located in the garment district across from the Port Authority Bus Terminal, near two other name brand hotels by Marriott and Hilton.

Staff at the Distrikt are friendly and helpful in every way. Small and quaint, it definitely is with the price. As with another large Hotel we stayed at this week, we were offered in-room coffee, chocolates, and free wi-if here. Catch a subway near by to travel north or south on the island or walk to nearby Times Square and even Central Park.

Room Tip: Backside rooms are a bit quieter than being on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
931 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,976 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 468 in New York City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,715 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,849 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing