We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #67 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 1, 2014

As always, the reviewers of Tripadvisor.com did not fail me. My BFF and I decided to go to NYC for our 30th birthday in August-Sept. I came on here, like I always do whenever I'm planning a trip and found this cute boutique hotel.

When we arrived in NYC, it was not difficult to find the hotel. It was tightly snugged between other big name hotels but it was very visable. The hotel reception area was small but they had snacks and drinks for guests. The hotel rooms were very big for the price. It was clean and well kept and being that I have hotelpobia, this is not a lie. During reservation I had noted that my BFF and I were celebrating our birthdays so teh staff left behind cupcakes, chocolates and cards to wish us a happy birthday. THAT was awesome!

The hotels proximity to everything is ideal. I love to travel to big cities and always make sure to stay at the heart of everything. The hotel is right across from a subway terminal and within walking distance to time square.

I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank type_r_ladee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,967 - 1,973 of 5,505 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2014

LOVE the hotel and LOVE the staff. All were fantastic. You could see the teamwork and collaboration in every member of the team, and all were super friendly and hospitable. Overall our 9-day visit was an absolute pleasure. The location was very easy for both foot and metro and, although there are some sleazy establishments nearby they were easily avoided by crossing the street (and let's face it, that type of establishment is found throughout all of New York). My teenage daughter and I never felt uncomfortable, but wanted to raise as other reviewers had mentioned. The hotel was very clean, beds and linens very comfortable, and enjoyed the in-room coffee pod machine. I have touted the hotel and sung its praises to everyone since my return. What a beautifully managed, fantastic hotel. We most definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: Some windows opened, some didn't. If that matters to you (as it does to me), be sure to inquire.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joy_and_faith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

What a great hotel by the Ascend group. This boutique hotel is located in the garment district across from the Port Authority Bus Terminal, near two other name brand hotels by Marriott and Hilton.

Staff at the Distrikt are friendly and helpful in every way. Small and quaint, it definitely is with the price. As with another large Hotel we stayed at this week, we were offered in-room coffee, chocolates, and free wi-if here. Catch a subway near by to travel north or south on the island or walk to nearby Times Square and even Central Park.

Room Tip: Backside rooms are a bit quieter than being on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

So I booked this hotel for an event at Javits Center, it was about a 10 minute walk. The receptionists were very nice. Check in was okay, she rang up the wrong charges but quickly acknowledges it afterward and apologized. The hotel room card key is needed in order to ride the elevator to your floor. Basically, you just scan the card and press your floor number, very convenient. There's only 2 elevators but 30+ floors, so there may be a slight wait time.

I booked a standard queen's bedroom. I thought it as pretty small. I didn't have enough table space for my laptop and and few files. They do have a keurig coffee brewer, but I recommend you run it with water twice to clean out the residues before you brew your coffee/tea. The bathroom is very nice, the shower seems a little small, you might have to adjust yourself in order to close the glass shower door. I wasn't a fan of the Lather body wash, it has a weird smell and left my skin dry and itchy. I thought it was odd they didn't provide hand soap in the bathroom, I did enjoy the 2 sided magnifying mirror though.

The A/C in the room was very strong, very simple to adjust the temperature. However, the unit was very loud and when it turns on/off automatically it disrupts my sleep and the door gap was pretty big so lights from the hallway did shine in during night time. The bed was okay, wish the pillows were cleaner, it had water (most likely to be saliva) stains and reddish marks..and i found 1 hair, which i hope it's not what i think it is.

The hotel provides free hors d'oeuvres from 5pm-7pm everyday. I don't know if the food are the same everyday but i went and tried once, they had fried fish, corn with mayo/cheese, crackers and cheese and that's about it. They automatically charge 18% tip with the bill, which is fine. No free breakfast so if you decide to eat breakfast in the hotel like i did, make sure you just take a seat and wait for the waitress to serve you. I had the Everything Breakfast, the potatoes tasted awesome, I couldn't even finish the entire breakfast.

It's directly across from port authority so alot of loud noises but you do not hear any street noises in the hotel room. My room was close to the elevator so we did hear the elevator open/close, it sound like they need to lubricate the doors a bit, there were noise but not terrible.

There are a lot of restaurants and it's a short walking distant to many tourist attractions. I also walked to 34th street which took about 15 minutes. Overall it's not a very fancy hotel but i would come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brook11yn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Amazing price-quality, perfect location, a lot of help and advice from the staff, Hell's Kitchen (great food) nearby.
We stayed here for 8 nights and will definitely go back when we visit New York again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gyzmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Friendly staff, excellent and well equipped room, very good air conditioning, central location near Metro station, bus station, Penn Station, Times Square. Would certainly recommend this for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelgeel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Reservations: easily made online through TripAdvisor.
Check-in: fast efficient friendly and accurate.
Room: small, beautifully furnished in a very modern style. Very comfortable pillows and mattress. Nice linens and towels. No closet. Small but nice armoire. Small but well put together bathroom. Excellent bath products. Very quiet and clean.
Check-out: fast efficient and friendly.
Location: near Port Authority so not exactly scenic but near to restaurants and bars and the subway. Easy walk to Chelsea and Hell's Kitchen.
Note: great Pizza joint down the block with $1.00/slice, you can't beat it at 2 am.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#102 of 470 in New York City
479 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#75 of 470 in New York City
1,098 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 470 in New York City
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 470 in New York City
11,812 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#169 of 470 in New York City
3,919 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $159 - $560 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing