We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fab place to stay in New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a fab place to stay in New York”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just came back after spending four nights at this hotel in Newyork , it is a two minutes walk onto time square , the staff were amazing ,our room was on the 18 th floor , a very large room with a big bathroom , lots of tea and coffee and chocolates were left at night and a daily weather report for the following day also ,beds were so comfy , defiantly stay here again

Room Tip: For a good view of the Hudson River 18 th floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jahne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,358
    1,273
    238
    33
    15
See reviews for
944
2,501
228
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during our break away for my fiancee's 30th birthday. When we arrived at the Distrikt we were instantly greeted by Jonathan who took our bags and helped us check-in. All of the staff that we met during our stay were friendly and polite (even maintenance!), and couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was ever too much trouble. The room itself was great, with all the amenities as described and spacious, considering room space in New York is very limited. We plan to come back to New York for my 30th birthday and will only be looking to stay at the Distrikt!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ajwylie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I spent four nights at the Distrikt Hotel. I was on the 8th Floor with a room facing the back.
The room was of a good size and the bed was very comfortable. The room and bathroom were very clean. The staff were friendly and always greeted me when leaving or returning to the hotel after being out for the day.The coffee/tea making machine was great and very much appreciated. The location was perfect for my needs. Easy to walk to a lot of sights Broadway, Times Square etc. and for shopping. I got the airport bus for $16.00 to the Port Authority and walked less than five minutes to the hotel with a suit case and golf clubs. If I return to New York I would definately book this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

In previous visits to New York the hotel rooms I have stayed in have been small, shabby and expensive. My visit to the Distrikt hotel was a revelation; very friendly and efficient reception staff, large new room with modern bathroom including large walk in shower, complimentary brownie, chocolates on the pillow, free wifi, and a free breakfast voucher. The bed was comfortable, there was a large flat screen TV and the breakfast was good. All the staff in the hotel were friendly, efficient and enthusiastic. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MemberGuildfordUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from New York having spent a week at this hotel. I have been to NY twice before and stayed in bigger hotels but this was easily the best! The rooms were great. Bigger than I was expecting and our friends' room was bigger still, very clean, lots of storage space, big TV (they can't be held accountable for the rubbish programmes!), comfortable large bed, very nice coffee and tea making machine and perfect bathroom (large walk-in shower, no bath). We had been attracted by the noise proof rooms. Not sure about this. Our room looked out the back and was quiet but our friends' room overlooked the street and they could here sirens and some street noise but not enough to worry them. We were on the 8th floor and maybe higher up would be quieter. The staff made this hotel perfect for us. They were all very friendly and we felt welcome. They were knowledgeable about the city and happy to spend time advising on buses and metro etc. the computers in the reception were free to use and no charge for printing tickets that we bought on line. I would definitely recommend the hotel and hope to be lucky enough to go back one day.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Distrikt. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with our service and amenities. The team will be pleased to know how they made a difference in your stay, and will consider ourselves lucky to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The reason I chose this hotel over my regular in NYC, which is the Casablanca hotel is because in the Choice Privileges website, which is the loyalty club of this hotel they promise free late check-out. It is a pity that the evening as well as morning shifts at the front desk have not heard about this, and furthermore, refused to check the website. The evening shift referred me to morning shift and the morning shift to the person in charge, who at 8:45 am, when I had to leave for my business, was still not there. I returned at 12 for check out. Then the lady said - well you can check now with my supervisor about late checkout. No thanks - I had already ruined my plans for the day when I had to return at noon. I later spent about 5 miserable hours at the noisy uncomfortable lobby. No apologies from the person at the front desk. Casablanca has a very comfortable lounge with complimentary good selection of food. fruits, cakes, sandwiches and beverages which makes it much nicer for the wait to my late night 11 hours flight home.
I give 3 points because the hotel is clean, well located and generally the staff are polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
We truly hate when we fail our guests, and that's exactly what we did when we did not investigate the Choice Privileges benefit of late checkout, and immediately granted it as it does indeed advertise it as a guaranteed amenity. We also should have noticed your later discomfort and had urged you to relax in our lounge, Collage. Many of our guests use this as a gathering/meeting/relaxing spot as they catch their breath or wait for transportation to the airport. Should you return to New York City and would be willing to allow our team to show you what they learned from this incident, please do not hesitate to contact me at jrota@distrikthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

OK, not in the fanciest of neighborhoods, but everything you could need close by. The terrific things about this hotel is 1. It's staff - all very nice, happy, helpful, pleasant 2. The rooms are very clean 3. The rooms are very quiet. i had one whose window faced the back/away from the street. Since the building is very vertical, only 5 rooms/floor. My room was very quiet, even the air/heat fan was quiet. Slept great. 4. Beds and linens are comfy and ample. Rooms and closets are small, but OK 5. Complimentary snacks in the evening. I didn't really need more food in NYC, but it was a nice touch and the food was actually very tasty (edamame, cheeses, spring rolls, hummus, etc) 6. Really want to compliment this place on their fabulous staff. not a sour puss in the bunch.

Room Tip: Away from the front/street side. Though maybe those rooms were quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandJ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
LOL! We are definitely in the "No Sour Puss Zone"! Thanks so much for your appreciation of the team and amenities of Distrikt. We really appreciate you mentioning our fabulous "happy hour"and again, the great team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#30 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#135 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,876 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#75 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing