We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midtown Bargain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #67 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I travel to New York on business regularly and decided to gamble on an inexpensive hotel. I usually shy away from these type of hotels with the rampant bedbug problem plaguing this city. I have often stayed in the 5 star hotels and many mid priced places. I was skeptical and frankly a bit worried but all fears proved unfounded. The Distrikt Hotel is a clean, safe, well run establishment with a caring and professional staff. The room was spotless and the tiled bath was more than I expected . 9th Ave was just down the street where I found a wonderful small Italian restaurant. The hotel location is conveniently centrally located only blocks from Times Square and all subway connections. I will definitely be back to this hidden gem.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank Buildr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,171 - 2,177 of 5,515 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

The hotel is great, bright and quirky although the rooms are small. They really need to do something about the hotel next door piling up all their garbage on the side walk head high!! Had a really good stay, comfortable rooms and great breakfast. The only down side? 40 mins wait for breakfast on both days, even though thee was a couple of other tables. This is a real shame because the quality of the breakfast is superb! Lots of people were visibly complaining about the wait, what made it worse was the breakfast turned up cold! They really do need to sort this out

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NightBreed01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

I loved my stay in the Distrikt hotel! Everything is in walking distance, hotel and rooms are modern and comfortable. Staff are friendly and knowledgeable. Next time I visit NYC I will book in at the Distikt hotel

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Tamlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I stayed there October 2013. 9 days. Great location to everything, easy to get around. yellow cabs which are cheap. Staff were always welcoming, friendly & helpful & assisted where they could, breakfast was variety of great food. Room was excellent, spacious & clean, had a view thrue the window to the Hudson in the distant & hustle & bustle of NY on the other side.

Room Tip: Double room with 2 double beds very spacious, spacious bathroom , large shower area & very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddisonlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here in December 2012, we were in NY for New Years. The hotel has a great location, the rooms are small but very comfortable, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

It definitely met our expectation and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvs138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here last May, the staff were wonderful. My daughter injured herself and we needed a rent a wheelchair for the remainder of our trip, the front desk staff phoned around for us to find the nearest rental place. The rooms were small, but its NYC things are gonna be small. But modern and very clean. The only thing I would say is. that we had gone for my cousins 40th bday and on her bday at 10 or 11pm at night there was a knock on the door...we were kinda spooked a little...only the hotel staff bringing a piece of cake. Lovely thought, but too late to be knocking on the door and too late to enjoy the cake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I can't believe I failed to post a review of Distrikt when our experience was so wonderful! We stayed in August 2013 and booked Distrikt based on location, pricing and reviews. All met our expectations to the tee. We wanted to be near theatre district as we were in NYC to catch as many Broadway shows as possible and yet be accessible to good restaurants and the subways.
We were met by an extremely helpful and friendly reception staff, who tried to accommodate us as much as possible. The room was very comfortable with nice linen and cleanliness was apparent in
all appearances. I did have minor complaints: I had texted ahead to inform the hotel that we were celebrating my husband's birthday, but no acknowledgement of his birthday was made, except for after the fact when I made note of it to reception. There was also an issue of noisy air-conditioning that seemed to run all the time. We had difficulty controlling temperature. The hotel restaurant at the time of our visit was not set up for full service, so breakfast was fairly simple. Yet, in spite of what I may call a complaint, I find this hotel to be top notch and would gladly return on another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sukiyuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#105 of 470 in New York City
485 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 470 in New York City
1,099 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#45 of 470 in New York City
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,822 reviews
Midtown
TRYP New York City Times Square South
TRYP New York City Times Square ...
#168 of 470 in New York City
3,927 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 470 in New York City
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $160 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing