We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #70 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a Great Stay!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Distrikt in preparation for attending the St.Patrick's Day Parade. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the always friendly Desk Staff. I had previously requested our room to be on an upper floor if possible. Not only did we get a room on an upper floor, we were upgraded to a King Room at no additional charge.

We have stayed at the Distrikt on numerous occasions and always find the rooms to be consistently neat and clean. Entire Staff is always extremely couteous and professional. The Distrikt is definitely our "go-to" Hotel whenever we visit NYC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank free2scour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,460
    1,333
    250
    38
    20
See reviews for
995
2,581
239
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

rooms are small but clean huge bed great location 2 minutes from times square and great value for money the best thing was the staff sooooo helpful in every way stayed for i weeek 9th March breakfast was reasonable and good but only had it one day too busy the rest of the time Phantom was great and do the helicopter tour over Manhattan that was great,

Room Tip: we went for the cheapest room 12 th floor but was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coram
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

The Distrikt Hotel is by far the best place I have ever stayed in while visiting NYC! My grandaughter was visiting from Minnesota and we planned the overnight as part of her Christmas present. The hotel room was spacious, spotless and had a view if the city that I had never experienced before! The staff went out of their way to make our stay special and couldn't have been anymore accommodating! I was so ver impressed!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank marewiz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Really nice hotel, brilliantly placed to visit all the sights. Air conditioning was a relief as it was so very hot. Didn't eat any of the food or use the gym so can't comment. Fridge was very noisey which was very annoying but so busy and hectic that we slept well any way

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stinky1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeadstern Mass
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Distrikt for only one night but we found it clean, people were professional but very pleasant , smiling when greeting you and helpful. We will certainly return to the Distrikt Hotel in the future. No problem returning at night after our lovely evening to see Motown the Musical. We felt safe as there are always people out and about in NewYork at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The location of this hotel is fine, no issue with the area or the parole office, we stayed for a week and didn't see anyone who gave us cause for concern. The issue really was the fact the our room was right next to the lift shaft which was in constant use night and day and was very noisy! This virtually ruined our holiday as we went most of the break without sleep! We tried to swap rooms but there wasn't another room available to accommodate 3 people. The room itself was a reasonable size, clean and comfortable. The facilities in the room were excellent, and it had a lovely bathroom. As it was my sons birthday, we received a lovely cake from the hotel from him which was complimentary and a pleasant surprise. Wifi was excellent and worked very well, the views were also excellent as we were on the top floor. I wouldn't stay here again, as getting a room next to the lift shaft would be a disaster, no sleep = ruined holiday.

Room Tip: Don't get one at the side of the lift shaft, very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Stars021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Great hotel in a great location, just off Times Square, next to Port Authority. Area can be a bit dodgy late at night, but didn't bother us. All the staff we encountered were great and really friendly. There was a breakfast charge added to our bill which was not us but at check out the gentleman who served us rectified it immediately in a professional manner. We had a deluxe double room and they were pretty decent, beds were super comfy and bathroom was a good size and CLEAN! Loved having the weather card, the chocolates and brownies left in the room after it was cleaned. Having hot chocolate to greet us as we came in from the brutal cold in February was a really nice touch too. After staying in lots of New York hotels over the years, Distrikt will definitely be my go to hotel for our future breaks in the city. Would certainly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
970 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,070 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 466 in New York City
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 466 in New York City
365 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,788 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#40 of 466 in New York City
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing