We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISTRIKT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #70 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I booked this hotel because of its location and the reviews on this site. It was well worth staying here. It has a great location only a sort walk to subway stations. Will stay here again when I return to New York

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank totpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are thrilled that after finding us on TripAdvisor, we still managed to exceed your expectations for your visit! We look forward to welcoming you back to district in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,067 - 2,073 of 5,355 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

We booked this hotel based solely on the reviews seen on Trip Advisor, all of which were very positive... And the Distrikt did not disappoint!! The hotel was located a couple of blocks from Times Square which made it perfect for getting around in the busy city, but just outside the noise when it was time for bed.

We booked a Grandview King which I would recommend for the amazing views and the free wifi which enabled us to use the internet without running up expensive bills. The room was very modern and spacious, the bed was very comfortable, with a lovely bathroom and shower all of which were cleaned daily.

The decor looked great, very modern and with free computer usage and hot drinks in the lobby. But best of all was the staff at this hotel, we were made very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped suggest places to visit and eat. We would like to say special thanks in particular to Kevin on the reception who helped me arrange some flowers for my girlfriend on Valentines day via email before we arrived and Hugo who was so friendly, fun and helpful.

Thank you for making our first trip to NY a very memorable one. We will definitely be back...

Room Tip: Higher floors have amazing views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BaggyG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are honored that you chose Distrikt Hotel for your first visit to NYC. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We of course are most grateful for your recognition of our team and their efforts especially Kevin's. We are looking forward to that next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was a perfect fit for our experience. It's a tall narrow hotel so only five or six rooms on each floor so very quiet. This hotel was not expensive and was top quality. Extremely friendly helpful staff. Could walk everywhere we wanted to go - theatres, hockey game, Times Square, Letterman show... but really close to subway also if you want to venture out. We got to the hotel quite easily from airport by bus and 7 train, and they arranged a car back to the airport which was cheaper than a taxi and was perfect. Lather hair products, which I am now going to order for myself, Keurig coffee in our room, brownies, chocolates. The temperature in the room adjusted easily and quickly. Best shower ever in a hotel. Wi-fi easy and excellent. Room safe was easy to operate. No hidden charges at all. Would definitely recommend this hotel - absolutely!!! Thank you to the staff for making our trip so enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We cannot thank you enough for sharing your experience. Truly your review is everything that we could hope for. We take pride in our service and the amenities that we offer to the gassed and are so very glad when we hear that they are enjoyed. Thank you again for choosing Distrikt, we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

What a fantastic hotel! Spotlessly clean, comfy room and bed, choice of feather or synthetic pillows. Great hair dryer in room, no need to bring own. I have long thick hair and it dried it no problem, unlike some hotel hair dryers.
Great location, close to transport links, Port Authority bus station across street (can get bus to Jersey Garden mall from there). Also close to Times Square and loads of other attractions.
Staff are great, we came over to elope and were treated like a king and queen! Special mention to Nisha (sp) at reception who had to take phone for me as people found it hard to understand our Scottish accents, all the staff were fantastic though.
Pay no heed to mention in other reviews about it being in a 'dodgy' area, the area is fine. Never felt unsafe at all, four hotels in a row so always loads of people around.
Beer Authority pub just on the corner is great, loads of beers on tap and great food.
Could talk all day about Distrikt. We will be back, for sure!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lauren68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

It was most gratifying to read your review of District. We thank you for taking the long trek to New York City, and for choosing us as your home away from home. It was great to read that you like the area, and especially that you will bring your brogue back to us and Nesha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I found this wonderful hotel on here and it did not disappoint. Front staff were always very helpful and there is a cute man who always said 'Hello my friends!' every time we entered the lobby. The room was very comfortable and a brownie upon entry will always win me over. There aren't many rooms on each floor so we found it to be very quiet and a view of the river was a nice touch too. Location is a little less desirable (signs describing live girls) but a great find within a good distance of all the tourist hot spots. Great stay with great people to look after us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sneaky_nu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed reading about your experience and thank you for the kind comments. Hugo will be thrilled to have his efforts recognized. Thank you again for your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

First time in NYC...so we wanted something a little lux and near to a lot of touristy things ( ie Broadway, Times Square etc). This place fit the bill perfectly. Stylish, modern, great staff and service. Steps from the above and Rockefeller Center and only moments from the chilly Macy's Parade. We asked for a view (a higher up room) and were given a beautiful space on the 29th floor looking out on the incredible Empire State building. Bed was super-comfy and our stay was over-all very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views. We were floor 29. No problems with elevator being available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for such a special visit to New York City. We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and thank you for your kind comments and your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

What can I say about the hotel?
Our trip to NYC didn't get off to a great hotel. We got a shared van from JFK and it took nearly three hours to get to the hotel. When we arrived,however, our luck changed.
We were greeted by Kevin at reception who was extremely welcoming, informative and helpful. He told us we werw given a comp upgrade and congratulated us on our anniversary. We were given a map and some info about the city.
The hotel room was so clean, in fact the whole building is in perfect condition. The bed linen,towels etc. are crisp and clean. The bed was very comfy and the tv had plenty of channels. Chocs are put in the room each evening with weather info for the next day. They even sent a choc cake to the room when we arrived!!
Hugo is extremely friendly, aswell as Nisha om front desk, Junior on the door, cleaning staff, and all the staff appear to enjoy their jobs..nothing is too much trouble for them.
Location is ideal for Times Square, Subway,Broadway/Theatre District.
The wi-fi is excellent, good sized safe in room, bathroom is beautiful, windows are good aswell. No noise at night time considering how close it is to everything.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our trip to NYC and would definitely recommend the hotel. Hope to see you again guys..keep doing what you're doing

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ClaireMoro91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We appreciate you not only taking the time to review us, but for your recognition of our team members by name. They will be thrilled to see that their efforts were recognized and helped make a difference in your stay. Thank you for all of your kind comments and we hope to see you again too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#87 of 469 in New York City
435 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 469 in New York City
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 469 in New York City
1,019 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#122 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 469 in New York City
5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $179 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing