We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and a wonderful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #69 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel and a wonderful staff.”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I spent 4 nights at the Distrikt Hotel, as my daughter was attending an event at Javits Convention Center. The hotel is conveniently located . .a few blocks up from the convention center. It is also near subway stops and the bus station.
The room was small, but clean. The hotel was quiet, the bed really comfortable. The staff is friendly and helpful There are computers for public use in the lobby. There is also fresh coffee in the morning and hot chocolate in the afternoon.
What was nice also, is the the hotel by New York standards is small, so there was never a long wait for the elevator or a crowded ride.
Also the wifi in the room was free and fast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your time away with your daughter. We appreciate all of your comments and are grateful that we were able to exceed your expectations. We do hope to see you on your next trip to New York City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,456
    1,332
    249
    38
    20
See reviews for
993
2,580
239
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

In choosing where to stay for a week in New York we thought we would get stuck with a small, average hotel room. Until we found Distrikt! We had a King Room for our honeymoon, on 22nd floor overlooking the Hudson River. Soooo spacious for a hotel just around from Times Square! Good sized bathroom, Excellent for a week. We were greeted with the best service we had in our whole 5 weeks in the US with really personable and funny reception staff. And when we arrived in our room we had a slice of delicious cheesecake and a handwritten note - congratulations on your honeymoon! It was a pleasant surprise. Staff great in helping us get to the NFL at MetLife stadium, location win as we were right across from Port Authority bus terminal which we used to get to MetLife. Also just far enough away from the insanity of Times Square but so close that you still feel amongst it. Only downside was it was down a quiet street and you have to pass a couple of weird stores and a bar so at night be careful when you turn off the main drag. Also restaurant for brekky seemed understaffed as many dirty tables and took a while for service despite small size. Yes hotel was expensive but the size and quality of the room was immaculate. Got excellent sleep which I put down to two things: proper soundproof glass and only 4 rooms (or so) on a floor so no one being noisy! Have recommended highly to family & friends. Great job Disrikt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for such a special occasion, we loved sharing your celebration with you. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we exceeded your expectations. we apologize for any delay at breakfast time and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Of course we are most grateful for your recommendation and your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

The Distrikt Hotel exceeded expectations. We have stayed in more
expensive hotels in NYC but this one is far superior. The room is
spacious and nicely appointed. Great water pressure & hot temp in the
shower. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is ideal for
great restaurants and the theatre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DandD505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Nothing could please us more than exceeding your expectations. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to the next time we can welcome you to Distrikt Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Booked this hotel having checked previous trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed, in fact I can recommend this hotel for its location, service and quality in particular the reception staff who were awesome! this hotel played a big part in a fantastic overall experience of New York.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
With so many choices we are very grateful that you chose our hotel for your New York City stay. Thank you for your kind comments and review and for recommending us to fellow TripAdvisor readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

I have been an guest of the Distrikt Hotel for almost four years. I have always had exceptional treatment and a wonderful room too!

Ms. Jennifer Rota is the best. So professional, helpful and kind. She is a pro at being the GM of the Distrikt Hotel.

My room (3001) was amazing and the housekeeping was perfect. Loved the appetizers in the restaurant in the evenings.

Her staff is first rate, Peter was superior in his help with several items including check in. Nesha, always great, friendly, Will, a shining star, David, super and kind and Kwame helped me with a cab!

I highly, highly recommend the Distrikt Hotel!!

LVH, Florida

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Leigherton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
I consider myself to be very lucky indeed, to be able to get to know to such lovely guests as yourself. It is experiences like yours that affirm everything we truly believe in. Thank you so very much for your lovely comments , your recognition of Peter and the team. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Came here for my 21st and had an amazing time in NewYork and all the staff at the hotel was very nice and all wished me a happy birthday and had a card and cake from the staff which i though was really nice. Would defiantly come again! Recommend to anyone who comes to NewYork.. Hotel was very clean and staff were great and really helpful!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DannyGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for including us in such a special celebration. We are also grateful for your review and your recommendation. We will pass on your kind comments to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My expectations were pretty low when I secured a $99 per night rate at this hotel, but, I figured, what the heck. Boy, I’m so glad I open my Travelzoo Weekly Top 20 emails because I would’ve missed out on this great boutique hotel discovery. Of course, $99 room rates are hard to come by during peak periods, but I would’ve been just as pleased spending $250 per night for my stay in room 1505. By NYC standards, the room was perfect for me and my fiancé. The bathroom was clean and spacious. I also really appreciated the “extras” - free WiFi, bedtime snacks, personal welcome letter from management, etc. The king-sized bed was comfortable and the room just large enough for a two or three-night stay. Will, a front desk attendant, was very friendly and attentive. I’m glad I spent my birthday weekend at the Distrikt Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyrstenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are glad that you took a chance with us as well. Thank you for sharing your celebration and thank you for choosing our hotel. We appreciate your review and hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 466 in New York City
968 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#131 of 466 in New York City
5,069 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 466 in New York City
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 466 in New York City
363 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 466 in New York City
2,787 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#40 of 466 in New York City
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing