We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We have just returned from our first visit to New York as a family. The Distrikt Hotel ticked all of our boxes as it is located in a great position within the city enabling you to explore Manhattan Island. The staff were extremely helpful, the rooms very well presented and cleaned to a high standard. On New Years Eve we found complimentary bottles of bubbly, tins of sweets, nuts and party hats in our room. As well as decent tea and coffee in our room there was coffee in reception every morning and hot cider every night.
These little extras prove that they are listening to there customers providing a great service at an affordable cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We were thrilled to be part of your New Year's celebration, thank you! We are glad you enjoyed our little "gifts" and appreciate you sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comments, we appreciate the recognition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,160 - 2,166 of 5,358 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for 12 nights. Hotel Great Staff fantastic. Always Cheerful and Helpful.
We had many a laugh with them when we returned from a day of sight seeing and Shopping
Rooms Clean and comfortable
Great location

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying at Distrikt and for your recommendation for other travelers! We appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel with my husband. I was very impressed and really enjoyed the experience and have recommended the hotel since my return to 2 couples going to NYC in the next few months. Great service,lovely rooms very clean and modern and nice touches like chocolates everyday, turn down service, brownies in room on arrival and excellent tea/coffee facilities. Bathrooms lovely and clean and enough towels. My one issue is it was very expensive for 3 nights without breakfast included, however this would not stop me staying again. Also excellent location close by but not too near to have to deal with Times Square mania but still a 5 min walk! Great hotel.. Hope to get to stay again soon!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Juliedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thanks so very much for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation of Distrikt. We are pleased that you liked our amenities and service and look forward to welcoming you back to Distrikt...give us a call before you make your plans, we have some alternatives that will include breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed 2 nights (Dec 16th & 17th) while on a speaking engagement in the city and loved it! As a woman traveling alone I was concerned about finding a comfortable place in which I felt safe and that was convenient to my event near Times Square and this hotel fit perfectly. Nice design, quiet environment, friendly staff...even enjoyed the daily weather (forecast) card put on my pillow and the yummy local brownie treats left in the room. Would definitely stay here anytime I visit the city!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We are quite appreciative of your favorable review of Distrikt. We are glad to have been a comfortable and relaxing "home" in NYC while you prepared for such an important event. We do look forward to being part of your future travel plans.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is my fourth visit to NYC in as many years and I changed hotels as the last time I visited my regular one it had fallen well below usual standards.

I cannot speak highly enough of the Distrikt hotel and for the following reasons:

1 - location, very central but in a quiet area, 5 - 10 min walk from most places and next door to Port Authority bus station

2 - staff, staff, staff who were all fab. They were helpful and friendly and after a long journey . that is so important, and they were always on hand with extra advice. Loved the extra touch of the next day's weather forecast being left in room each day once cleaned.

3 - rooms. I was on the 20th floor and had a view of the Empire State Building. This of course is no guarantee but what a bonus. Overall rooms spacious, modern and lovely clean bathroom

4 - bar/restaurant - again lovely and accessible.

5 - lovely free coffee in the mornings and other hot beverages throughout the day

Room Tip: As stated before no guarantee, but if possible get a room high up, above floor 20
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyc1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you so very much for your lovely review of Distrikt. We are extremely grateful for your lovely remarks, especially your recognition of our team. We appreciate you choosing us and look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

If you are after a hotel with a good vibe, great location within walking distance of key attractions, a fresh and tidy room - then consider this one. The only slight downers - soundproofing from neighbours closing doors could be better and no onsite health centre, but you can access one for free nearby. All in all we would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Me20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your review of Distrikt. We are disappointed that your peaceful stay was disturbed by our security doors, but are glad you found our offsite gym accommodating for your needs. Please give us a call before your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel was clean, comfortable and in convenient location (although the street in which it was located wasn't that particularly great). We stayed in both the Distrikt Hotel and the Casablanca Hotel and if we have to go back to NYC again and have to choose between the two, it will probably be at the Casablanca - based on the location, room size and facilities.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank VNC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We thank you for choosing Distrikt for this visit, and regret not exceeding your expectations. We are proud to be compared to the Casablanca, it is definitely a remarkable hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
436 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#79 of 469 in New York City
1,023 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#124 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $181 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing