We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Travelled with my daughter and her boyfriend for 5 days and can not wait to get back. I am looking to visit next year with my wife. I had a room overlooking the car park on top of the bus terminal where Bourne was filmed. Staff were exceptionally helpful and let me recharge my blackberry when I forgot to bring mine. Location just off time square could not have been better. I can not rate this hotel highly enough

Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Yay! We can't wait to welcome you back to Distrikt! Please let us know if we can help with your arrangements...we'll make sure to have that same or better view! Thanks so very much for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

4,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    1,228
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Myself and three friends stayed at the Distrikt between 12 Dec 2013 and 16 Dec 2013 - this was our first time in New York and we were not disappointed. We received a friendly greeting at the hotel and check in procedure was quick. Reception staff also provided us with a map of the city which was very useful. We had two superior king rooms on the 12th floor. Rooms were a good size - similar to a UK 'Premier Inn' size room with a huge bed. Keurig Coffee machine was a great addition (shame they aren't available in the UK because I want one!). Shower was also fabulous! View wasn't great from the room but I didn't really expect one so wasn't disappointed. Never had a problem waiting for the lift/elevator as others had mentioned. Location was perfect - just a few minutes stroll to Times Square, Bryant Park, Macy's and the theatre district - We walked nearly everywhere. Some reviews have mentioned the parole office and adult shop in the street - please don't let this put you off - you really don't notice them (I wouldn't have known it was a parole office if I hadn't read it on here!). Didn't use the hotel bar or restaurant so can't comment on those. Do try the Westway Diner a short walk away for a great American breakfast. Hotel arranged taxi for us from hotel to JFK - great service and it arrived early. All in all it was a great stay and I cannot wait to return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nicki32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We are so glad you chose Distrikt for your first trip to New York City! Thank you for your enthusiastic review, we are thrilled we were able to make your stay a special one. Your appreciation of the service, location and amenities was humbling, and we are thrilled that you plan on returning to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed there on the 23rd. The location is great with lots of restaurants within a block and the proximity to Broadway is fantastic. We stayed in a standard king room which was well equipped with a Keurig coffee machine, and the bed was very comfortable. We did not have a city view room which we were fine with as this cut down on the "city noise". It was noisy in the morning with cleaning staff chatting in the hallway and a seemingly endless slamming of room doors, so not great if you plan to sleep in.
The parking situation was our only real complaint. It was about $50 for the night, which is pretty standard for Manhattan, but was a block away and no valet.
Overall though, we were satisfied with our stay and would consider the Distrikt again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DeniseAndCorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for your review of Distrikt, and for letting us know of our early morning "chatting"...we will remind our team of their voice levels. Just to let other readers know, the parking is $35 for cars and $35 for oversize vehicles or SUVs. We are currently exploring a valet parking arrangement, and hope we have finalized by your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was an excellent base for our first trip to New York. Very well located as you can walk to lots of places, and there is a subway station a minute's walk away if you want to go further. The decor is attractive and modern, the staff are really friendly and our room was clean with everything we needed, including a coffee machine and a nice shower. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth+andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review of Distrikt. We appreciate your comments and are especially pleased to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed at the Distrikt Hotel over Thanksgiving with my family in a double room. The room was nicely decorated in modern decor and was fairly large for a double bed room in NYC. The view from our room was excellent. We were given fresh towels each night without having to ask, our beds were made and we were given occasionally treats and chocolate by the cleaning crew, which I thought was a nice gesture. The hotel staff in the lobby were extremely nice and helpful. The hotel is in a great location and within walking distance to Times Square in a matter of minutes. I would definitely recommend the Distrikt Hotel to anyone staying in NYC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeng88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your holiday and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Your recommendation means a great deal to us, as well as your kind comments regarding our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Location, location, location! Very simply, the experience was great and staff were friendly. We would definitely go back and stay at the same place. This is super convenient to metro and Times Square.
Now for those who want more detail I will give a little more:
1) getting to the hotel - we flew into LGA simply because it was the cheapest route. I think JFK and Newark would work, but for this I will only speak about LGA. No need to plan ahead, just get your bags and go to the ground transportation booth at baggage claim and ask to take a shares shuttle to the hotel. Cost is $15 a person and no worries. They take you right to your hotel. Keep in kind it is a shared shuttle, so you might have to make a few stops first. We didn't care as it allowed us to see more of the city. If you don't feel like waiting, take a cab for $45. If you are really brave, take the bus to 74th street and take the purple 7 metro straight to 42nd street
2) getting around - bought the 7 day metro pass for $30 and it was more than worth it. Went all around the city any time with no restriction
3) getting to the airport - again, traveling to LGA, we used our metro pass and took the purple 7 from 42nd street all the way to 74th. From there, we took the Q70 bus to LGA. There are a few things I should say about this:
A) hotel staff said to take Q33 bus to LGA. This was wrong as the bus drivers told us the Q70 was correct. So I am not sure if bus schedules changed or it was always Q70. In any case, I would confirm this with the MTA website and not rely solely on the hotel staff
B) bus driver did not call out which terminals he was stopping at (like we were supposed to know) so we misses our terminal stop. To prevent going all the way back to the bus station, we got off and took the route "B" bus that just loops around LGA 100% of the time. This was free but only runs every 15 min.
C) my personal reflection is to just take a cab next time
Thanks Jutaia and Kevin for your help. Our stay was great!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank jackbauerTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of Distrikt on TripAdvisor! We re very grateful for your transportation details, we know your fellow travelers will be as well! We appreciate you recognizing the efforts of our team, and hope to welcome you back again in the future (we can even prearrange a car pickup).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I rarely write reviews unless it's an above average or poor experience. This hotel is definitely deserving of all the wonderful reviews it has received. From the moment we arrived Hugo welcomed us with a warm greeting and immediately helped my husband and I out with our luggage. After arriving extremely late in the night and with an 8 month child, this was very much appreciated. Throughout our entire stay he greeted us by name and genuinely showed an interest in our daily activities. The room was comfy and clean. When we arrived the pack n play we had requested for our son was already in the room with clean sheets. The location is great, too. Not a far walk from Times Square or Rockefeller Plaza. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks for making our first family vacation a great experience.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your first family vacation at Distrikt. We appreciate your recognition of the team, and especially for Hugo's efforts. We are grateful that you took the time to write a review and do hope this is the first of many family excursions to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing