We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would definitely return!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for a few days. It's in Choice Hotels "luxury" group, Ascend. The price was right and the location (near Times Square) was very convenient for us. Room was comfortable and quiet. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We will hold you to that promise! Thanks so much for your review of Distrikt on TripAdvisor. We are very proud of our affiliation with Ascend's Collection of independent boutique hotels. We hope you keep your promise soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,318
    1,255
    228
    30
    15
See reviews for
923
2,475
224
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of October in this lovely hotel. My fourth time in New York and this was definitely the best hotel I have stayed in there mainly due to the friendly and helpful staff. Other plus points are the free wifi with Apple Macs available in the lobby, the delicious hot apple cider and the most comfortable bed I have slept in for a long time.
The location is good, right on 9th avenue which has the best range of diners and restaurants you could wish for also a good selection of small grocery stores and a great bakery. It's in walking distance to the High Line which is worth a walk down in the day time and in the dark.
Other places in walking distance are Hells Kitchen and the mega Maceys department store.
This hotel would be one I would return to.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are most proud to have earned the praise of such an experience NYC visitor! The team will be thrilled to know they helped make your stay special, and we thank you for recognizing their efforts. We loved your observations and are glad you enjoyed exploring 9th Avenue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Just heading out of the city after 3 day/2 night trip. Travled with two younger children, 9 and 6. My wife researched and chose this hotel based on other reviews. The Distrikt is exactly what we were looking for. It is clean, modern and comfortable. All the staff were great and even worked with us after my youngest pulled out two cylinders of M&Ms from the hotel fridge. Room was big enough for the four of us.

On our next trip to the city, we discussed findindg a spot closer to 44th street but may have a hard time finding the comfort of the Distrikt.

Helpful?
2 Thank Willaney
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We are grateful that you found us through TripAdvisor and that we were able to exceed your expectations on your visit. We do hope we can lure you back to 40th Street next visit, but thank you for giving our little slice of Manhattan a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
montreal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

this hotel is clean , very well staffed .Rooms are pretty big (NYC standard) and well decorated.Bathroom is of a good size and clean.
they have a happy hour which is great. the food was good .Breakfast is good. staff is everywhere and soooo nice.
The area is not at all scary and you do feel secure and is close to everything .
I would go back, will go back and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siroval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We are very grateful for your kind comments and will pass on your compliments to the entire team. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I've just returned from a 4 night stay at the Distrikt Hotel with my sister for her 21st birthday treat. I honestly do not have enough good things to stay about this hotel. The staff are so friendly and efficient. You are greeted every time you leave and return which is so lovely. Our room on the 6th floor was a lovely size, spotlessly clean and had all the amenities we required. Not to mention the bed which was one of the most comfiest beds I've ever slept in. The location is absolutely brilliant as it's a 5 minute walk to Times Square and everything else is in walking distance. We walked everywhere (and used the subway station to get to he 9/11 memorial site which is a little further out). I had read reviews about the location of the hotel being a little bit sketchy due to the parole office which is down the street, but as long as you're aware of your surroundings, you won't have anything to worry about. I never felt unsafe in the area even when walking at night.
Overall, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. I know i'll be returning to the Distrikt Hotel when I return to New York.
Thanks to all the staff at the Distrikt Hotel for such a wonderful experience at your lovely hotel. Definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so very much for a Perfect score! We are very happy we were able to celebrate with you both, and truly take your kind comments to heart. We are very glad you found our location amenable and will return to us on your next visit! Please start planning soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is our first stay at the Distrikt. The rooms are a bit small but the rates are good and, after all, this is New York City. This hotel is an easy walk to Times Square and the heart of the theatre district. The cleanliness of the rooms and public spaces is outstanding. We had a minor crises back home to deal with and the staff went out of their way to be helpful with the computers, printers, and fax machine. All in all we couldn't ask for a better experience.

Room Tip: As always in Manhattan, go to the highest floor available to minimize street noise, we were on the 2...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel will change your beds daily but only on request which is good environmental policy
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimy32301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Distrikt and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very glad we were able to assist in a stressful time, and do hope you will return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisaiana
Level Contributor
119 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Whenever visiting New York I stay here. The staff is outstanding. The one thing that I love about the rooms is that you can open the window. I was there in November and the weather was cool but not cold. I loved opening the window and getting fresh air. The bar is also my favorite. Wonderful appetizers for Happy Hour. Location can't be beat. I take the bus from Newark airport and arrive right across the street. There is always a refreshing drink in the lobby which is so nice after a long trip or day. Clean, comfortable and unique - stay at the Distrikt next time you are in New York.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cajuncouple50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you very much for returning to Distrikt and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are grateful for your recommendation and for your loyalty to Distrikt! We can't wait for the next time to welcome you back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,790 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing