We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A positive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A positive experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a twin double room. My first impressions upon entering the foyer was that it felt tiny. We were relieved that this was not the case with our rooms. It was spacious, modern and very comfortable. We were initially located on the 3rd floor directly opposite the bus port. This was extremely unpleasent as we could hear the noises on the street cleary which disrupted our sleep not to mention, the view was hideous. Thankfully, we were relocated to an upper level which made a world of difference. I travelled to several cities on my recent trip to the U.S.A and their beds were by far the most comfortable. My suggestion to the hotel would be to reduce the price for the rooms on the 3rd floor as it was certainly over priced.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We agree that most guests were less concerned about size of room and more about location...so we listened and did change the pricing configuration for booking Distrikt. We are happy we were able to turn around your first impression and make the rest of your stay a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,316
    1,255
    228
    30
    15
See reviews for
922
2,474
224
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in August, we were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff who helped us to our room. The room was very clean tidy and had everything you need, free wifi in the hotel is a bonus. The location is great, couldnt fault this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrobinsonx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We appreciate your review of Distrikt and the recognition of our team. We do hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here 21st to 28th August 2013 and had a great time. Hotel is well located near Times Square but not too near to be bothered by the hustle & bustle. Reception staff are fantastic, always helpful and you get a great greeting when you return from your trips. They are happy to direct you, offer advice and recommendations. Room was bright, very clean and comfortable. Restaurant was very good with very good service and a good bar.
Hotel has some lovely little extra's like free coffee in the lobby in the mornings, free cold drinks when you return from your trips plus a chocolate and a card with tomorrow's weather forecast in your room. Room maid was always cheerful and kept the room lovely. Even the concierge went out of his way by going up the street to get us a yellow taxi when we were leaving.
Great service, great location couldn't ask for more and would love to return and stay here.
Three little gems we found over all the other sites in New York.
1. New York Fire Dept Museum. Spring St.
Old Fire engines & curios but great display in memory of those who perished in 9/11
2. Bryant Park Sixth Ave between 40th & 42nd Street.
Nice little park to avoid the hustle with a lovely bar and restaurant. Also the cleanest Public toilets in New York. Even decorated with fresh flowers.
3. Sea, Air and Space museum. West End of 46th Street
Located on the Intrepid Aircraft carrier. But it includes a trip through a submarine, see the space shuttle, Concord and a tour round an aircraft carrier with Aircraft and helicopters on the deck. Great for all the little Admirals, Spacemen or pilots.

Well done to the Distrikt Hotel Staff you made our stay extremely enjoyable. Thank You
We Loved New York, had a great stay at the Distrikt hotel and would love to return.

Gordon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We certainly appreciate the enthusiastic review of Distrikt and the recognition of our amazing team members, but we must thank you for the wonderful recommendations to your fellow TripAdvisor readers! We are so glad you enjoyed our great city, and will hold you to your promise to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel from 10th to 15th Sept & can't fault it. The staff were fantastic especially Nesha & Peter. They really couldn't have done enough for us and we always got a friendly welcome when returning from our travels. We booked a night cruise on the "Hornblower" recommended by the Concierge Manager & it was absolutely fantastic - definitely one of the highlights of my trip. It was quite expensive - $148 but this included a lovely 4 course meal & drinks. We also got invited by the Captain to visit him while onboard and this was courtesy of the Concierge Manager who knew him. We thought this was a very kind gesture and we were treated like Royalty!!! The room was on the 19th floor with not a great view - this would be my only criticisms as I had requested a room (via e-mail) on more than one occasion on a lower floor (not keen on lifts) with a nice view. However, it ended up not being a huge issue. The room was very clean & modern with mega comfy mattress/bed & pillows. There was no noise from outside & I slept well. The iced cucumber water was very refreshing & the fudge brownies were lovely. Reading other reviews it would have been nice to have been left a birthday treat for my friend's 50th as I had also advised of this beforehand. If I could take this hotel and place it in a nicer part of NYC then would have given it a 5 star rating as the area isn't very desirable but our stay was superb!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrs49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Distrikt and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for recognizing our team members. We are especially happy that Cara was able to get you an upgrade for your cruise! I do believe our team could have done a better job at choosing what was most important to you for your room floor...they assigned you the lowest floor of the room type that you booked, anything lower would have had no views...we should have communicated that better. A bit of a misstep with your treats, our sincere apologies. We are most pleased that our foibles did not overshadow your stay! We do hope we can welcome you back on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for a week and the staff couldn't be nicer. They helped with sightseeing, advised best places to eat and booked tickets to shows and booked our car for us. The room was spotless on arrival and was cleaned everyday. Rooms are very spacious and bed was really comfy. A welcome thing when you have been sightseeing all day. I would definitely come back here and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaeLFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing Distrikt and for your review of us on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that the team was able to assist in making your stay as comfortable as possible. We truly appreciate your personal recommendation.and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at Distrikt hotel for three nights; I just wish it was longer. The hotel location is perfect: close to everything, yet a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the main street.
The room was reasonable size and very clean. I loved the coffee machine in the room and newspaper delivered in the morning. The bed was very comfortable. We were on the 6th floor and didn’t have much of a view, so I would recommend asking for a room on a higher floor. WIFI was super fast.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They were happy to assist with everything, from dinner recommendations, transport advice to printing Yankee tickets…
I cannot recommend this place enough. This was our first visit to NY, but when we return, we will definitely stay at Distrikt again. Thank you guys for a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We are most grateful for you taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation. We are very glad we were able to make your first (hopefully of many) trip to NYC even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The Distrikt is very clean, comfortable and centrally located just off Times Square. The staff are all very helpful and extremely pleasant. We had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel and would certainly recommend it. We had breakfast in the hotel almost everyday and the only slight minus was a cold, over cooked breakfast on Saturday. I just wish we had more time to take advantage of happy hour in the hotel. Thanks for a great holiday.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank stay1or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We appreciate your review of Distrikt and thank you for your recommendation. We are sad that we served a below standard breakfast, and hope we have a chance to make it right in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing