We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite New York hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #75 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 13, 2013

V friendly staff, nice rooms, comfy bed and a good location. You get much more for your money than other hotels of the same price that I've tried. It might be a bit cheaper because it's near the bus station, so it's not an especially attractive street, but perfectly safe and busy and very handy for Times Square subway station which takes you to lots of different lines. Also it's just away from the most touristy street, so there are lots of reasonably-priced restaurants nearby. I'll definitely be going there again. There are nice touches like iced water filled with orange slices in the reception and they're happy to print boarding passes for you.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room high up you can even see the water.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 773Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We are absolutely honored to be your first choice in NYC! Thank you very much for choosing us and for you lovely review. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,267)
There are newer reviews for Distrikt Hotel New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,301 - 2,307 of 5,270 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is well located. The rooms are very nice. The staff are very pleasant. The bistro/bar is nicely decorated. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. The weather forecast and chocolate are nice touches. The hotel is ideally situated for trips from the bus terminal, which is opposite the hotel. This is also worth telling, some of , the taxi drivers. Shame you are not able to use the mini fridge in the room, as it is only for dispensing food/drinks from the hotel. The safe and ironing gear is useful.
I am sure you will not be disappointed if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charleso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for recommending us to others for their stay. We are grateful for your mention of our service, decor and amenities. We do provide mini fridges on request, we are sorry we didn't know of your need. Next time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just got back from our first trip to NYC this week and the hotel was amazing.
After experiencing problems getting from the airport to the hotel in the blazing heat, when we finally arrived at the Distrikt, it was so lovely to be greeted by such nice and friendly people. One guy in particular, Jason, was very friendly; taking our luggage up to our rooms and helping us to organise our journey back to the airport (the hotel organises a private taxi to take you from the hotel to the airport which was JFK in our case. It costs $65, which is only $5 more than the usual taxi rate, and the car was luxurious, spacious and air conditioned-big thumbs up!!).

Our room was on the 20th floor. We didn't really have a view but that didn't bother us because we weren't planning on spending that much time in the room anyway. The room was very clean, spacious, the bed was comfy and had pretty much everything you'd need - iron, hairdryer, TV with a good choice of channels. The bathroom was modern and clean with a lovely walk in shower which was easy to use. Also, the cleaners leave a chocolate on your pillow each day and a weather report for the following day which was a really lovely touch.

The hotel itself is literally 5 minutes away from Times Square but there's no outside noise when you're trying to sleep at night. The actual street the hotel is on is a bit questionable with some odd characters on it but that's to be expected with any city to be honest. If you turn left out the hotel entrance, there are loads of restaurants and Hell's Kitchen really isn't that far away so it's perfect for eating out. The hotel's location is pretty central and you're in a walking distance of Central Park, Empire State Building and Macy's.

One thing I would recommend is booking tickets beforehand if you want to do the touristy stuff. We booked the Classic New York Combo ticket from attraction tickets before we travelled. The ticket was £63pp and included All Loops Double Decker Hop-on/Hop off Tour for 48 hours, Statue of Liberty Ferry Ticket and either The Empire State Building Observatory or Top of the Rock. The tour especially is a great way to get around and also see New York's sights. The majority of the tour guides are native New Yorkers and are very informative about the buildings and areas in and around the city.

Personally, my highlights were going to the 9/11 memorial and going up the Empire State Building and Top of the Rock, and I would thoroughly recommend these to anyone visiting New York.

All in all, the hotel and city was amazing and me and my boyfriend are already planning to return one year to experience the city at Christmas. Dream trip :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kjames18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing such an amazing review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased we were able to offer you refuge from the heat and stress of travel, and that Jason made a difference at arrival. Thank you for mentioning his service, but for also mentioning our amenities and other services. We think future NYC travelers will benefit from your insight for tickets. Please let us know how we can assist you for that dream trip, there is just nothing comparable to NYC during the holidays, (we may be a tad biased).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Distrikt Hotel and were thrilled with it. The staff is second to none. They were cheerful, pleasant and oh, so helpful. Our room was very clean and it was so nice to come back after a long day of sight seeing and finding the bed turned down with chocolate and the next day's forecast on the pillow. The bed was so very comfortable and I wanted to bring the pillow home with me. I wish we could have stayed longer! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BamaR2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

The Distrikt Team will be so grateful to read your accolades, thank you very much for recognizing their amazing efforts. Next time you will just have to stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Literally back today from our honeymoon in New York & I just wanted to share our thoughts on The Distrikt Hotel.We chose it based on the reviews we had read here & all I can say is I can't understand why the approval rating isn't 100%! From the moment we got there to our departure yesterday it was clear the staff couldn't do enough for us.Having read how friendly they are comes no where close to reality.We were always greeted with a 'good morning' no matter how busy the staff were & there is a genuine feeling that everyone enjoys working there which in turn creates the perfect atmosphere for the guests.Having been told it was our honeymoon we came back to our room on our first night there & had a delicious cake delivered along with a letter congratulating us.Speaking of the room we went for the Grandview Kings room which certainly did what it said on the tin.We were given the room at the top of the hotel with a fantastic view of the city including the River Hudson.The room itself was spacious with a great TV & the most comfortable bed we have ever had.As has been mentioned before the idea of using the key card to operate the lift is an inspired one as is the idea of supplying ice cold drinks in the foyer which were much needed in the freakishly hot September weather we encountered.We tried the various & varied breakfasts a few mornings & they were great value & once again the staff serving us were keeping with the rest of the hotel.So were there any negatives? Well as has been mentioned in numerous reviews the area away from the hotel could be construed as being less than desirable but strangely at no point did we feel threatened so if you are thinking of staying at the Distrikt Hotel please don't let that put you off as the pros far weigh out the cons.One of those pros is the how close the hotel is to most things whether it is by foot, Times Square is about 10 minute walk, but the Subway is literally at the top of the street & the big bonus is having the Port Authority Bus Station literally across the road which is perfect for getting to Woodbury Common Outlet! So as you can see we can't recommend The Distrikt Hotel enough.If you are thinking of staying in New York then do yourself a favour & stay there.I guarantee it will make your trip an even more enjoyable one as it did ours.We would go as far tosay it is without the best hotel we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: If you want an excellent view of The Big Apple then book the Grandview Double.Not room related but i...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_Str0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We truly appreciate you choosing Distrikt for your Honeymoon trip, and are thrilled that we helped make it even more special. We were honored to be part of your celebration, and thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We arrived early and tired to the warmest friendliest welcome ever, from Tanisha Ward. Our room wasn't available but we were offered cool drinks, rest room to freshen up and for our cases to be looked after, with option to rest in lobby or go out and explore. Lovely rest rooms, nice toiletries and cloths. When we did check in it was quick and bags sent to our room. Good location, near subway and within walking distance of Times Square and other tourist spots. Plus points for hotel, everywhere extremely clean, room servicing (Magdalena) was excellent. Great shower. Free WIFI (loved by daughter). Reasonable size room and on 18th floor the noise from the street was minimal. We could see the river. Coffee maker and supplies, safe and iron in room. Breakfast was decent value, excellent service and friendly staff. Good choice of light bite or full breakfast. We didn't know where to go and eat dinner. Young lady serving breakfast suggested a restaurant. Within minutes the reception sorted a reservation and printed off directions. Fabulous food - Blue Water Grill. Downside, air con in room (1802) was noisy and unit right by one bed, we had to switch it off to sleep. Tiny half height wardrobe and four small drawers between three adults meant we lived mainly out of cases. Not enough of a bother to put us off returning though. We had a great stay, felt like nothing was too much trouble until checkout. We had asked if we should book out the night before as we had a 5am start and were told reception is 24/7. We got to the lobby 20 minutes before transfer bus due and couldn't see anyone. Spoke to a young man using the computer who said he would get someone and went off. After five minutes we asked again and he went off again. Eventually a girl appeared. She checked us out, but we had to insist on a receipt. In addition to food we had purchased, it showed items we hadn't had. By this time our bus had arrived and we held other people up while it was sorted out. Such a shame as up until then service was terrific.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wards2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to to review us on TripAdvisor and for mentioning two of our amazing team members who impacted their stay. They will be thrilled to have earned your praise. We are sending someone up immediately to the room to check the belts, and are sorry you experienced the noise. Your checkout experience is, well, unacceptable to us and we are following up on it immediately. We too are sorry you were left with that last impression, if you have time to contact me, I would love to apologize personally. jrota@distrikthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We've been to NYC a few times and always stayed in the LES in some pretty up market places and I thought Distrikt was as good or better than all of them.

Very different part of town than LES, but the subway as usual is only a short walk away and from there everything is close. We were however an easy walk to Times Square, Broadway, the Empire State and 30 rock... All great places to hit if you're on the tourist trail.

The room was neat and tidy, very quiet and the staff made sure to look after us when we finally woke up after some very late nights in the city that never sleeps.

If you ate going to stay I would also suggest signing up as a Choice Privileges member before you do as the discounted rate was unbelievable.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_Caridi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. It was especially proud to be compared favorably to other boutique hotels. If you stay in our part of Manhattan again, we hope to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#76 of 468 in New York City
408 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,036 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 468 in New York City
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#126 of 468 in New York City
5,219 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#120 of 468 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 468 in New York City
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $185 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing