We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good well located hotel maybe a bit too expensive!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good well located hotel maybe a bit too expensive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I am staying with my family at the Distrikt hotel. The location and the cleanness are excellent and the service overall is good.
We have noticed that the quality of the service provided by the people working at the reception can vary from excellent to average and overall the people cleaning the rooms they forgot everyday something.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guido U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your review of Distrikt. New York rates can fluctuate quite a bit, but we always want to be viewed as a value to all of our guests. We are most concerned by your observation that the service was a bit off, and will be addressing that with the management team. We would love to earn a 5 on your next visit, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at jrota@distrikthotel.com so I may find out more about your stay and guarantee a better one next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,318
    1,255
    228
    30
    15
See reviews for
923
2,475
224
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was my daughter's 16th birthday and apart of her gift was a trip to NYC. I combed through review after reviews from various hotels on trip advisor. I booked back in April for a July trip with several hotels. I selected this one based on the reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly and best of all the price was excellent. I want to visit again in the fall and this will be our choice.. Excellent hotel! Monette

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahameri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so very happy you chose our hotel out of everyone and are thrilled that you were happy with that decision! Please let us assist you personally when rebooking, we are always excited to welcome back guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Distrikt Hotel from the 26th to the 27th of June 2013. We booked this on clickitbookit. It appeared to be a reasonable deal and the reviews on tripadvisor were very good. So, here is our take on the hotel:

Location: Located on 40th Street, between 8th and 9th, a short walk from the bustling Times Square and 42nd Street, we had no trouble at all finding this hotel. The street is quiet with a couple of other apart-hotels right beside it.

Reception: Small, neat and efficient could be a good way to describe it. We arrived at the hotel at around 11am. Unfortunately the hotel was full so we had to perforce wait till 3 pm for check in. However, the staff was friendly. Their uniforms though uniforms, were quite different from the regular recognizable uniforms of other hotels, which was a pleasant and unique change.

At the reception was an iced tea, tea and coffee dispenser which appeared to be complimentary. There were also a couple of computers in the small lobby area which were free to use, along with the internet

We were allotted room 502. The baggage took awfully long to be delivered in our rooms. Apparently there was a tech snag with one of the two elevators and hence the delay – is what we were told.

Rooms: Nice, new and totally functional. For the sort of accolades that the hotel had received on TripAdvisor, we expected better. The rooms were not that big and the two queen sized beds just about gave you enough walking space within the room. Two big suitcases in the room would have certainly made the rooms a bit too busy. We only had one, so we were lucky! The rooms were equipped with tea-coffee makers.

Given the location, there was not much of a chance of being troubled by hordes of revelers in the middle of the night- unlike Times Square.

A big thumbs up was the fact that the rooms were equipped with free wifi!

Service is also pretty cheerful and fairly nifty.

I would recommend this hotel to those who would like to be away from the turbulence of Times Square yet close enough to get to the madness in a jiffy. If you are traveling on business and the internet is your best friend, then the convenience of having it for free in the room certainly is a feather in this hotel’s cap!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViraatRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and for your endorsement of Distrikt on Trip Advisor. We are always thrilled to see that our little touches like uniforms and amenities are noticed by our guests. We think we corner the market on tech-savvy guests and are most pleased when they appreciate our wifi service! We do hope to welcome you back to Distrikt in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Leave this hotel and turn right and shortly you will be in Times Square with all of the glitz and glamour of the theatre district; turn left and you will be in Hell's Kitchen with lots of local eateries, small shops and bars. It is a bit down at heel but very lively and authentic New York. The hotel itself is fine with very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are not massive but that is what you get in New York. They are very comfortable and some have views out to the Hudson River. There were no ice machines in the hallways although room service will bring you ice if you ask for it.

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SlowDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel and for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. We (of course) agree with your assessment of our location, and are glad you found it as eclectic as we do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

My 9 year old son and I stayed at The Distrikt on our 10 day holiday in New York City. I selected this hotel because of the positive reviews on Tripadvisor especially regarding the excellent service and cleanliness and I thoroughly concur with all the positive comments. The room we stayed in was spotless and the bed was so comfortable after a long, hot day touring the city. One night we arrived back to the hotel quite late. It was after the kitchen's closing hours but they quickly knocked up a meal for us as my son was hungry and tired.
Even though some reviewers have canned the location, we never felt unsafe at any time as we walked home from shows late at night or very early in the morning to Penn Station.
We loved our trip to NYC and being able to come 'home' to The Distrikt each night definitely contributed to the enjoyment of our holiday. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicandev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Distrikt for your holiday! We are thrilled that we lived up to your expectations and that you and your son had a special visit. We thank you for your recommendation and your recognition of our team's efforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent a pleasant 7 nights at the Distrikt hotel earlier this month. The good experience began with booking late last year, and I had some questions about some New York activities in the time between and their responses were always pleasant and timely. Our flight to NY had been lengthily delayed meaning we arrived at the hotel at 0300, but were pleasantly greeted, and touched to find on arrival in our room we had a celebratory personalised note and cake to acknowledge our 30th wedding anniversary for which we were travelling the USA. The well appointed room (with very comfortable bed) was, I believe, by New York standards, quite spacious (let's be honest, you don't come to New York to hang in the room), staff from reception and doormen through to the domestic staff were consistently pleasant. Loved the iced water and tea in reception which we always looked forward to after our days out. We found the hotel to be whisper quiet, especially with only having 5 rooms to a floor. I did have reservations from previous reviews about the locale, but we never felt at any risk, nor saw any unsavoury people hanging around. The upside to this is that it was easy walking distance to just about everything New York had to offer, and it it couldn't be walked, the subway which we mastered was at the corner of the street. It was also easy to acces the variety of restaurants in 9th Ave/Hells Kitchen vicinity. We had several breakfasts and one dinner at the Collage restaurant. Unfortunately we found the service to be a bit hit and miss depending on who was working. The breakfasts were great and good value, but a little disappointed with the one dinner we had there. I would (and have) recommended The Distrikt to anyone wanting what I believe to be a good value, comfortable and well located accommodation when staying in the Big Apple.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_AustraliaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit on TripAdvisor! We love when guests contact us with any questions prior to arrival, allowing us to assist when we can. We were thrilled to celebrate your special occasion with you and are glad it was a pleasant way to start your (delayed) stay. Thanks for the your appreciation of our rooms, amenities and location...and we have taken note regarding the spotty service in Collage. We are revamping our hours and staffing, and hope that this solution will allow the restaurant to shine in our guests' eyes. We truly appreciate the recommendation and hope we will welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a auperb location for exploring New York. It is within easy walking distance from Times Square, Broadway, 5th Avenue, Hells Kitchen and the list goes on. The rooms are clean and spacious and a great view of the Empire State Building from ours. We had breakfast included and would recommend it. Food was great, staff very friendly and takes the pain out of looking for somewhere to go. Highly recommend this hotel, especially for its location and if I ever come back to New York I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation and review of Distrikt! We do hope you will return to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing