We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent room and value in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent room and value in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent service. Excellent room appointments (room coffee, NY Times, wifi included). Food and service for breakfast was very good and a good value. Convenient to local establishments and public transportation. Loved the cucumber-infused water and raspberry tea in the lobby! We got a discount when we booked through an online service, so this was a great value. Only complaint might be that the room was a bit small, lacking desk and closet space.

Room Tip: One of the five rooms per floor is the smallest. Try to get one of the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing Distrikt and for taking advantage of our online discount! We are grateful for your review and are pleased you enjoyed our amenities and hope to welcome you back in the future...perhaps in one of our larger rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,310
    1,252
    228
    30
    15
See reviews for
920
2,468
223
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Boldon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner visited this hotel in November 2012 for 7 nights and we couldn't find many faults with this hotel. Always greeted when leaving and entering hotel, with complimentary hot cider, staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. We dined here for breakfast and tea and both times the food was very tasty and better than some of the authentic cafe's and deli's we went into. The only thing I could fault was the view which was basically of the hotel across from us, but we could see the Empire State Building and I'm pretty sure the rooms on the top floors had great views. I found the location excellent and is just a few blocks away from Times Square but far enough away from the hustle and bustle of it. The street the hotel is situated on does have a parole office and a xxx shop but we never felt intimated by this and we never saw any suspicious people hanging round so don't let this put you off, and if anything it was humorous to us. Great access to the subway too. We would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you for your review for your November stay! We are very happy you enjoyed our service and amenities, and appreciate you sharing on Trip Advisor. We would love to welcome you back and to introduce you to one of our Grand View rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My Daughter asked to go to NYC. She is about to enter a BFA program in costume design so she was very excited to have a first visit to the fabric stores of the garment district. Distrikt Hotel was a perfect location for all of our fabric shopping as well as other NYC excursions. The room was very clean, the staff was extremely helpful and cheerful. We were always sent off with helpful suggestions on restaurants as well as cool beverages in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jilltravelerFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Wow...thank you for including Distrikt in such wonderful company! We appreciate you sharing your experience and your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

The experience of the Distrikt from start to finish was fantastic. We were upgraded to a king superior room even before we got there simply because my friend had tweeted them to say she couldn't wait for her visit. A further tweet from them a week or so before our arrival said that they had a special surprise for us....which turned out to be probably their best room for the view of the Empire State Building. We also had two chocolate brownies waiting for us in the room.
Overall the hotel was very clean and fresh and the staff were very accomodating and happy to meet any needs we had. I would highly recommend this for it's standard and also for the great location...two blocks from Times Square.

Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carrigan55fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
It's so much fun for us to communicate with our guests before they arrive, and we thank you both for giving us that chance! We appreciate your recommendation and are glad we were able to make your stay a lovely one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

I've stayed in hotels from Paris, London, New York, Bali, Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane... and this would rank pretty close to the top.

Located on 40th st, between 8th and 9th Ave, it is walking distance to Times Square. The subway is at the end of the street, the Port Authority (major transit centre) is across the street.

The team are fantasic. Great air conditioned room, huge queen sized bad, big clean bathroom... nice bar.

Great views (glimpes) of the Hudson and Empire State Building from my room, 2203.

I'm definately coming again next year.

Green Features: They change the sheets every two days if you are staying. However, you can elect not to have the sheets changed if you wish. Same with towels. Just hang them up and they will re-fold them and you can use them again.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrGee1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for including Distrikt in such wonderful company, and for sharing your experience! We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
regina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel rocked. It was in a great location...
It was close to Time Square and the restaurants are everywhere.It was close to the Subway.
The free water and ice T in the lobby were so nice after being so hot after walking all day.
The rooms were clean and I would recommend this hotel to families and couples..
Drinks from their lounge were crazy expensive $10 a beer so may want to buy your own..
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saskatchewanRegina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We appreciate your review and recommendation of Distrikt! We do hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on the first leg of our honeymoon, and it is in a fantastic location within walking distance of Times Square and Madison Square Garden. The hotel is also located in close proximity to both the subway and bus services. The staff were very courteous and professional. We stayed in a Grand View King room which was located in the north-west corner of the 29th floor. The room had a tasteful modern decor. The air conditioning was a must have for NYC in July. There were only 5 rooms on our floor which was handy as noise did carry from the corridor area at times, including from the utility closet which was located immediately adjacent our room. Wifi was complimentary which is a must have for us in order to research places to go eat, attractions, etc. Overall a well located boutique hotel which we would recommend to others travelling to NYC.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thrawn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are honored that you chose Distrikt for such an important stay, and for your personal recommendation. Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,783 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing