We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked this hotel based in large part on its high rating on Trip Advisor (and on a deal that we found available) - and we were not disappointed. For once a hotel lived up to (and exceeded) our expectations. The staff were all very helpful and friendly - plus we were pleasantly surprised by the delicious chocolate mousse cake and Happy Birthday note for my wife that we found upon our arrival in the room. Its always those little extras that count.

The room itself - clean and modern. Bed was comfy, bathroom was nice & modern, and best of all for Manhattan hotel room - it was so blessedly quiet. The last time we were in NY we stayed at a Marriot on Lexington and sleep was next to impossible with the cabbies communicating via their horns all night long. So the Distrikt's "quiet room" really lived up to its billing. Sure, there was no view to speak of, and the street its on is slightly seedy - but its in a great location (we walked virtually everywhere - and all you had to do was walk a couple of blocks for a great view in Times Square) - and getting a good nights sleep while on vacation - priceless.

All in all - a great experience at the Distrikt hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TO_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for selecting Distrikt for your special trip and for passing on your recommendation to fellow TripAdvisor readers. We are grateful for your comments about the birthday note, the team loves to know that they made a difference! We couldn't ask for a better review of our rooms and thank you again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,316
    1,255
    228
    30
    15
See reviews for
922
2,474
224
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here, very nice hotel, clean and comfortable, good central location.The staff werevery friendly and helpfull. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here the next time I visit NY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for both choosing Distrikt and for recommending us to other Trip Advisor readers! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I had very high expectations of the Distrikt Hotel based on the enthusiastic reviews on Trip Advisor. It is certainly a nice hotel and every any aspect of my recent stay was quite satisfactory. However, I expected something really special from one of the most positively reviewed hotels in New York City--and it wasn't special.

We definitely wanted a hotel in the Times Square area, and the Distrikt fits the bill. I was quite excited to get a room on one of the very highest floors in the building, but I was a bit disappointed to find that most of the view consisted of the parking lot on the roof of the Port Authority bus terminal. Granted, we had views of the river to the left and parts of Times Square to the right, but it certainly wasn't a view that made me go, "Wow!"

The room was perfectly serviceable, probably larger than average by New York City standards (but certainly not large). The bathroom was clean and modern, and the bed was comfortable--but again, nothing really out of the ordinary. The location was fantastic in that it was an easy walk to Times Square and numerous restaurants and shops. However, I didn't really like the block on which the Distrikt is located. When you walk from Times Square, you have to pass a couple of peep shows (didn't know those still existed--I thought Guiliani and Disney had run them all out of the area), and there were always some unsavory characters hanging around on the street. Walking uptown to the Broadway theaters meant passing the Port Authority, which featured similar unsavory characters.

The front desk staff of the Distrikt is unfailingly friendly, but I found their demeanor at times a bit forced, in particular the cheery "Welcome back" they bellowed every time we walked into the lobby. (Maybe most tourists like that touch, but I didn't.) However, I have to say that they were extremely helpful in recommending dining options and helping to explain the rather confusing New York subway system and mapping out routes to some of the major tourist destinations. I should note that the lobby is really, really narrow, which meant that it took only a couple of families standing around to create a traffic jam (which was often the case).

Some people might find that I'm nitpicking. However, I paid about $350 for my room, and at that price I truly expected something more than a basically ordinary hotel. Perhaps I'm unrealistic when it comes to the prices of hotel rooms in New York during the tourist season, but next time I'm going to try somewhere different. As you will note, though, I'm giving the Distrikt four stars, since I really had no major complaints. If I had paid half as much for my room and had not been expecting one of the best hotels in Manhattan, I'm sure I would have give it five stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbpld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We appreciate the fairness of your rating and review of Distrikt. Truthfully, it is our service and amenities that resonate with our guests, and I believe why we have been so well received and reviewed. Thank you for giving us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

First visit to New York, so pleased with the comfort and hospitality that the hotel offered.
Food, excellent.
Rooms, spacious and comfortable.
All staff go out of their way to make your stay so memorable. Special mention to Hugo at the desk, Francis in the lobby and Anthony in the dining room, thanks for everything!
Would recommend this hotel for all the above reasons and for its central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and recommendation on TripAdvisor. Most of all, thank you for your kind acknowledgment of our team! They will all be very happy to have been mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Distrikt Hotel was absolutely perfect for our stay! It was our first trip to NY and the Distrikt hotel helped make it as perfect as it was!The staff were always friendly greeting as each time they seen us. They were ALL so happy to help with any questions we had. The room was always tidy and clean.Great location, not far from anything you could need or want.Perfect!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are very glad we were able to make your trip even more special with service! We appreciate you taking the time to mention us on TripAdvisor, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

5 schoolfriends stayed at the Distrikt Hotel for 4 nights in April celebrating our big 50's. Staff really friendly. Rooms clean & comfy beds. Not far to walk to Times Square. Had an Ab Fab time in New York & would defo recommend the Distrikt Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisB1162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Some guests make us as happy as we make them! We were so glad you chose us for your celebration and that we think you should come back every year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I've been registered on here for a good while but never written a review before. However, I felt compelled to write one for the Distrikt after my recent stay there.

The experience of the Distrikt from start to finish was fantastic. We were upgraded to a king superior room even before we got there simply because my friend had tweeted them to say she couldn't wait for her visit. A further tweet from them a week or so before our arrival said that they had a special surprise for us....which turned out to be probably their best room for the view of the Empire State Building. We also had two chocolate brownies waiting for us in the room.

We were welcomed on arrival by the friendly staff and offered a nice ice tea whilst we checked in. The check in was speedy and useful information was provided to us. The front desk staff were always polite and friendly.Even the doorman/security/bouncers were very friendly whenever we passed by rececption.

Our room was tidy and very stylish throughout. The bathroom being nicely set out and very very clean. The towels were changed on alternative days with the maid (Lydia) coming in every day to make the beds, tidy up and also leave a chocolate treat and a weather card showing the forecast for the next day. A New York Times was slipped under the door each morning too.

The two lifts/elevators had nice decor and didn't cause any waiting around despite some reviews on here to the contrary.

The front of the hotel also boasts an area for you to use the Mac computers if needed. Although we didn't really use them due to the complimentary free wifi that the hotel offers.

On checking out, we were able to leave our bags in a safe area so that we could still enjoy the streets of NYC before our evening flight. We were also given one of the keycards to keep as a memento as we left which was a nice touch.

Overall the hotel was very clean and fresh and the staff were very accomodating and happy to meet any needs we had. I would highly recommend this for it's standard and also for the great location...two blocks from Times Square.

Thanks for the lovely stay.

5 out of 5 from me!!!

Room Tip: The best rooms for the views are on the back of the hotel. We were in room 2903 (29th floor and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel Times Square, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We are so pleased that we earned your review! We love being able to communicate with our guests prior to their arrival and hope others follow your example. We appreciate your recognition of our team's efforts and for remembering Lydia...she will be thrilled to read her name here. Thank you for choosing Distrikt and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,789 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing