We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our first time, will recommend to all our friends, cannot think of anything but huge compliments!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Perfect for our first time, will recommend to all our friends, cannot think of anything but huge compliments!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Writing this in bed at the Distrikt, our last day of a perfect birthday week!
Will write in full when we get home
What a wonderful hotel, staff , amenities and, wait for it. - superb location for first time on NYC

Need to get out to spend my last dollars before heading home.
xxx

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRileysCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment during your trip to send a note! We are so happy to have been able to celebrate with you! Go Shop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,507
    1,361
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,027
2,608
246
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,050)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was my first ever trip to NYC and booked the Distrikt based on reviews read here. I have to say I was not at all disappointed. The room was a little smaller than others I've stayed in in the US, but it was by no means small. The beds were comfortable with ample pillows and cushions. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. I loved the turn-down service complete with chocolates and the next days weather forecast. The bar/dining room was very pleasant. The bar was well stocked. All the staff were absolutely excellent - Really friendly and helpful. They always had time to greet you and even chat. This Distrikt is a boutique hotel rather than a large, grand affair, but it is well situated - just 10 mins walk to Times Square (less if you walk like a New Yorker!). There's a subway just up the street that will get you uptown, and there are plently of bars, restuarants and broadway theatres close by. The room has free wi-fi which was a bonus. I really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend the Distrikt.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, as are rooms at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you so very much for listening to fellow Trip Advisor users and booking Distrikt! We are beyond pleased that we were able to live up to your expectations and that the team made your first time in NYC a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for 10 nights to celebrate my 21st birthday and an anniversary. Absolutely amazing. Words can't express! Best hotel I've stayed in. Staff went above and beyond to make our stay special including a hand written card and a couple of cakes for our anniversary! Special thanks to Hugo for recommending a nice place to eat and welcoming us so well. Fab attention to detail. Room was clean and modern. Loved the bath robe and the lovely bath goodies. My boyfriend loved the coffee machine in the room so much he's gonna get one for us. Great location right next to 9th avenue loads of lovely restaurants. Central enough to walk to most places. Definitely book this hotel - would come back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Higher floor is better. We stayed on 26 and not much noise so I'd ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Brilliant - optional every other day sheet change and also optional when you change your towels.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We like your instructions! Thank you for your lovely review of Distrikt, we were excited to share in your special celebration and are so very glad you enjoyed the amenities and service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I arrived exhausted and upset. I was pampered and treated like a king! I got over my mood and enjoyed my stay like none other.
The hotel is great in most all ways: giant comfortable bed, very clean room, well stocked, and very well maintained. But the people there are the simply the best I've ever seen before in NYC. Not only friendly and extremely competent; but also able to anticipate my needs and help me enjoy my visit even more. I will continue to go back for the simple reason that there is no need to compromise. They just do it all and they do it right!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babe_from_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
There is nothing better than hearing how we were able to make a bumpy arrival to NYC smooth after some Distrikt TLC! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we truly appreciate you sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem. Sure, it's not the fanciest place in town but who goes to NYC to kick around their hotel? Staff are great, very welcoming, and full of recommendations of places to eat, drink etc. We had a Grandview king room which was a good size, bed was very comfy and the shower fantastic. We didn't sample the food in the hotel so can't comment on that. We felt perfectly safe walking in the neighbourhood around the hotel and its location is perfect to explore the city. Wifi was free and very fast. Thank you Distrikt!

Room Tip: Go for as high a floor as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirehornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We appreciate you staying with us and for recognizing our amazingly wonderful team and amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in March 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The communal areas are very well presented, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and our room was really nice - clean, modern, decent size and a tea/coffee machine in the room was a great bonus.

Free use of Internet and free printing in the reception area was handy as we needed to print off various tickets.

The location is great, a great starting point for heading out in all directions across Manhattan, and close to all the transport links. The street itself isn't wonderful as there's a sex shop and parole office a few buildings along, but we never ever felt unsafe (that goes for the whole city as well as our street) so don't let that put you off.

The only negatives (and I'm scraping the barrel here!) were that the view from our window was directly facing another high-rise building (we'd unrealistically hoped for a decent view across the city!) but we spent so little time in the room that it didn't matter, and also our shower head was a bit broken so water squirted in all directions including out of the shower cubicle. If we had mentioned it to reception I'm sure they'd have fixed it or moved us but it just wasn't that much of a problem, so they're not going to lose any points over that!

This hotel definitely deserves all of it's great reviews, I would recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We are quite pleased that we were able to make your stay a pleasant one, and that you found our amenities helpful. We wish we could give everyone amazing views, but unfortunately that's not always possible. If you do return to us, please let us know so we can guide you to our Grandview rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently made my 3rd stay at this hotel and I continue to be impressed. This 3rd stay was for my 40th Birthday and the whole stay was fantastic.

Having stayed twice before, I was keen to see if the high level of service was maintained and I can honestly say that it is. Being back at this hotel was a pleasure from the moment we checked in until the day we left. The staff at the Distrikt are very professional and clearly love being part of this amazing hotel.

We had a City View room on the 26th Floor with views out to the Hudson. The room was of a generous size, with ample room for two people and the beds are so comfortable. As this stay was for my birthday, a birthday treat was waiting for us in our room on arrival, which was a lovely and enjoyable surprise.

A very warm welcome upon arrival and many a welcome back from staff that remembered us from last years visit, which was totally amazing given the number of guests that must pass though in a year. We were always greeted with a smile whenever we pass by the front desk with either a "Have a nice day" or a "Welcome Back".

Some reviews have commented negatively about the location of the hotel and that it is in an undesirable street, however, I have never felt any unease or concerns about the location and walking to the hotel at any time of day was never a problem.

I have recommended staying here to friends and I will not hesitate to stay here again when I next return to New York.

In my opinion, this is a great hotel in a great location and if you are contemplating staying here, don't hesitate, go ahead,and book.

Green Features: The hotel is very environmentally focused using renewable energy and it's policies on linen reuse assist with limiting the impact on the environment.
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyleGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
I hope I can respond when you review us after 20 years! Thank you so much for your loyalty and for spending your special day with us. We are especially grateful for your interaction on Facebook! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
1,007 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
384 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
5,140 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,832 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#22 of 467 in New York City
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing