We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #65 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 8 nights in NYC mid February (2013). We arrived to the best service we've received in all our travels (Hugo especially). He was extremely friendly and informative. We arrived late at night and he advised us on where to eat, how to get around and also looked up a restaurant we were keen on and gave us travel directions for our plans the next day. On many occasions he organised a cab for us and made sure everything was okay for us. The lobby always had hot cider available ( which being Australians we had never had and was very welcomed in the winter cold) and also a few iMacs available to use.
Moving up to our room we were pleased. Although a bit smaller than some other places we had stayed at it was spacious enough and very tidy, clean and modern.
Everyday the people at the lobby desk were very friendly and greeted us by name.
Location wise it was perfect for us. Extremely close to the port authority terminal and times square which gets you anywhere in New York with a cheap cab ride or by the metro.
Overall, our stay was very enjoyable and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to NYC. It played a big role in making our NYC visit so amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rebekah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We are very grateful that out of all the choices in NYC, you chose Distrikt for your special NYC trip. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for personally mentioning Hugo's amazingness (we had to invent a word for how fantastic he is). He will be thrilled to know his service impacted your stay and your recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,904 - 2,910 of 5,657 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights whilst celebrating a special birthday. I cannot fault this hotel, it was simply fantastic. From the receptionist staff, doorman, waiters, waitresses to the cleaners, each and everyone of them was delight and could not have been friendlier. The hotel was modern, clean and had everything that you could possibly need or want from a City hotel. Location was also perfect just a couple of blocks from Times Square with subway and bus stations very close by.
Thanks to all at the Distrikt Hotel for making our stay perfect and for the added special touches you provided to mark the special occasion.
Can't recommend the place highly enough and would not hesitate to book when we visit New York again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up. We were on 28th floor with views of the empire state building. Couldn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda1978_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Team Distrikt likes nothing better than celebrating with our guests and were thrilled we could share your special occasion with you! Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights in November 2012. This is a small and basic hotel and if I remember correctly, only 5 rooms per floor. Rooms were a bit small but adequate for two people. The bed was very comfortable and the room was cleaned everyday. This hotel is at the back of the Transport Authority building, so almost every taxi driver knew where it was. Around 5 minutes' walk to Times Square. Two Metro exits a few hundred meters down the road and there was a huge grocery store/supermarket nearby. I couldn't have picked a better-located hotel at the price I got. Breakfast, however, wasn't included in the price but one could get breakfast from the lobby cafe or just buy something from the supermarket. Room wall insulation was good as I couldn't hear any neighbors, although there was a howling sound coming through the windows, perhaps due to the wind. The free warm coffee and apple cider drink at the lobby made me feel "at home" and very much welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We are so glad you didn't forget your experience at Distrikt and shared it with your fellow Trip Advisor readers! Thank you very much for your recommendation, it is very gratifying to know your stay was a pleasant one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed at Distrikt for our first trip to NYC in April 2013 and would definitely stay here again.

The hotel is in a great location, only a few minutes walk from Times Square and right beside the bus station and tube stop.

For me, it was 'the little things' that made Distrikt stand out. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful. We contacted them in advance via their Facebook page and they replied quickly and personally, making recommendations about places to go during our trip and noting our request for a room on a higher floor (we were on the 29th of their 32 floors).

When we arrived the concierge took the bags to our room while the ever jolly Hugo checked us in and chatted to us about sights, shopping and restaurants. He had a wealth of information and clearly tailored his suggestions based on what we'd told him we liked which was great.

The reception area is small but is well appointed, with seating, three free access computers (with free printing facilities, great for checking in to your homeward flight! ) and a complimentary drinks table with coffee in the morning and a cool drink in the afternoon and evening.

The housekeeping service was excellent. The rooms are turned down daily, with chocolates left each day and towels and complimentary toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, body wash, exfoliating soap and facial soap, all good quality) replenished as needed. It's worth noting that you cannot use the minibar fridge to store your own snacks etc, in fact you can't even open the drawers in it without incurring a charge, although we never felt the need to use it.

The hotel has front and rear facing rooms. We had a rear facing one which looked downtown - either way you have to look to either side and down the street to see the views, but the front facing ones would be better than the rear. We had no problems with Street noise. the fact that you use your key to operate the lifts means that only people staying on your floor will ever be there, so with only 5 rooms per floor is very quiet indoors too.

The rooms are well decorated and quite spacious for NYC, we had a 'superior king' room and it was exactly as we expected from their website. The bedlinen was good quality and fresh and the air conditioning worked very well. The room had a 37 inch lcd tv and an alarm clock radio with an ipod dock (for your own ipod or iphone). There's adequate clothes storage in 4 drawers and a single wardrobe, which also stores an ironing board and iron. There were at least 4 decent sized towels in the bathroom and a hairdryer - I also noticed a note in the guest book on the side table that offers extra items such as toothbrushes etc should you need them .

The reception team are very helpful and friendly, calling out to say hello and goodbye each time you pass. I was ill during our stay (not the hotels fault! ) and the lovely Hugo seemed genuinely concerned when he realised, offering to get anything I might need, including offering to go to the local pharmacy for us - entirely above and beyond the call of duty, and a very appreciated offer of kindness which really sums up what makes Distrikt special - attention to detail and attention to people - a really lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher for, to the front of the hotel if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Not only are we thrilled you found us, but also that you reached out to us before your stay on Facebook! We always love interacting with future guests, and it's especially great to find out any special needs, events or wishes before you walk in our door! Hugo will be grateful for the recognition, as well as the Room Attendants and all the staff! There are so many helpful mentions in your review, we thank you for taking the time to let your fellow Trip Advisor readers know of your experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Distrikt Hotel at the end of March 2013, with our two children aged 14 and 11. The hotel was great. Excellent location and the staff could not have been more helpful.
We chose the hotel having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed.
Only comment would be that the room was fairly small for four people sharing, but that was as expected in New York.

Room Tip: We had a room on a higher floor and the views were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cas97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We are very grateful to your fellow reviewers for helping lead you to our doors! Thank you for returning the favor by sharing your experience with us. We are glad to have been part of your family trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We wanted to be walking distance to theaters, and this was a great location - not directly on Times Square, but just 15 minutes away. Felt very safe walking. We were usually in by 11:00 and there were lots of people around, and it's well lit. Subway station at the corner of the block, and we used this line to go both uptown and downtown without any transfers. We used it to go to the Metropolitan Museum but that involves a walk across Central Park (which was nice but don't walk on the street that passes through due to the traffic - it's easy to find a walking path through to the other side since you can see the buildings you are heading to).

Staff was excellent. They gave us great restaurants to try and were good to provide directions and hints for navigating the subway. Hugo remembered our names and always asked about our day. He gave us a $20 gift card to the restaurant since we were Choice awards members. Room was small but nicely appointed. Very comfy bed and pillows. Nice sheets and towels. Modern bath but small with a shower only - we had a standard queen room and liked the shower, but if you expect a tub, you need to ask about it. There are only 5 or 6 rooms on a floor. We were on 22nd floor and did not hear any street noise up that high. We could hear folks in the hall, but since there aren't many rooms, it really wasn't a problem. We got a government employee rate which made this a good deal (relatively for the location) but certainly not cheap. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a high floor to minimize street noise. Ask about a tub if that's important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KnoxJimily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so very much for choosing Distrikt Hotel and for your review! We love welcoming Choice Privileges members and appreciate your loyalty! The team (especially Hugo) will be so grateful to have been recognized for being helpful. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Distrikt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived after a long flight from Las Vegas, the room was on the 27th floor (out of 32 floors), there is only 5 rooms on each floor and 2 lifts.

The whole look, feel and ambience of this hotel is just that of beauty and comfort. Our room was beautiful, I had read reviews and expected a box, but it's really very roomy, but then I'm someone who unpacks and uses the wardrobes and drawers. The air con was fantastic, black out curtains on the windows, the bed was amazing - we slept in some days to lunchtime, just down to pure comfort and quietness! Bathroom is small, but again plenty of room for spreading my makeup about. Now the shower! We've decided we want one in our house, it was fantastic, huge shower, hot water, huge water pressure!

The staff are fab, everyone makes a real effort to speak to you and really couldn't be more helpful. On arrival we had brownies greet us in our room, then 15 minutes later some cheesecakes arrived with a note to the happy couple. During one day of rain, they provided us with complimentary umbrellas, that where great quality too. On the day we were leaving, la guardia closed re a suspect device and our car service that had been booked wouldn't come and get us, the staff here organised their own car to bring us to the airport. I didn't realise they offered that service, so if you need lifted at the airport on arrival contact them before hand and make use of this service also!! we ate in the hotel on our first night, just had burgers but they were lovely and wedges instead of fries were delicious. Really recommend a cocktail called the soho, $12 a drink but that's normal in all the bars we realised

Ok so for some general info, the subway is literally at the end of the street, 30 seconds walk away. 9th avenue to the left when you exit the hotel has some lovely wee cafes, restaurants and the like. Times square is 5 mins away, prob not even actually. It's 2 blocks away, bryant park a 10 minute walk and Macy's probably about the same.

This was my first visit to New York and we walked most places, we will definately be back and I won't even consider staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, on the upper floors, we were in 2705 and it was super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yayamally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

The entire team of Distrikt will be thrilled to read that they helped make your very special trip even better! Thank you for taking the time to recognize their efforts and to share your experience on Trip Advisor! We look forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#101 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#72 of 473 in New York City
1,180 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
479 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 473 in New York City
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $174 - $446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening to rave reviews in early 2010, Distrikt Hotel New York City - is a one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of the Midtown West, Times Square area. The Distrikt hotel towers 32 stories tall and offers guests a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. Our exceptional hospitality and customer service has launched Distrikt to be one of the highest rated hotels in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing