We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, boutique hotel close to Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great, boutique hotel close to Times Square”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A small, but extremely convenient hotel. Ideally located just two blocks from Times Square, so not as busy and not disturbed by any traffic noise at night. The staff were very friendly and helpful and remembered our names. Free coffee and hot apple cider, a nice touch. Travelling with two children, I can confirm that we did not feel unsafe at anytime, even when walking back after dark. A great find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisejan1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of Distrikt! The team will appreciate the recognition of their service. We are so pleased to have earned your family's vacation choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,493
    1,356
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,020
2,600
245
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I spent a weekend at this hotel and was really charmed. The staff, as mentioned in other reviews, are terrific--friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was larger than I had expected, which was a nice surprise. The in-room coffee maker was certainly a plus. The room and bathroom were spotless, and the water pressure in the shower was excellent. The hotel is located on a street behind the Port Authority. The street itself is a little rough in parts, but I was happy to be in a part of NYC not gentrified to death. Steps from the subway make the location great for access to other parts of the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and will most likely stay there again when visiting NYC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Distrikt! We are very pleased to have exceeded your expectations and appreciate the mention of our wonderful staff. We are grateful for your recommendation both on Trip Advisor and to your friends and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed here for business for about a week.

The room was clean and well appointed, and about average size for a NYC hotel room at this price (with room for an actual writing desk). There was no mini-fridge in my room, which was a downside, but there was a coffee maker and ironing board. There was also free coffee and/or apple cider available in the lobby, which is a nice touch, as well as computers for printing. I didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, so can't comment on the food.

Location is both a positive and a negative. The hotel is very convenient to major subway lines, the bus station, and Penn station. However, it isn't a particularly scenic part of town and the dining options in the immediate surrounding blocks aren't great. Obviously, it is easy to hop on a train or walk a few more blocks out -- but for hectic business travel, this may make a difference to some.

Finally, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makeittso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of Distrikt! We are very glad that you enjoyed our decor and amenities, and appreciate your view of our eclectic and changing neighborhood. We do hope you will return to us in the future, and when you do please remind us of your preference for a mini-fridge...we'll deliver one to your room at no extra charge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is probably the first time when I cannot think of anything negative about the hotel. Its location is excellent close to Times Square, and as its quite new, the room was very nice and comfortable as well as clean and spacious. Stuff was very friendly. It was excellent value for money but I think we go quite nice offer for our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leena152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the high praise of Distrikt. Your recommendation is humbling and very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked Distrikt hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. I liked the look of the modern decor and their prices seemed reasonable considering the proximity to Times Square. We got a really good deal by prepaying upfront and couldn't wait to spend 9 nights at Distrikt Hotel. Before we arrived, I got amazing service from them, they guided me through the process of catching a subway from the airport to the hotel, very cost effective any easy. When you walk through the lobby, it is bright and airy and smells so good!

Our room was small- not tiny but quite small. It had everything we needed- a small fridge, coffee machine and clean, modern furniture. The bathroom was also fine for our needs. Quite honestly when in NYC you really just go back to the hotel to crash because you are on your feet all day!

We bought the New York Pass which saved us alot of money. All the main attractions are in close proximity to Distrikt, with subway stations also close by. Times square is amazing when you first go there, but after the second or third time it becomes a bit too busy and you actually try to avoid it. This is why I say that Distrikt is a great choice for First timers, but if I were to go to NYC again I'd rather stay in Chelsea or Soho so I could get a more authentic NYC experience without all the touristy attractions close to Times Square.

The hotel offers breakfast for $15, but you can get a cheaper and delicious breakfast at many of the establishments close by- Dean and Deluca was our favourite!
Also, Woodbury Commons is a MUST for shopping- we spent an entire day there, make sure you take a suitcase. Guess, Armani, Burberry, GAP, Hugo Boss etc all at a fraction of the normal cost. IT is an hour away from NYC and the bus leaves from the Port Authority Station which is just across the road from Distrikt.

Highly recommended, as usual Trip Advisor didn't let us down.

Room Tip: A higher floor gets you a bit of a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hasmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so appreciative to your fellow Trip Advisor reviewers for bringing you to our door! We are very pleased we were able to be a great home base while you explored the city and beyond!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and had no complaints with this hotel.
Our room was spotlessly clean and serviced well daily. It was an average size but space to comfortably move around despite a lot of luggage for an onward trip. The bed was very comfortable with quality bed linen. The shower was excellent with great water pressure and constant hot water, pleasant toiletries and a good hair dryer.
There was a coffee machine in the room which is not common in nyc, and supplies were topped up daily.
We had requested a higher floor with views of either the river or Empire State Building, we were given all of the above!
The staff were exceptionally friendly and always greeted you on passing and were helpfull with any requests.
Location is good for broadway and time square and close to the subway.
There is a lot of choice in nyc and it can be difficult to pick one hotel. For somewhere to relax from the craziness of nyc and a good night sleep, I would recommend the Distrikt, if I was being picky it's only down fall is the bar/restaurant which is quite small and lacking in any atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judid23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are very happy that you were pleased with your stay and that Distrikt met your needs during your visit! Thank you for the endorsement, and we do hope we will see you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

From getting out taxi to checking in and birthday card for my daughter what can I say about staff here. So looking forward to rest of stay. They could not be more welcoming and will recommend this hotel to friends who are coming over at Xmas

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cath1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdistrikt, General Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for choosing us for your special trip! The team loves celebrating special occasions with guests, especially birthdays! We are especially grateful for your recommendation, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
998 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#71 of 467 in New York City
383 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
5,134 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
2,826 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#26 of 467 in New York City
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing