We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and amazing staff”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just spend four nights there with my 3 brothers and 1 SIL to celebrate one birthday and one anniversary. The hotel was lovely and the staff was amazing - went way beyond polite to friendly and helpful and fun to chat with. Rooms were lovely and clean and comfortable, location was close enough to walk to our plays and the service was fabulous. Came back the first evening to find little cakes with a card for the anniversary couple and the birthday boy. The perfect mix of upscale hotel (evening turn down with chocolates, robes and luxury amenities) and Southern hospitality. I will stay here again without question and the rest of the family agrees.

Room Tip: We were on 18th and 19th floor - nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion! We're so happy that our staff "went way beyond polite to friendly and helpful and fun to chat with." We love that we were fun to chat with! We're so glad you and your family would not hesitate to return to us. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,365
    1,280
    238
    33
    15
See reviews for
946
2,507
230
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York State
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

There are plenty of other positive reviews of this hotel and they all say the same thing: really helpful and friendly staff, great location, decent-sized and well-appointed rooms. I couldn't believe that a hotel could get this many positive and so few negative reviews. Just returned from a getaway weekend in NYC and stayed at the Distrikt and all I can say is: Believe the reviews. This hotel is that good and that much of a value for NYC.

Room Tip: city view and slightly larger rooms are a bit more. Worth the premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank georgestayshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're so happy to hear that your experience reflected our positive reviews here on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your honesty and how we were able to provide a stay that let you believe in us! Thank you so much for the kind words and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We just returned from a very memorable stay at the Distrikt Hotel. There are no words to describe the exceptional service, the cleanliness of the rooms, the comfortable beds and the proximity to everything within walking distance, even in the very cold weather. The price is very reasonable for everything you get. You are very close walking distance to the Theatre district, to Times Square, and across from the Port Authority where you can hop onto a train taking you to endless areas of New York. The extra personal touch you get from this hotel's staff and the manager cannot be found in the big name hotels. Bravo to you Anna and your staff.

Room Tip: Every room is great and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catharine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
"A very memorable stay" is what we always strive to provide... so thank you for sharing your experience with us! We love to hear that our extra touches enhanced your time here. We're so happy to see that you took advantage of our central location and fully explored the neighborhood. Thank you again and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We went to our first visit of New York at the end of august 2012 and stayed for 9 nights at the Distrikt Hotel based on the reviews we read right here and I didn't regret it...not even for a nano-second! It was the perfect hotel for our trip!
---
Booking: we booked several months in advance via the internet and everything went smoothly.
---
Service and reception: my first contacts with the hotel were via e-mail and the managers tried to make our stay as memorable as possible even before we departed to New York. Very friendly and fast communication. Upon arrival and during the remainder of our stay we were always surrounded with genuinly-friendly staff...from the desk-managers, to the dining-room staff...from the lobby-staff to the cleaning-staff... They gave us a truely warm feeling and helped us with booking restaurants, comedy-shows, etc... So the reception and service was perfect!
---
Room: we stayed in a deluxe-king room on the 17th floor and the view was great. Ok it shows the Port Authority building when standing at the window, but so what...that is just one part of the picture...We slept with open curtains and had an amazing view going to sleep and waking up! The room was very spacious, modern, clean and had an amazing shower!
---
Location: it was a perfect starting and finish point for our voyage of discovery, right at the heart of Manhattan.
---
Food: upon going to New York we opted not to take the breakfast at the hotel. The first day however we decided to make life easy on ourselves and start with a breakfast at the hotel... we ended up doing it every day...need i say more?
---
Price: the price was right...true value for money in my opinion and I hope that the hotel doesn't change it's rates any higher, so it keeps attracting the same loyal Distrikt-crowd. So if anyone from the hotel is reading this piece of advice: "don't turn into something you are not...an overpriced hotel...stay true to your values!".
---
Actually I am pretty stupid to write this review, making it harder for me to get there in the future...but so what...they deserve it! If you are expecting a 5* all-inclusive carribean hotel based on these reviews then you will be let down... If you are expecting the perfect New York hotel to explore the city then seek no further!

Room Tip: Try to get an upper-room floor facing the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ach1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We love chatting with guests and getting to know them before their arrival, so thanks for reaching out! We're so happy to hear that our team was able to make your stay special. "We slept with open curtains and had an amazing view going to sleep and waking up"... What a great idea! Please stay in touch with us and we truly hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We paid 200 dollars all in per night which was a great deal for this clean, modern hotel in the perfect location for theatre, shopping and sightseeing. Tons of great restaurants in the area and the subway was close by. Very helpful and friendly staff, not pretentious at all. I would definitely stay here again. Free hot apple cider in the afternoon and evening was very welcoming in this cold weather. Did not try the restaurant. We got upgraded to a room with two beds but with a view of the port authority roof top parking lot which did not bother us! Thrilled with the upgrade as the room was very spacious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torontobelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We're very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and you found the value a great deal. Our neighborhood indeed offers a great mix of restaurants, bars, and major attractions, so it's great that you were able to take advantage of all! Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter and we'd love to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oost-Vlaanderen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

First time in NewYork.
Booked this hotel 'cause of the reviews and it seemed to be the perfect choice!
stayed for 9 nights in this hotel.
Great location, perfect service and really friendly staff who were very helpfull.
We booked a Deluxe King room and got one on the 17th floor.. great view and this room was much larger than we expected rooms to be in NY!
We took breakfast in the hotel too.. you could choose from the menu and they also had a small buffet.

bullseye for a first stay in NewYork!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VHLeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your first time in NYC! It's great to hear that your Deluxe King room was much larger than you "expected rooms to be in NY," and that we were able to make your experience a "bulls eye for a first stay in New York." Thank you again and please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Myself and three girlfriends stayed at the Distrikt from 8-13 December 2012 and we booked after reading the outstanding reviews - we were not disappointed. From the beginning to the end of our stay the staff were attentive, always pleasant and go that extra mile to ensure your stay is as enjoyable as possible.
Although when visiting New York, you tend to spend most of your time out and about, with the Distrikt you never seem in a rush to leave, we had breakfast every day as we found the quality to be excellent and we also spent 2 or 3 nights relaxing in the bar, being entertained by Anthony and his colleagues.
We stayed 'Grand View' room although our room overlooked the Port Authority building and the view was not that grand; however, the room itself was immaculate and furnished with quality fittings, with two comfortable double beds and excellent soundproofing from the hubbub below.
The building, it's location and all its facilities though are not what makes this hotel ,it is the wonderful staff and the atmosphere they create that makes you feel welcome and relaxed - just like a hotel should - we'll see you again soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
One of the best things about being part of the Distrikt crew is getting to know our guests, and it's even more wonderful when we hear that we were able to make your stay extra enjoyable. Thank you for your kind words and we'll be sure to pass them onto our staff. We very much look forward to welcoming you and your friends again in the near future! Best wishes from the Distrikt team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#29 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,906 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing