We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Everything you need” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #54 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. Great location for subway (and getting to JFK) and for walking around midtown. Staff were always very helpful with great recommendations. Rooms were spotlessly clean and large for a New York hotel room compared to my previous trips. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lcmarquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We're very glad that you discovered us on Trip Advisor and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,180
    1,171
    216
    26
    14
See reviews for
873
2,347
215
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Distrikt hotel in July 2012 for 5 nights and had an excellent stay. The staff in this hotel have the best customer service skills I have ever experienced. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they made it easy to plan our activities, access good restaurants and get the most out of our NYC trip despite difficult weather conditions. The staff also went the extra mile for helping make our mothers birthday special. As we went during the peak season it was relatively well priced at approx $280-$300 night, a good price for NYC.

We had a room on the top floor but only paid for the King bed- larger room and had a view of the empire state building. It was a good size room for NYC with a nice bathroom.We had a very good nights sleep in good AC, comfortable beds with great noise blockout and the extra touches of daily chocolate with turndowns, weather notes and upcoming events brochure. We ate only once at the restaurant but the food and cocktails were great.

The hotel is situated next to the Port authority and is relatively central, being a few blocks from Times square. I was concerned about the parolees checking in point being close by but other than a few strange comments and glares that we ignored, there were no problems. All of the top hotels have residences in this area.

Overall, a wonderful NYC hotel with exceptional customer service which we will definitely return for and highly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view of the empire state building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teamgraffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We're very happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your 5-night stay and your mother enjoyed her birthday here at Distrikt. It's so wonderful to hear that you experienced "the best customer service." We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed 8 nights beginning X-mas Eve. The reviews on the hotel location were spot on, it's central location made it so easy to reach our destinations. The room was on the small side but space seems to be a premium and you realize that while in NYC. The staff was outstanding from our arrival to the end of our stay. We asked for suggestions about restaurants and bars and the staff always pointed us in the right direction. Hugo was the best and would always ask us how things were going and making sure we enjoyed the places that had been suggested. We were made to feel very much at home !

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet, corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzales007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We're very glad to hear you "were made to feel very much at home" during your stay! Thank you for your wonderful feedback for our staff; we'll be sure to pass them on. Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for your return! Best wishes from the Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a really nice hotel. It is always very busy in the lobby but check in was swift and hassle free and the friendly staff gave us a map and some helpful tips about restaurants and bars nearby. The room was really nice, clean and quiet with a great bed. Also, the hotel left a little cake for my girlfriend for her birthday which was a really nice touch. Furthermore, the location is really good, very near Time Square and the theatre district and just up the street from the subway station which will take you all over Manhattan. Also around the corner there are lots of nice restaurants on 9th avenue. The prepaid breakfast was adequate and the staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful. Overall, as you dont spend a lot of time in your room in New York we were questioning whether it was worth spending the extra money to stay here but the answer is a definite yes as we really enjoyed our time here and it was great to return to such a nice room after the hectic sightseeing, shopping etc. We will definitely return to Distrikt Hotel when we go back to New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It's great to hear that you were able to take full advantage of our central location and proximity to transportation and attractions. We're very happy that you enjoyed your time here, and look forward to welcoming you again for your return! Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you're visiting NYC, look no further than The Distrikt - this is the place to stay. Location is the best for Times Square and for everything else you care to see in NYC - right next to the bus station, subway access just down the street, etc. We couldn't have been happier. The staff was very friendly - they made it a point to greet you every single day. The value of this hotel is hands down the best.

The only con for me was the bed - I had a very sore back waking up every single day, but I'd shrug that off before going out each day. I didn't look forward to going to bed at night - but then again, this is the city that never sleeps!

Room Tip: All rooms are virtually the same - only a few rooms per floor. The higher the better to avoid stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acdandyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We're very glad to hear that you "couldn't have been happier" during your stay at Distrikt. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the bed; guests are encouraged to approach the front desk staff at any moment during their stay so we can modify any situation. We are, however, glad to know that you had a wonderful stay otherwise. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in June 2012. Found the place on TA and its good reviews are well deserved.

Good location - Times Square a few blocks away and Subway options nearby.

Surprising amount of space in the room (for a NY hotel!) - we were travelling through with 4 cases, and we still weren't cramped in the room.

Friendly staff, good efficient check-in and check-out, and useful local hints and tips.

Would definitely recommend as a 'budget' option, without feeling that we were compromising on comfort, location or space.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We're very happy that you discovered us through Trip Advisor and you enjoyed your stay! It's great to hear that the "surprising amount of space in the room" provided comfort during your time here. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Please contact us directly next time so we can provide you with our best rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

The location is brilliant. Rooms are a good size, clean, well furnished and the bed is the most comfortable i've ever slept in. Seriously, they are THAT good!
The reception staff were very very helpful in printing out a guide to the holiday markets, skating rinks etc.
Can't rate this place highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filly26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We're so happy to hear our bed was "the most comfortable" you've ever slept in! It's great to know the room provided absolute comfort during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#77 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#49 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#60 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing