We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #50 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best place ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a great little hotel this is! Quaint and very nicely decorated. Staff was amazing. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Nesha ( hope I have her name right!) was so fun and helpful. Even had brownies waiting for us upon check in and a birthday cake for me! Great location due to its proximity to Hell's Kitchen and subway station. I want to stay here next time I'm in NYC,

Only con: needs bathroom fan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank THo127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very thrilled to hear that we were able to make your birthday even more special. Thank you for your feedback for our staff, we'll be sure to pass this on. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,133
    1,136
    206
    25
    14
See reviews for
861
2,293
214
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The staff at Distrikt Hotel absolutely made our stay faultless. Front desk staff are sooooooo friendly and helpful - it's like they are personal friends. The porters are really nice guys too. OUr room was kept exceptionally clean by cleaning staff. We have only travelled to NY once before and stayed at a grotty Best Western in midtown. The Distrikt was streets ahead on all aspects. We liked the location: so close to Times Square and 9th avenue has a huge number of eating places plus a full servicen laundrette close by. Very comfy beds, quiet for sleeping at night, clean, lovely welcome in lobby everytime we came in and knowledgeable staff. They provide a pass to use a gym 2 streets away and it had excellent gear. We all loved the hot apple cider in the foyer in the afternoon and evening - a lovely touch when coming in from the cold. Thanks to everyone at the Distrikt. You rock more than the Rockettes (if that's possible).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelicityJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for your stay in New York City. It's wonderful to hear that you felt the staff was very friendly, helpful, and personal. We're very happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and amenities as well. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for when you return to NYC. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just returned from 5 hight stay at Distrikt Hotel and have to confirm that it has to be one of the best in NYC. Location,staff,room, all superb,resturant & bar while limited choice is good value and pleasant surroundings.We aked to be moved after first night as room on 2nd floor was next to extractor systems on kitchen roof and was noisey. Staff were very helpful...returned after day out luggage moved to room on 17th floor which was very peaceful.Reception arranged return car to JFK and at $10 more than NY taxi this is great value.
No hesitation in recommending .

Room Tip: HigherRooms at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordie 123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're so happy to hear that you felt Distrikt "has to be one of the best in NYC." We appreaciate your approaching our front desk with concerns regarding your first room, and we're glad that we were able to efficiently provide a room more suited to your liking. Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter, and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've just returned from the Christmas atmosphere of New York and our stay at the Distrikt. All previous reviews seem to rate the hotel but not the immediate environment. We loved both. We asked for a room more to the top of the hotel and got the 32nd top floor. Perfect. The room was adequate for our needs and we stayed for 8 nights and didn't feel uncomfortable at all. A large bed, a 37" tv, very good heating and enough storage for our clothing and kept very clean everyday. All desk staff were helpful, courteous and friendly and in the lobby there was a free coffee machine in the mornings and mulled cider in the afternoon.
The hotel lies between 7th and 8th Avenues. On the opposite side of the street is the blank wall of the Port Authority Bus Station and just down the road is the parole office. A queue forms there in the mornings but it is not threatening. You're within easy walking distance of Times Square, the Rockafella Center etc but I also liked heading in the opposite direction to 9th Avenue where you are in perhaps more of the real New York and where there's a whole range of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKSPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Distrikt experience with us. We're very glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It seems that you were able to fully take advantage of our central and convenient location and our amenities, and you were able to get to know our staff; it's wonderful to hear that all these elements enhanced your holiday. Please keep in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for your return. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

After a long search for something affordable and yet in a fantastic location, we stumbled upon the Distrikt Hotel. Upon first glance the hotel is smaller than alot of others surrounding it, however it was of no concern and hardly effected the room size. After a small hiccup involving the room keys (which the receptionists was very apologetic for) we arrived in our room which I expected to be small after reading TA reviews, however this was not the case and the room (twin double) was exactly what we were after for the 5 nights we were in Manhattan, extremely comfortable double bed, decent size bathroom and TV and free wifi (with excellent connection). We were located on the 11th floor and the room faced the bus station across the street, no problem with traffic noise whatsoever and we enjoyed 5 nights of good sleep. The rooms were cleaned to an excellent standard everyday that we were out and overall the staff have a very casual feel about them, yet maintained very professional with all queries and issues. The only small worry was the two lifts that on our first day we waited upwards of 5 minuets for one (two lifts, 32 floors, alot of people) however was not an issue for the rest of the stay. Overall fantastic experience staying at this hotel, why would I want to try anywhere else? Great location, great value, great accomodation, can't go wrong, will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJF93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt after reading Trip Advisor reviews. We're very glad to hear that you had a "fantastic experience" and that you felt DIstrikt offered "great location, great value, great accommodation." We look forward to staying in touch with you (Facebook or Twitter are great ways) so we can offer you our best rates for your return. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed for three nights around Christmas, we found the welcome and service beyond reproach and the rooms are really clean and well equipped and serviced. Easy access to many of New York's main attractions in Midtown. If it were just located two blocks in any direction it would be the perfect holiday/business hub. Still, well recommended and would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad to hear that your Distrikt experience was pleasant and "well recommended." Our location is often praised for being just outside the madness that is Times Square but close enough to the heart of it, and so we're very glad that you were able to enjoy easy access to Midtown attractions. Thank you again and please contact us directly next time so we can offer you our best rates. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel is a small boutique hotel in a central location. Easy access to subway, bus station, taxis and short walk to Times Square. The road it is in is a bit run down but always busy so never felt unsafe. Hotel is nice and the fact that you can get breakfast in the bar for $12 before venturing out for a day's sightseeing is great. Staff are very friendly, we arrived around 11pm and the lady checking us in was very cheery and helpful. Lovely toiletries in bathroom and excellent shower pressure bed was very comfortable. We were on the 16th floor and were not disburbed by street noise at all and I am a light sleeper.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We're happy to hear that you found our location convenient and staff friendly and helpful. It's also great to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable night's sleep! We look forward to staying in touch with you and welcoming you again for your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#38 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#72 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#56 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#70 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing