We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The wonders of a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The wonders of a great hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived at the Distrikt on the eve of Hurricane Sandy. The welcome as well as the entire stay was superb.As the weather howled we were royally looked after. The staff are fantastic...Helpful and so friendly. The rooms are fabulous. I couldn't fault this fine hotel in any way. It's a hop and a skip from Times Square and a perfect base for any NYC visitor. Thank you The Distrikt Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We're very glad to hear that your "entire stay was superb" and that we were able to provide a friendly, comfortable home base during the hurricane. We look forward to staying in touch with you on Facebook/Twitter and welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,415
    1,308
    242
    38
    19
See reviews for
966
2,552
235
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,040)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I have travelled a lot and the staff in this hotel as a group are the friendliest I have ever come across. Nothing is too much trouble and I will be staying here again. Special mention to Peter and Nesha who you can tell pride themselves on making you feel special. I stayed here during hurricane sandy which was difficult in itself. The staff made you feel reassured and really made the effort to show they cared with what was going on. It's not the cheapest place around but you get what you pay for and I would pay the extra to stay here again. Thanks for a great stay! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melyn27042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We are very happy to hear that in your travelling, our staff was the friendliest you have ever come across! We'll be sure to pass on the kind words to them. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook/Twitter- we love hearing from our past guests and we also will be able to offer you our best rates for your return. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On arriving at Distrikt Hotel my husband and myself were immediately impressed with the staff on reception. They couldnt do enough for us. Always giving us suggestions on where to go and where to eat. Was fantastic. Also the staff in the bar and breakfast area were great and we especially loved Anthony behind the bar. The rooms were great a good size for NYC easy to get to subway and also good area to walk to nearby places. Love Love Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HagenMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We're very happy to hear that we made a good first impression on you and your husband. Thank you for your kind feedback for our staff; we will be sure to pass it on! We look forward to welcoming you and your husband again for your return to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went with 5 friends for one of our special birthdays, cakes and card greeted us in both rooms as they were not sure which one that she would be staying in.
Great small central hotel, staff are very helpful and despite having to stay 24/7 during Hurricane Sandy they kept smiling.They were so helpful when we had to stay an extra 2 nights due to cancelled flights.
We went because of good tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed and I would definately go back there.Breakfasts were reasonable and great, due to other reviews we tried an number of breakfast options before using the hotel but wished that we had used the hotel more often as some of the others were not as good.

Room Tip: Choose a high one for the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We're very happy to hear that you discovered us through Trip Advisor and we were able to make you and your friends' trip even more special. We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts at our Collage Bar & Bistro. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again for your return to New York City. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just spent six nights at this great hotel, two days more than planned due to Hurricain Sandy. The staff at the Distrikt Hotel could not possible be more helpful and courteous during the entire stay even though they were trapped at the hotel for the storm. From the minute we hit the sidewalk in front of the hotel and Eric gave us a warm smile and greeting, through being warmly greeted at the desk, and shown to our room, the experience was wonderful. The hotel has a nice, small restaurant where the staff warmth continues. When Sandy hit, the staff was given rooms at the hotel and continued to offer all its guests excellent service. The location of the Distrikt Hotel is near Times Square and the Theater District. The staff offered suggestions on great places to eat within easy walking distances. The free wi-fi was strong in our room and they have three computers in the lobby for use of their guests. This was an excellent hotel experience.

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner rooms away from the elevators are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us; it's wonderful to hear that it "was an excellent hotel experience." We're happy that we were able to provide a comfortable base during the hurricane. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Distrikt for 6 nights as a family of 4 , during october 27th til Nov 1st. The rooms are very clean modern and have amazingly comfortable beds, only problem we found the rooms are small and hard to keep in order for a week. The staff are all friendly and happy people, we were in New york when Hurricane Sandy hit lucky for us the hotel was not affected and kept its power. To be honest we were not a fan of the bar didn't have the cosy feel about it and the drinks are far too expensive. I don't know why people keep going on about the street the hotel is located in never felt unsafe we were back and forth lots of different times of day and night no problems to report, its a bus station at the end of the steet which is always policed, like all street corners in new york. if you are heading out for breakfast try tick tock diner on 34th street, 8th Avenue for an awesome breakfast and great staff. New york is a fun city with the distrikt located 5 minutes from time Square, and 20 minutes to central park, we loved this city and hotel.
P.S Thank you distrikt for my birthday cakes, plus the brownies and Chocolates you put in our room each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emsyipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad that we were able to celebrate your birthday with you and to have been able to provide a safe and comfortable base during the hurricane. The Trip Advisor community often provides us with feedback on how well-appointed the guest rooms are, though New York City is known for its limited space. Our Collage Bar & Bistro is perfect for those looking to grab a quick bite or drink on the go before exploring the City or upon returning. We appreciate your feedback very much as it will assist us in improving for future guests. We're also very happy to hear you were able to explore the neighborhood and find local eateries! Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for your return. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pikesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is very good overall - though not without minor issues. The room was clean and comfortable as is the bathroom. The bath products are nice quality. Do not count on watching TV - there are about 3 channels and no paperview. Unfortunately, when booking, I paid extra to get a view, which we did not get. Room service dinner food leaves much to be desired. Breakfast food is very good. Service needs work - the first day we ordered breakfast, we did not get it. A call came an hour later telling us they were busy and ran behind. We only got one robe for two people, and when asked for a second one, never got it. All other requests were satisfied without problems. The location is unbelievably convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliya d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and that it was a positive one overall. We are sorry to hear that the City View room was not satisfactory, and to hear of your room service experience; for our Trip Advisor community's information, guests are welcome and encouraged to approach the front desk should there be any concerns and we will try our very best to modify or amend any situation. We will be sure to bring this to our restaurant manager's attention, as your feedback will assist us in improving for you and all future guests. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
931 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#138 of 468 in New York City
4,981 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#33 of 468 in New York City
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,716 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#20 of 468 in New York City
2,850 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing