We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous staff- smiled all the way through Hurricane Sandy.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff- smiled all the way through Hurricane Sandy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went with 5 friends for one of our special birthdays, cakes and card greeted us in both rooms as they were not sure which one that she would be staying in.
Great small central hotel, staff are very helpful and despite having to stay 24/7 during Hurricane Sandy they kept smiling.They were so helpful when we had to stay an extra 2 nights due to cancelled flights.
We went because of good tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed and I would definately go back there.Breakfasts were reasonable and great, due to other reviews we tried an number of breakfast options before using the hotel but wished that we had used the hotel more often as some of the others were not as good.

Room Tip: Choose a high one for the great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We're very happy to hear that you discovered us through Trip Advisor and we were able to make you and your friends' trip even more special. We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfasts at our Collage Bar & Bistro. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends again for your return to New York City. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    1,228
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just spent six nights at this great hotel, two days more than planned due to Hurricain Sandy. The staff at the Distrikt Hotel could not possible be more helpful and courteous during the entire stay even though they were trapped at the hotel for the storm. From the minute we hit the sidewalk in front of the hotel and Eric gave us a warm smile and greeting, through being warmly greeted at the desk, and shown to our room, the experience was wonderful. The hotel has a nice, small restaurant where the staff warmth continues. When Sandy hit, the staff was given rooms at the hotel and continued to offer all its guests excellent service. The location of the Distrikt Hotel is near Times Square and the Theater District. The staff offered suggestions on great places to eat within easy walking distances. The free wi-fi was strong in our room and they have three computers in the lobby for use of their guests. This was an excellent hotel experience.

Room Tip: Upper floor, corner rooms away from the elevators are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Art B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us; it's wonderful to hear that it "was an excellent hotel experience." We're happy that we were able to provide a comfortable base during the hurricane. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Distrikt for 6 nights as a family of 4 , during october 27th til Nov 1st. The rooms are very clean modern and have amazingly comfortable beds, only problem we found the rooms are small and hard to keep in order for a week. The staff are all friendly and happy people, we were in New york when Hurricane Sandy hit lucky for us the hotel was not affected and kept its power. To be honest we were not a fan of the bar didn't have the cosy feel about it and the drinks are far too expensive. I don't know why people keep going on about the street the hotel is located in never felt unsafe we were back and forth lots of different times of day and night no problems to report, its a bus station at the end of the steet which is always policed, like all street corners in new york. if you are heading out for breakfast try tick tock diner on 34th street, 8th Avenue for an awesome breakfast and great staff. New york is a fun city with the distrikt located 5 minutes from time Square, and 20 minutes to central park, we loved this city and hotel.
P.S Thank you distrikt for my birthday cakes, plus the brownies and Chocolates you put in our room each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsyipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're glad that we were able to celebrate your birthday with you and to have been able to provide a safe and comfortable base during the hurricane. The Trip Advisor community often provides us with feedback on how well-appointed the guest rooms are, though New York City is known for its limited space. Our Collage Bar & Bistro is perfect for those looking to grab a quick bite or drink on the go before exploring the City or upon returning. We appreciate your feedback very much as it will assist us in improving for future guests. We're also very happy to hear you were able to explore the neighborhood and find local eateries! Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for your return. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pikesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is very good overall - though not without minor issues. The room was clean and comfortable as is the bathroom. The bath products are nice quality. Do not count on watching TV - there are about 3 channels and no paperview. Unfortunately, when booking, I paid extra to get a view, which we did not get. Room service dinner food leaves much to be desired. Breakfast food is very good. Service needs work - the first day we ordered breakfast, we did not get it. A call came an hour later telling us they were busy and ran behind. We only got one robe for two people, and when asked for a second one, never got it. All other requests were satisfied without problems. The location is unbelievably convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliya d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and that it was a positive one overall. We are sorry to hear that the City View room was not satisfactory, and to hear of your room service experience; for our Trip Advisor community's information, guests are welcome and encouraged to approach the front desk should there be any concerns and we will try our very best to modify or amend any situation. We will be sure to bring this to our restaurant manager's attention, as your feedback will assist us in improving for you and all future guests. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I landed in the hotel during the hurricane and it was a great stay. Very nice property. The front desk was really accommodating in many ways for people who were stranded and kept their tourists happy. The hotel is quite lovely and the rooms a very nice sized for a big city hotel. Sleek rooms and relatively quiet for a busy part of town. The reason I am even writing this review is as a woman I want others to understand the area. I would say if you are booking please know that the hotel is on a street that is in transition as they say. There are nice places to stay on half the block and sketchy bodegas/video stores on the other end as well as the subway. If you are a city dweller or adults traveling in pairs or a big guy you can certainly walk down the street no worries. I'm not sure a woman or two young women should walk down the block after dark...or at least they might experience the 'grittier' party of NYC. I left the hotel and passed two guys cursing out each other. Didn't bother me but I have also lived here for 25 years. It is in a good location for Broadway shows, 9th avenue ethnic cuisine, the ACE line subway. But it is also across from the GIANT bus hub and all that it attracts, good and bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FromNYto?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing you experience with us, as it is always insightful to hear from a fellow local. We're very glad to have been able to welcome you during the hurricane and provide a safe home base. The street itself has indeed flourished much in recent years with the revitalization of Port Authority, planting of more trees, and so forth. For our Trip Advisor community's information, our lobby is open and an agent is available 24 hours a day, and we are located to several other 24-hour properties allowing for it to be a rather high-traffic street. Again thank you for choosing Distrikt for your local stay, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future! Best wishes from the Distrikt team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at the Distrikt for 2 nights this past weekend. The hotel is located across from the Port Authority Bus Terminal and therefore it is very convenient to access any of the subway lines in NYC. The room is slightly larger than most hotel rooms in Manhattan. Nice set up with free coffee maker in the room. The building itself is very skinny and tall. I believe there are only 4 rooms on each floor. Ask for a room that is slightly further away from the elevator. Nice bathroom with a large shower and good quality towels + linens. The lobby of the hotel is very small and therefore it can be chaotic during check-in and check-out times. Other than that, I was pretty satisfied given the rate I paid for my room and the location of this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arch-Designer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for spending the weekend at Distrikt. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed many of our amenities and features, such as the coffee maker in the room and bathroom products. Please contact us directly next time as we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great hotel in an excellent location.

Only wish we had more time there!

We were lucky enough to get a voucher for breakfast while there and really enjoyed the food in the hotel cafe.

The room was bigger than what we expected and modern and clean.

We found a lovely complimentary choc brownie in our room on check in.

At turn down housekeeping left a card with the next days weather. We found this very helpful when planning what to do and wear the next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We're very glad to hear that your stay was "great as expected"! The daily weather cards along with turndown service is provided by our efficient housekeeping staff, and it's wonderful to hear that they were useful during your stay. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing