We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as everyone says” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“As good as everyone says”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We booked this place after reading the reviews here and it definitely is as good as everyone says.

As it was a year of big birthdays for the both of us, I cheekily requested a room with a view. Where they made no promises, they did say they'd put a note on the file and when we first looked out our 31st floor window, they had clearly made the effort for us. The hand made birthday card and cakes was also a really nice wee touch.

We woke on our first day to see the sun coming up behind the Empire State building on one side and a great view down the Hudson and Jersey on the other. It was a great start to the holiday.

The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and genuinely seem interested in what your experiencing on your trip. The rooms are plenty big enough and well equipped with everything you really need for a stay in a city like NYC. The beds are also really comfy, which is a must in this city too. Sleep is precious in NYC after all!!

People say the street is quite dodgy, what with the parole office a few doors along, but it's really not that bad. There are certainly dodgier streets in Manhattan.

Its in a great location to experience the city. It's in between 8th and 9th so you've got good north and south bound avenues to get taxi's. It's far enough away from Broadway mania but close enough to walk there if you need a fix.

Great location, comfortable rooms and extremely hospitable staff. This hotel is great and we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RM_and_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for sharing your Distrikt experience and your special birthday trip with us. We're very happy to hear that you were able to get to know our staff and they were able to assist in making your trip even more special. We look forward to staying in touch with you via Facebook/Twitter! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    1,228
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,024)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We Stayed here in september this year the room was lovely and the staff were excellent and the location was perfect
All in all we loved it
It was our 10 year anniversary and my 41st Birthday whilst we were there - the staff on reception sent up a card and 2x cakes as a lovely gift for us.......to say we were touched by the kindness is an understatement
WE WILL BE BACK AGAIN IN FEB 2013!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We're very happy to hear that we were able to make your anniversary and birthday even more special. Thank you for choosing us for such a special trip! We're thrilled to welcome you again in February. Please do contact us directly so we can offer you the best rates for your return. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent a week in New York for our 10th Anniversary and decided to splurge a little on the hotel. The staff at this hotel is very friendly and helpful. They were able to answer any questions we had and even let us use their packing tape to wrap up some packages on several occasions. When we checked in, we were given brownies and a coupon for $5 off the hotel restaurant. At check in, we were given a map and several recommendations for good places to eat close by. Our favorite of those was the pizza place right down the road called Capizzi's. The room itself was very clean and spacious. We had a king bed and we opted for the no noise room instead of the larger room. We were on the 29th floor and we never heard any noise from the street or the rooms beside us. The bed was very comfortable and the desk gave us somewhere to pile our souvenirs on. There was a large armoire and a chest of drawers to put our clothes in. The bathroom was very spacious and the walk in shower was awesome! The water pressure was very good and felt heavenly after a day of walking around the city. We had a great view of the Empire State building in one direction and the Hudson River in the other direction. The hotel is off the beaten path but very close to Times Square, the convention center, great food and shops. Also very close to the subway and bus stops. The rooms were a little pricey but everything in New York is and this was well worth it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for choosing Distrikt for such a special occasion! We're very happy to hear that we were able to make your anniversary extra special, and that you were able to get to know our staff. Capizzi's is a fantastic find; we're glad you were able to explore the neighborhood like a local! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Please stay in touch via Facebook/Twitter, where we can offer you the best rates as well. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okarche, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great Location, Great Staff, Clean Rooms. What else is there to say! Would definitely stay there again. The cards with the temperature and the chocolates in the afternoon were a nice touch. Also helped us to schedule a private car for transportation to and from the airport at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed the staff, location, and your room. We hope to welcome you again in the near future for your next visit to New York City. Please keep in touch with us (Facebook and Twitter are great ways)! We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon. Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I can not find a bad thing to say about the hotel.
The staff were always nice and helpful if we wanted any help.
The room was nice and clean.
You could get coffee in the morning and cider in the evening in the lobby.
Free and in my opinion fast wifi.
Great location. Only a couple of blocks from time square, but without the noise coming from there. And A couple blocks from the javitz center.

Room Tip: As with most hotels the higher up you can get a room the less noise from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of the amenities we offer. Please stay in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter so we can offer the best direct rates. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in the Distrikt for a week at the beginning of October and the hotel is in a fantastic location and spotless, the hotel staff were exceptional and went that extra mile to help guests (Nesha, Peter & Joseph in particular), I will definately return to this hotel, the only small criticism I have sorry to say is that there were 4 of us in one room we could have been doing with a bit more storage for our clothes, or even somewhere to store our cases, but I wouldn't say this spoiled our experience at staying in this wonderful hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0cket1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
We're very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We'll be sure to pass on the kind words to our staff. For four guests, as an alternative to the Double room you had with two beds, we also offer connecting Queen and King rooms, or even two separate rooms as we only have five rooms per floor and you'll never be far apart! Thank you again and please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Facebook/Twitter are the best ways to stay connected to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights.

The ++:
1. Location: Not in the most glamorous street of NY, but it's walking distance to Time Sq (5 mins) and Hell's Kitchen (5 mins), subway is just 2 mins away - that can take you directly to Central Park, Financial District, Greenwich Village.
2. The room where I stayed in was super quiet, didn't hear a noise! It was on the 21st floor
3. Friendly staff
4. Free WIFI

The --
1. The room is TINY, yes it is very very small (standard Queens room).
2. Bad view from our room - facing the back - can't really see NY skyline (might be better in other rooms).
3. Check-in time is not very flexible. We arrived 9am asked if we could check in early but they keep saying 3pm (even though lots of their guests were checking out at 9am when we got there), although at the end they let us checked in at 1pm-ish, maybe they got bored of my friend kept asking for the room.

This hotel is perfect for your first visit in NY. So close to Time Square without being in the centre of it where it'd be really noisy. Would I come back? Definitely, but I might try different hotel in a different area as I'd avoid Time Square as much as possible for my second visit...

Room Tip: get a higher floor to minimise the noise.. as what the other reviewers said....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nasigoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very glad to hear that you felt Distrikt "is perfect for your first visit to NY." Regarding check-in, though we understand some flights are earlier and do try our best to accomodate requests for early check-ins, we have many different room types that our housekeeping team tends to attentively to ensure your utmost comfort and cleanliness for when you enjoy your room. We offer complimentary luggage storage so guests can go on ahead and explore the Big Apple until 3PM. We're glad that in the end we were indeed able to offer you an early check-in, as you had requested. Please keep in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for when you return! We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing