We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Nearby Hotels
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$184
$161
Room Mate Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$331
$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$326
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Westin New York Grand Central(New York City)(Great Value!)
$255
$239
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$193
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$159
$120
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,821)
Filter reviews
5,821 results
Traveler rating
3,903
1,525
309
51
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,903
1,525
309
51
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsport authorityparole officetimes squarenew yorkgreat hotelbus stationhell's kitchenhudson riverlittle touchesgood sizefree wifiour honeymooncoffee machineturn down servicecentral locationsmall hotelhigher floor
Filter
Updating list...
3,406 - 3,411 of 5,821 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We loved this hotel . Fantastic service the ppl at front desk are so helpful and free computers and Internet to use. Lovely rooms, modern plush beds and nice bathrooms. Not big rooms obviously but had lovely view of skyline. Great location, down a slightly dodgy side street but only just off main road. Highly recommend I will stay next time in ny.

Room Tip: We upgraded to next one from standard and well worth it
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We're very glad to hear you loved your stay, and that our attentive and friendly staff was able to assist you. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook or Twitter so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Distrikt Hotel from September 23rd – 30th. This place is superb and deserves its fabulous reputation! Few highlights for us:
• The staff are fantastic, really friendly and happy to help you out, whatever you need.
• The rooms are really well appointed – loads of space, flat screen TV, top quality coffee/tea machine, WiFi, superb towels and the beds are SO comfy! Just what you need after a hard days sightseeing.
• There’s loads of extra little touches like a welcome brownie in the room on arrival, a special delivery of cheesecake as we were there to celebrate our birthdays, chocolates and a weather card waiting on your bed every evening and a New York Times outside your door every morning.
• The location is just perfect – a 5 minute walk from Times Square and there’s a subway station at the end of the street. We weren’t troubled at all by the parole office or sex shop – to be honest I don’t think we would have noticed them at all had we not read about them on here.
All in all a fabulous hotel, we’ll definitely stay here again when we come back and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Thanks DIstrikt for a fab stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBarnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It's a pleasure to know that you felt the hotel "deserves its fabulous reputation." We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently visited NYC for the very first time. We decided to stay at the Distrikt hotel after reading the review in Trip Advisor. We were blown away by this hotel!
The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had a room on the 25th floor with an amazing view of New York and the Hudson. Our room was very spacious, massive bed, massive tv and massive shower! The bed was probably the comfiest bed we have slept in ever...we wanted to take it home with us. We had a fabulous sleep every night. The little touches such as the coffee machine in the room, dressing gown, weather forecast cards, newspapers daily and little chocolates made a big difference. I became addicted to the free fruit iced teas you could fill up on in the reception, and you could have coffees to take away with you in the morning.
There was a keypad safe in the room, along with an iron and ironing board. There was a powerful hair dryer and a good range of shampoo, shower gels and moisturisers...topped up as required.
The location was perfect for us...as it is on w40th st...only 2 streets away from Times Sq. It was on a quiet st...but we felt very safe walking about.
In the main reception there were Mac computers available for free use. There was a large touch screen board with information on things to do in the city.
There is a 12 pm check out time on the hotel. After we checked out the hotel held our bags for us for a few hours until we were ready to leave for the airport. They arranged a taxi for us...which was only a few dollars more expensive than the yellow taxis.
Overall we had an amazing stay at the Disrtikt. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit New York. Very clean, very comfy and friendly helpful staff. Everything you would look for in a hotel and more!

Room Tip: Grand view king size room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

It's always so heartwarming to hear such compliments as that you were "blown away" by your experience and that we were able to provide "everything you would look for in a hotel and more." Thank you for your feedback regarding our amenities; we're very happy that you enjoyed them. We look forward to welcoming you again and providing an even more enjoyable experience. Please stay in touch with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at the Distrikt hotel for 7 nights. Our reason for booking this hotel was down to the reviews we had previously read on trip advisor and we were not disappointed at all. The rooms were larger than expected for a city hotel, very clean and the beds were so so comfy, we slept well every night. The location is great as we were just off times square and opposite the port authority bus terminal, we would recommend walking through here as opposed to walking down the street at night. The staff were all excellent,always happy and helpful. We decided to book tickets to go and watch an NFL game @ MetLife Stadium, the member of staff on duty helped us with our booking and printed off our match day tickets, he then told us a bus would take us from opposite the hotel to direcly outside the stadium which was fantastic. A lovely touch everyday was the very welcome choices of Iced Tea available, very refreshing after a day out. Thank you so much for making our first visit to NYC memorable, we will definately be booking this hotel again when we return to this fabulous city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonsiWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

We're very glad you have discovered us through Trip Advisor and we lived up to your expectations. It is our pleasure to have been able to make your first visit to New York City a memorable one. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! Take care until then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Distrikt for 5 nights in late September 2012. The hotel has consistently been in the top 5 on Tripadvisor since i started looking into going to New York 2 years ago so I always knew it is where i would plan to stay. My friend and her husband stayed there Christmas 2011 and raved about it too so when we got a good deal on flights I knew which hotel I would be booking. I commented on their Facebook page shortly before I left and they very kindly gave us an upgrade on our room choice as a result.

The hotel is ideally located in midtown, a 5 minute walk to Times Square but more peaceful than staying right in that area. I know lots of people have commented on the block that the hotel is on but it really didn't bother me. Yes, there were lines of men outside the parole office first thing in the morning but we never had any bother. There are 3 other hotels right next door to the Distrikt so there are always plenty of people about. Seriously, do not let the parole office, a few sex shops and the Port Authority put you off staying here. It is ideally placed for visiting New York. There is a subway stop at the end of the street which goes all the way uptown and all the way to Brooklyn. We rode this to Brooklyn and it literally took 15 minutes on the express line. Much quicker than a taxi or bus. Also, the 42 street Times Square subway stop is a 5 minute walk and pretty much every subway line runs through there too. The Port Authority bus terminal is two blocks away (the back of this is actually on the hotel block) and we got the Newark airport bus to and from there which only took around 30-40 minutes and was $28 return per person. Very handy and quick.

The lobby of the hotel is very welcoming with all the amenties people have previously commented on e.g. coffee/iced tea/computers etc. All of the front desk staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They have no problem storing your luggage for you until your room is ready or after you check out.

The room we had was on the 4th floor and although we only had a view of the back of the Port Authority, we were only in our room to sleep so it wasn't an issue whatsoever. The room was larger than i expected, the bed and pillows were so comfy, the room was spotlessly clean and it had all the amenities you would want when travelling (in-room safe, toiletries, power hairdryer, good water pressure in the shower, great coffee/tea machine and plenty of plug sockets). I never noticed any noise from other rooms although our room was next to the housekeeping cupboard so we would hear housekeeping every now and then but normally we were up and about early so it wasn't really an issue.

We didn't eat in the hotel as there are so many places nearby to eat at (would recommend 5 Napkin Burger, Southern Hospitality and Westway Diner which are all on 9th Avenue and woudl also recommend Guy & GAllard which is a deli on the same street as the hotel but between 8th and 7th AVenues) but we did have drinks in the hotel bar on the Saturday night before bed and got talking to a really lovely bartender called Anthony. Like all the staff we met, he is a credit to those who own the hotel.

I absolutely loved our stay at the Distrikt and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone planning a trip to New York.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for chatting with us on Facebook prior to your arrival. We love getting to know our guests even before welcoming them, so it's always a pleasure! It seems you were able to take advantage of our central location and hop right on the subway to explore the City. Thank you for the lovely compliments for our staff, including Anthony; we do pride ourselves on our friendly staff, and we'll be sure to pass your kind words on. Please stay in touch with us on Facebook/Twitter so we can offer you our best rates for your next stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your boyfriend again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews