We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights great location right on the subway easy walk to times sq broadway etc many good restaurant within walking distance the only downside is the rooms are small we had a superior king perhaps a little expensive but the staff were great and it is really quiet cannot hear sirens etc which is a bonus in new York

Room Tip: Ask if any are larger rooms or views as we could not see any sky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your New York City stay! We've very glad to hear we were able to provide a quiet and comfortable home base. We'll be sure to pass along the wonderful compliment to our staff. Please stay in touch with us (Facebook or Twitter are great ways!) so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,997 - 3,003 of 5,358 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Distrikt Hotel is lovely, modern, and clean on the inside. I enjoyed the rooms, service, downstairs bar, and value. If you are enjoying a family weekend or having a getaway in New York, this is an excellent choice.

That said, I stayed here on business and will not do so again. The proximity to midtown is nice, but the city block is disgusting. They are directly across from the NY Port Authority terminal (tons of buses and people), and just a few steps away from the NYC Parole office and a sex shop. As a woman traveling on business alone, I did not feel comfortable walking near the hotel in the evening- that's a problem for me, but may not be for everyone.

Other business travel issues: the gym was about 3 blocks away (kind of a guy-focused, "pumping iron" locale), very loud crying babies from family vacationers. Again, neither of these are huge issues when I'm traveling with my husband or friends, but they're just inconvenient when you're "living" away from home for business travel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Party0f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel during your business trip, and sharing your experience with us as it helps us immensely in improving for our future guests. Our immediate neighborhood has much improved in the last years with the revitalization of Port Authority, planting of more trees, and so forth, however we're very sorry to hear you felt uncomfortable walking in the evening. Distrikt is located adjacent to three other large hotels, and our front desk is open 24 hours a day along with security personnel on duty in the very late and early hours. Thank you for your feedback regarding our off-site gym; again, it will serve to improve us in the future. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you again for a leisure stay. Please contact us directly next time so we may make your stay more enjoyable. Best regards from the Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the Distrikt for three nights and were quite pleased. The hotel is in a great location; quiet neighborhood, but just a short walk to Times Square and a metro station. Also, a very short walk to the Hudson River that has a great walking, running or biking trail. The hotel is very clean and the rooms and bathrooms are a nice size for NYC. There is a coffee maker in the room besides an iron, hair dryer, turndown service and brownies waiting upon your arrival.The girls at the desk are very friendly and full of information. I would highly recommend the Distrikt when traveling to NYC. You definitely get alot for a great price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

We've very glad to you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! It seems that you were able to take full advantage of our neighborhood and even enjoy popular local spots such as the Hudson River trail. Please keep in touch with us via Facebook or Twitter so we may offer you the best rates when you return to New York City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
New York
1
Reviewed October 1, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel had an absolutely perfect location for us. Minutes from Times Sq there is also a key Metro station at the end of the block where the line pretty much runs the length of Manhattan from the Bronx down the west side and through to the Lower East Side then out towards Williamsburg & Brooklyn so wherever you need to be it is easy to get there.

The staff are very friendly, the rooms are great - good aircon, good facilities inc tea / coffee maker, good sized shower, safe, modern decor, free iced tea in reception, free quick Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and use of Macs in reception area and a huge comfy bed which is just what you need after a hard day trekking around Manhattan!

All round an excellent hotel and the first place I will look when I return to NY. My only slight criticism is that the mini-bar & fridge are quite expensive and the prices a little odd - a pack of nuts cost more than a beer for example.

(one thing to note: TripAdvisor has asked me to rate the Swimming Pool & Fitness centre but this hotel as neither of these)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aky2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

We're glad to hear you were able to take enjoyed the many subway lines just a quick stroll away! It's always wonderful to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable home base while exploring this City and that you felt we were "all around an excellent hotel." Since listening to our guests' feedback we truly wish we had implemented fridges in the rooms but unfortunately we are contractually obligated to the mini bars since the hotel's pre-opening. But thank you for sharing your experience, as it will help us improve for our future guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Take care until then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My colleague and I stayed at the Distrikt for 3 nights whilst on a business trip to New York. It’s relatively well situated for Mid Town, if a few blocks too far West. If you’re visiting NYC for pleasure this is a fantastic location to explore Times Sq / Central Park / The High Line all on foot. The hotel offered some excellent touches such as free Wi-Fi, free iced tea in the lobby and pretty fairly priced breakfast (often not the case). The rooms are fairly small by US standards and the air conditioning extremely noisy (but effective), not sure if it was the jet lag but I was woken in the night by the A/C kicking in. Otherwise the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor to avoid waiting for the lift during busy periods!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for choosing Distrikt Hotel for your business trip to New York. We're very glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our amenities. We're sorry to hear about the AC noise; please do feel free to contact the front desk at your convenience next time so we can have an engineer check the unit right away. We very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Really happy with our stay at the Distrikt. It is very clean, modern and comfortable. It’s a small boutique hotel, with only 5 rooms per floor, generally quiet. We booked a view room and ended up on the top floor, with a great view of the west side, Hudson river and lights near Times Square a few blocks away.

The room itself is adequately sized, not spacious but not cramped, with an extremely comfortable bed and good lighting. Amenities include an iron and board, Keurig coffee maker with two coffee and two tea pods complimentary per day, and free wifi. The bathroom was nicely appointed and a decent size, with lots of counter space for your stuff, great water pressure in the shower and a good hairdryer. On arrival we found two (packaged) brownies as a welcome, and each evening the turndown service includes a couple chocolate squares and a card indicating the next day’s weather, a nice touch.

The property doesn’t have a lot of facilities, other than a bar/restaurant on the main floor. We only had one breakfast there, it was good and not overpriced for a city hotel – you can get the continental for $10 which includes fruit, cereal, yogurt, pastries, and hard boiled eggs, or they also have other items to order off the menu. They offer free coffee in the lobby in the morning, and two flavors of iced tea in the afternoons. There are also three computers available along the front of the lobby.

Service was friendly and helpful; we got a great dinner recommendation one night. We didn’t ask a lot but they were great about helping with the questions we did have. And they regularly offer some extra fun surprises for their guests, such as having a food truck out front giving out free food at “happy hour” – the day we arrived, they were doing made-to-order ice cream sandwiches from 4 to 6. Yum! On the other hand, they lack a few of the basics one generally can count on in larger hotels – no postage stamps for sale at the front desk, and it was hit or miss whether we could get change for a $20 bill.

The midtown location is very convenient for tourist activities. A few blocks from Times Square and the theater district, and very near the starting point for the hop-on, hop-off busses. Being right across the street from the Port Authority bus terminal, it’s very easy to use the subway. That also means you have all the crowds of people going in & out, but they’re around the corner, not on the side facing the hotel. And yes, there is a parole office on this block, which sometimes had a line of people outside, but it never felt uncomfortable or unsafe walking back to our hotel at any time of day or night. There are three other hotels immediately adjacent to the Distrikt, all tall skinny properties lined up in a row. And just up 9th Avenue begins the Hells Kitchen restaurant row, several blocks with a variety of good restaurants.

All in all, I highly recommend the Distrikt – it’s a great base for exploring the city, appropriately priced and very comfortable, with a fun and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seattle98101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We, too, are happy to hear you were "really happy" with your Distrikt stay. It's great to hear you were able to take full advantage of our Midtown location, including great restaurants in Hell's Kitchen. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to New York City. Please stay in touch with us and contact us directly next time! Best wishes from the Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
436 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 469 in New York City
1,055 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 469 in New York City
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#79 of 469 in New York City
1,021 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#124 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 469 in New York City
5,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $181 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing