We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow A True Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #66 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Thanks again Trip Advisor for helping me find the perfect hotel to stay in New York City. The Distrikt Hotel is a wonderful place to stay just a few blocks away from all the excitement of Times Square, Broadway Theatre District and Hells Kitchen. We had a lovely quiet room on the 30th floor. Our view was interesting-front view of a building and to our right was the Hudson River and to our left was the Empire State Building. We felt we were quite lucky that our requests when reserving were accommodated when we asked for a quiet, high floor room with a view of the Empire State Building and the Hudson River.

We enjoyed our room with the modern decor, comfy king bed, clean bathroom with a very useful long sink counter. We really appreciated the little extra perks that the Distrikt Hotel gives. It was so refreshing to pick up a complimentary iced peach tea in the lobby after coming in from the heat outside. It was also a nice touch and very helpful to have waiting in our room in the evening the weather report card for the next day with chocolates on the pillow. The staff was very nice and friendly. They were always very helpful with directions, recommendations for restaurants and helping us with the use of the lobby computers.

The Collage Bistro Restaurant in the Distrikt Hotel came in quite handy for having an early morning Breakfast. We were disappointed though one evening after being out the whole day we decided to make it back to the hotel for the Happy Hour special on Sunday at the Collage Bistro. We had noticed on the menu displayed in the room that the Collage Bistro has on Sundays the choice of any of the Happy Hour specials from Monday to Saturday. We thought we would try the 2 for 1 appetizers and have a cocktail special. We found out from the waitress that we misunderstood the Sunday Happy Hour specials. We were only allowed one choice per bill and they were also out of the chicken wings since Saturday. We ended up enjoying our evening with the recommendations from the front desk giving us choices of many restaurants in Hells Kitchen area.

We went to the Bourbon Street Restaurant on 46th St. (between 8th & 9th Ave,) and thoroughly enjoyed our Jambalaya and $5.00 Hurricane cocktail. It is a great New Orleans restaurant, nicely decorated and reasonably priced. For a fast snack just down the street from the Distrikt Hotel corner of 9th Ave. is pizza for a dollar. Try the cheese only pizza, it is surprisingly tasty. If planning to go to the Statue of Liberty take note on the WEEKENDS the Subway Red Line 1 Downtown to South Ferry (end of line) does not go all the way to the end of the line. You have to change trains across track and get off at Christopher Station. Then go outside and catch the special free shuttle to take you to Battery Park. Then ask directions to walk to the Statue of Liberty Ferry. (note: it is not the building directly in front of getting off the shuttle) A lot of people are not informed of this and it does end up being very time consuming. We went on June 30th left the hotel at 11:15 am and only arrived at the Statue of Liberty at 2:00 pm. There are also line ups at the ferry dock and after buying our ticket we had to wait an hour in line to board the ferry.

I would highly recomment the Distrikt Hotel to anyone that is looking for a centrally located, clean, modern and reasonably priced hotel. If I plan to make another visit to New York City I would choose the Distrikt Hotel as the accommodations and staff made our trip to New York City all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: request when booking a quiet room high floor view of Hudson River and Empire State Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Thank you for taking your time to write your review and sharing with us your experience! We're very glad you found us through Trip Advisor and felt that you found the perfect NYC hotel for you. We're glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your room and location. It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed and were able to take advantage of our many amenities, as we do believe that details make a difference. We're glad our staff was able to assist you with recommendations during your stay, and you were able to discover the City yourself (thank you for the subway tip!). We are sorry to hear there was some confusion at Collage Bar & Bistro; we're glad the front desk was again able to assist immediately. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Warm wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,414 - 3,420 of 5,656 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon in June 2012. It was fantastic!! We had booked the hotel using the TA reviews and we couldnt have been more pleased. Everything everyone has said about the hotel was spot on.
1. Hotel is not on the nicest of streets with the Port Authority building accross the street - but was totally not of an issue as its still very safe and is only a few blocks from Times Square and all the attractions. One of the best things was the subway on the corner of the street which took you anywhere - would definately recommend to use the subway.
2. Hotel staff are superb - Staff couldnt have been anymore helpful. We were offered an upgrade on our arrival as it was our honeymoon and were placed on the 30th floor. The staff also left us a congratulations card on our wedding and a couple of complementary cheescakes it was so nice. They were also helpful with regards how to get places and where to go.
3. Rooms were great. - We had views to both the Hudson River and also to the Empire State building - it couldnt have been better. The beds were lovely and comfy and the maid came everyday to make the bed and also changed your towels every day or two. Being on the 30th floor also meant that we had no noise at all. There are only 5 or so rooms on each floor so you dont here a thing.
Overall we had the best time and I would not want to stay anywhere else on my return to New York - my only concern is they will put the prices up as its so good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lins2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you very much for discovering us through Trip Advisor and staying with us during your honeymoon. We're very happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We enjoy celebrating such special occasions with guests and are glad you had a great experience. We're glad you were able to fully take advantage of our very central location and convenient transportation options. It is also wonderful to hear you found the room comfortable and it contributed to your great stay. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you for your next trip to New York City. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here in June with my two daughters.We were having a triple celebration, birthdays and graduation. On arrival we were upgraded and a lovely card and cheesecake greeted us wishing us a happy birthday etc. The staff were second to none everyone no matter what position they held were polite and extremely friendly. Other revewers commented on the area but I can assure you we felt safe at all times.The breakfast was also very good, this was our third trip to NY and if I return I will be staying here again.Excellent location for everything you want to see and I have to mention the beds they are excellent so comfortable.Reception staff are so helpfull and if they can't answer your question they will go the extra mile to find out for you.The staff certaintly make this hotel an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdog59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your very special New York City visit. We love celebrating special occasions with our guests, so we're very glad that you and your daughters thoroughly enjoyed your stay. We're very happy that you were able to get to know our staff, and you found them friendly and helpful throughout your stay. We're also very happy to hear you were able to enjoy our very comfortable rooms, our central location, and our Collage Bar & Bistro for a convenient and quick breakfast. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to New York City. Take care until then! Warm wishes from the Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I love this hotel, I have been to NY once since this visit and regret there was no rooms available here.

Location is absolutely perfect, front desk and all the staff is flawless, I especially like the humor that is spot on every time I spoke with the staff.

It was me, my wife and son and two friends from Denmark and they liked it just as much.

Great room, perfect lokation, nice staff and affordable what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasper C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel during your first New York City visit! It is great to hear that you and your family and your friends all thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We're very glad you found the location perfect and the room spacious and comfortable. Our staff is always eager to get to know our guests so we're glad you enjoyed their sense of humor. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! Best regards from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Distrikt with my wife and 4 kids. The hotel is clean, staff is friendly and helpful, and the location near Times Square and the Port Authority terminal are great. The beds were extremely comfortable, and we heard no street noise.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bshiffty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel for your family vacation in New York City. It's great to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! We're very glad you found the room clean and comfortable, and the beds extremely comfortable. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you for your next visit to New York City! Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here for just under a week, and had a great time all round. Firstly, pro's - staff are fantastic, very helpful but non intrusive; a rare combo in hotel staff. If they didn't have any answer for something, they found out and followed up - exactly what a visitor to New York needs. Rooms were a fair size for NY (although not massive, no where is unless you are paying suite prices). Funky and clever design made it feel like a true holiday space as well. Finally, great water pressure - might sound an odd point, but I have been in some NY hotels where I'd have been better getting a tramp to spit at me. Hotel is very well placed for Times Square and getting to other tourist attractions is easy as well.

Some drawbacks - not suitable for families as only two lifts, so waiting around sometimes for the lift could be a pain for kids in a hurry to pee, etc. Location abuts what seems to be a sightly dodgy area, so wandering out at 2am to find fast food wouldn't be something I did in this hotel, but I would in some other parts of New York. That said, New York cops are all over the place and I felt much much safer here than in London, for example. No taxi rank nearby, which is usually not an issue as cab run up and down the street a lot, but if you were heading to catch a flight I'd book a limo

Overall, we will be using Distrikt again if we go to NY, and it's all down to the staff. Management should make sure they stay happy - as they are worth their weight in gold

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your New York City visit. We're very happy that you had a great time. We do pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is great to hear you were able to get to know them and they were able to assist you thoroughly, until your questions were answered. We're glad you found the room comfortable, and in fact, our showers are very popular for their water pressure, so you're not the only one! We're sorry to hear our elevators may have caused some inconvenience. And our immediate area has improved dramatically in recent years with the revalitalization of Port Authority, planting of more trees, and so forth. Therefore with regards to wandering late at night, that is absolutely doable (as you mentioned there's much police presence) but there are also some 24-hour establishments nearby, some that deliver, if guests would prefer that. Guests are encouraged to approach the front desk with any concerns or questions and our staff is happy to assist you. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you again for your next New York City visit! Best wishes from the Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We went based on TA recommendations and the rooms were small but quaint and we enjoyed our stay here for our anniversary trip. They had thoughtful card and dessert and staff was helpful with getting us to places.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkim25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Thank you for discovering us through Trip Advisor and choosing us for your New York City visit. We're very glad you enjoyed your anniversary trip! Our staff is always happy to celebrate such special occasions with you so it is great that they were able to assist in making this a memorable time. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#103 of 473 in New York City
554 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#74 of 473 in New York City
1,178 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#53 of 473 in New York City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 473 in New York City
478 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#34 of 473 in New York City
1,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $179 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opening to rave reviews in early 2010, Distrikt Hotel New York City - is a one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of the Midtown West, Times Square area. The Distrikt hotel towers 32 stories tall and offers guests a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. Our exceptional hospitality and customer service has launched Distrikt to be one of the highest rated hotels in New York City. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing