We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service, small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #67 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is pretty well located. A little seedy around the hotel with adult shops and liquor stores, but you can walk to all the major sites. If you wanna visit 9/11 memorial, go online for tickets before. For wheelchair users there is no shower bench. You have to request one and they bring in a portable one. Very unstable, small and uncomfortable. The room with 2 beds is too small to be considered accessible. Not enough space for luggage and moving around on a wheelchair.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,712 - 3,718 of 5,587 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2012

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay short term. We enjoyed hotel, as it is located really close to the Times Square. Rooms are ok, not too big and hotel staff is very nice and attentive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravellerE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

My wife and I spent Christmas and my wife's birthday (December 24th). The atention was great. Since we check-in on December 24th, they upgrade us to hight floor, because my wife's birthday and they sent to her a cake with a hans-write card. Near to Time Square and Port Autority is just across the street.

Muy buen hotel. Nosotros llegamos el 24 de Diciembre en la manana, todo bien. Como ese dia era el cumpleanos de mi esposa, ellos nos hicieron un upgrade y nos enviaron una pequena torta con su tarjeta, bonito detalle. Solo estuvimos 2 noches pero todo bien.

Room Tip: Near to the Port Autority and Times Square. Cerca del terminal de autobus y Times Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertoTeixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananas120, Public Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

We are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your time with us during you visit to New York City! Our location allows for a very quick walk to Times Square and the traffic on 8th Avenue provides security at all times. We're so glad your wife spent her birthday in New York City with us and enjoyed our mousse and hand-written card!

Thank you again for your review and we very much look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Very clean and easy to use. Beds are very comfortable. I don't like that the linens slide around the bed. This hotel was a lovely experience. The staff is really really nice and approachable. Love that different ethnic groups were behind the front desk. Free wii fii, coffee or hot apple cider were nice touches. Keurig machine in room made me bringing my favourites from home a easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennlbarrow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananas120, Public Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us for your visit to New York City! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the amenities we have to offer, such as our very comfortable bed and Keurig coffee machine (and you were able to enjoy your own favorite hot drinks). We feel that every detail is important in making your stay with us the most memorable it can be. Our front desk staff is always eager to assist guests, and we're glad you were able to get to know them.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Very clean, small hotel (5 rooms per floor, 29 floors). The staff was very attentive and friendly. The room was large by Midtown standards and the bathroom was modern and spacious. And did I mention ...clean. The price was right and it is near Times Square, the Theater District, and the subway. Wifi was strong. Would stay there again anytime.

Room Tip: Higher floors are usually quieter, elevators are fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuowl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananas120, Public Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at Distrikt Hotel for your New York City visit! We're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our rooms are designed for both a comfortable modernity and boutique appeal; Absolute privacy and quiet are provided due to the fact that we have just five rooms per floor. We're glad you took advantage of everything our neighborhood has to offer, such as Times Square, Theater District, and all major subway lines, all a few minutes away. Our staff is always happy and eager to assist you.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit! Best wishes and safe travels from the entire Distrikt team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for 10 nights and loved our little oasis in the middle of Manhattan. The location is great - 2 blocks from Times Square and right in the craziness that is NYC!

The staff are friendly, fun and helpful. I loved the free NY Times in the lobby and the free iced tea. I'd grab a copy of the Times on my way out each morning, and a cup of iced tea on my way in at the end of each day. This is the life!

I love how there were different themes depending on what floor you stayed on. We got Soho. :D On our first night there were complimentary brownies, and a hand-addressed letter. That made me feel special :)

The weird thing was that our shampoo/soap didn't get refreshed until I asked for it. Other than that, we loved staying here. It was clean, the facilities modern and the bed comfy!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freespiritflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananas120, Public Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for staying with us for 10 nights and taking your time to write your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our neighborhood, including Times Square a few minutes away. We are happy that were able to enjoy the cold iced tea offered in our lobby during those humid New York nights, and were able to head out into the City with our complimentary New York Times every morning. We're also happy to hear you enjoyed the complimentary brownie and the hand-written welcome note upon your arrival.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the unrefreshed toileteries. Every time a room is refreshed new toileteries are provided generally. Thank you for pointing this out.

Thank you again and we hope you are able to stay with us again during your next visit to the Big Apple!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The Distrikt is a smart, individual hotel located a couple of blocks west of Times Square. The bedrooms and bathrooms are a decent size, nothing out of the ordinary but comfortable and well-appointed. You'll need to be on a high floor if an interesting view is a priority.

The reception area is small but welcoming, with hot cider (non-alcoholic!) on tap during our stay. The staff at The Distrikt are its best asset - friendly and helpful, happy to help with a number of (non-hotel-related) queries and requests that we had.

There is wi-fi throughout and a couple of computers are available in the lobby.

The Collage Bistro is the hotel's dining room. We had perfectly serviceable breakfasts, though if you're here for an extended stay and/or breakfast is a highlight of the day for you, you might want to look further afield at some point. Food was served til 10.30 at night, but again, given New York's food options, you're unlikely to be eating here much. Bistro staff were similarly courteous and helpful.

The hotel's only slight drawback is that its immediate environment is not too welcoming - some of the streets around the hotel feel a little bit unsafe at night, though this is by no means a terrible area and in other ways the location is handy - the subway network is accessible across the road at the Port Authority, and the possibly more useful N, Q, R lines a couple of blocks away at 42nd St.

If you're looking for an alternative to anonymous chain hotels, The Distrikt is certainly worth considering. I'd possibly stay elsewhere next time just for variety, but would certainly be happy to stay at The Distrikt again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marinade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananas120, Public Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our neighborhood, such as Times Square a quick walk away. Our bedrooms and bathrooms are designed for utmost comfort but also with modernity and convenience in mind. We try our best to accomodate requests for high floors as long as we have availability. We do pride ourselves on our wonderful and knowledgeable staff, and we're glad they were able to thoroughly assist you and answer your questions. Our complimentary hot apple cider in the lobby is quite popular, especially in the brisk New York City wheather! We're glad you took advantage of our complimentary wifi and lobby Mac computers as well. We're happy you enjoyed having breakfast at our Collage Bistro.

Our street has transformed dramatically over the years and continue to improve, however we're sorry to hear you felt uncomfortable at times. Our Front Desk operates 24-hours a day and a security agent is present at night in the lobby as well. But we're glad to see you took advantage of the many transportation options, such as all of the major subway lines, nearby.

Thank you again and we hope you are able to stay with us for your next visit to New York City! Please contact us directly and we can help you make your next reservation even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#106 of 471 in New York City
518 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#48 of 471 in New York City
647 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 471 in New York City
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 471 in New York City
728 reviews
Financial District
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
Gild Hall, a Thompson Hotel
#33 of 471 in New York City
1,776 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 471 in New York City
11,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $138 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing