We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as Pictured... Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carol Stream, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just as Pictured... Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. All of the excellent reviews of this hotel are accurate! Upon arrival we were offered fresh iced tea and the front desk accommodated our slightly early check in. The lobby is tiny, but modern looking.

Our room was EXACTLY as pictured. Our bed was SO comfortable! We slept great while staying here. The noise on the street was not a problem at all (we stayed on the 21st floor). Our room was equipped with a Keurig coffee machine that came with tea and coffee daily. The room has a little desk, armoire, flat screen TV, dresser, iPod dock/alarm clock and programmable safe. The bathroom was modern and the shower was one of the best I have ever used in a hotel! The turndown service was very nice to come home to at night. They leave an updated weather forecast for the following day.

As some other reviewers stated, yes, the hotel is RIGHT across from the Port Authority, but it is ALSO RIGHT in the heart of Times Square and all the Theaters. I guess there are pros and cons anywhere you stay… The Port Authority has lots of police presence, so we were not uneasy about the location at all. There were also Subway entrances less than a minute’s walk down the street which was convenient. If you walk with a purpose and at least ACT like you know where you’re going and what you’re doing, I would not anticipate a problem. Honestly, we saw sketchier people hanging around the tourist spots than near our hotel. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you call and ask for clarification between the Deluxe and Supreme rooms when you book so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoorsLight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,310
    1,252
    228
    30
    15
See reviews for
920
2,468
223
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oost van Rotterdam
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

After reading all the raving reviews I can only say that they are true :
very friendly and helpfull staff, superclean spacious rooms, good location.
We arrived by ship, Ms Rotterdam, in New York at 7 AM, we were at the hotel by 10 AM and the room was ready ( as asked by email), a nice touch.
I would definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rotjeknor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

If you are going to NYC you must stay at this hotel! My boyfriend and I have done lots of traveling and have been to many hotels. This one by far is the best! The location is close to the subway and time square. It is a small entrance but have very nice staff ready to welcome you. The entrance is very modern looking and clean. They have free computers with internet and cold iced tea drinks for free out 24/7 and coffee in the morning. The staff was always very friendly and talkative and ready to help. They have a small little bar as well. The room was big and very nice! I didn't find it loud at all being so close to the road. The bathroom shower is big and done all modern. We had the best nights sleep ever,the bed is so big and comfortable. The room has a little desk, huge flat screen t.v and dreser. It also has a i pod radio, safe, and new coffee maker. They do a turn down service at night for you and make sure your room is clean during the day. You get chocolates daily and a welcome letter and treat when you first arrive. The only thing about the hotel is that the street it is on is kinda sketchy with the subway being right there, a few adult video stores, and the parole station being there. Having said that this is where I will go again if in NYC and loved my whole experience. The hotel is a 5 star to me!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star22064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We spent ten days in New York City and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Very clean and comfortable rooms. The staff were friendly and helpful. The interiors modern without being posh. The hotel felt gay-friendly and I can recommend to almost anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

This was our third trip to New York City and we booked the Distrikt Hotel based upon the tripadvisor reviews. I happened to post a comment on their facebook page prior to our trip and was completely surprised to receive an email shortly afterwards from Jennifer, the General Manager, stating she had upgraded our rooms. This was a lovely surprise and very much appreciated. We took the airtrain from Newark Airport to Penn Street Station and walked the short distance to the hotel. As others have stated there is a Parole Office and a few interesting shops on W40th street but at no point, night or day, did we feel in any way unsafe. As a previous poster pointed out approaching the hotel from 9th street avoids this. Check in was prompt and every member of staff we encountered was extremely helpful and courteous. Our rooms were off a good size for NYC and we had a fantastic view over the Hudson and could also clearly see the Empire State building. The hotel is in a very good location for exploring the wonderful sights of New York. We had a wonderful stay here and should we be lucky enough to visit New York again would most definitely stay at the Distrikt. Thank you for a wonderful start and end to our summer holiday! :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishGoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We just returned from New York and our stay at the Distrikt Hotel. We had a great experience. The hotel is new and the rooms are very clean. The staff is very courteous and helpful. It is a two block walk to Times Square where all the action is. The price was very good by New York standards and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for an upscale boutique hotel that is reasonably priced. The only negative is that there is a 1/2 block on 40th St. that you have to walk by from Times Square to the hotel that is a bit sketchy. Now having said that we did not encounter any problems and we did feel safe at all times.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

A lovely hotel with wonderful staff. It has a great little restaurant and access to wifi. It is just a few blocks from Times Square so good location in that respect. However, the area itself is not the most glam and is a bit grim. his hotel is in mid town. Everyone is a taxi trip away so not too much of a problem! If you're looking to stay in an area in New York which is clean with brown stones just like you see in the movies - aim to stay downtown around bedford and spring street or uptown near central park. Also beware - when you get in a yellow taxi you need to specifically tell the drive what avenue and street your location is on - because they don't know where things are unlike the London Black cabbie's!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria85London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#39 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#33 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,781 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel Times Square

Property: Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distrikt Hotel Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing