We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a 4 star stay in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for a 4 star stay in NYC”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Booked the hotel blindly through Quikbook , based on four stars and general location. Distrikt Hotel more than met my expectations of a luxury hotel. The front desk was extremely friendly and my requests were addressed in a positive manner. The room was larger than others in NYC.....comfortable and clean.
The location is convenient to the theatre district as well as the less touristy restaurants on 9th. I am planning my next stay at the Distrikt Hotel and have already informed my friends and family of this hot spot in NYC.

Room Tip: Talk to the friendly front desk staff.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,504
    1,360
    256
    38
    22
See reviews for
1,026
2,606
246
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,050)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Booked this hotel based on the reviews and the reasonable pricing. Should have gone elsewhere.
While the rooms are new and the facilities are in working order, it should be noted that the rooms are tiny. Even if staying, as in my case, in one of the larger king size bed ones. Barely enough room with the crib to move around and definitively no closet space (to the minimum or maximum of 3 shirts, one skirt).
Service, as in room service is not only delayed but also extremely limited in selection and availability. Meaning operating hours are certainly not 24.
Location is a downside. Not only because of the neighborhood (you are literally steps away from a Parole Office) but also because you are across the street from the bus depot and the noise starts before 6AM and ends after Midnight. And the noise will be overwhelming if you have a room as we did, facing the bus station.
Look elsewhere, I will.

Room Tip: None that I can think of
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank ticopica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2011

After hours of reading to get a nice hotel for a 1-night stay in NY, we decided to get a room at the Distrikt (for 240 dollars, tax included). It could not have been a better choice. The place is brand new, everything functions perfectly, staff is very friendly and quick to attend. Room was decent size (at least for NY standards), hip forniture, big HD TV, free wifi and NYtimes in the morning. Definitely recommended. Oh... there's also free coffe in the morning and free apple cider in the afternoon: just what you need to start your day in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldusmanuzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

It's our first time in NYC and we based our decision to stay at the distrikt on the tripadvisor reviews. We stayed 9 nights at the distrikt

- very friendly staff. I told them it was my birthday and they greeted me with a birthday cupcake in the room.

- free wireless which is fantastic for doing research / bookings for things to do. We had no definitely plans but knew roughly what we wanted to do.

- hotel is across from the port authority so there is no issues with catching the subway or walking to anywhere. Times Square is just down the road and so are all the restaurants on 9th ave.

- Our only con if we are to be pedantic is that housekeeping was a bit touch and go. sometimes they would leave us chocolates sometimes not. By the end of our stay they stopped giving us spare toilet paper and we kept running out. LOL i know thats a funny thing to complain about but its a basic need. Apart from that our stay was great.

Room was on the small side (apparently tho this is big for NYC) but you're in NYC. You don't need to stay in your room!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunkyIngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel 5 times. I love staying here. It is located in a very accessible location. The hotel linens are younger than i am. It is a great choice for me for business. The restaurant prices are wonderful. They make it so much easier to just eat in the hotel and then head off to work. Linda is exceptional in the restaurant.

This is the one place i choose to stay on a consistent basis.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbindner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We did a lot of research before choosing Hotel Distrikt in order to find the best possible choice for us. We chose Hotel Distrikt even though it was a little bit too expensive for us. Our room was beautifully clean and stylish in a contemporary way with a fantastic view over Manhattan. We were on our honeymoon and the Front Office Desk Team made us feel very special. The staff was very easy-going, friendly and helpful. All the positive feed back from the other customers' reviews on the internet were absolutely true as well as everything was just the same as in the pictures on the website. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Upper the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2011

We decided to stay at this hotel after reading all the great reviews on TripAdvisor. The hotel is great, we had a very clean and large room, the staff were very attentive and always on hand to help with any queries we had, it has a great locations with some lovely restaurants nearby, very convenient for seeing all of Manhattan and the free wifi is a real bonus. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit New York.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
1,002 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#74 of 467 in New York City
384 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#17 of 467 in New York City
2,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
5,136 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
2,828 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#22 of 467 in New York City
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Property: Distrikt Hotel New York City
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing