We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Super Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #245 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, WA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Location, Super Staff”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Walking distance to all mid-town attractions (Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Central Park, Empire State Building, Broadway Theaters and more), and subway entrance one block away.

To get to the hotel from JFK we took the AirTrain to Jamaica Station then took LIRR from Jamaica station heading to New York City / Penn Station. (You can take the subway but takes over 30 minutes longer.) From Penn Station exit out the W 34th St toward 8th Ave. and walk up 8th Ave the five blocks to W 39th St. Took us about 10 minutes to walk to the hotel, all in all it was exactly one hour from when we got our bags at baggage claim to arrival at the hotel.

The Front Desk staff was excellent at check-in, and later when we asked for recommendations for a restaurant nearby they recommended the Carbone Ristorante just around the block from the hotel. This is a very good, family owned, Italian restaurant, very small, only about six tables and bar but the food was fantastic (highly recommend their pizza’s).
Room staff was also great, gave us extra coffee packages when we asked for them, and room was always clean when we got back from sightseeing.

The hotel rooms are small but clean and quiet. The Tassimo One Cup Coffee Makers in the rooms make great coffee, our room did not have a bath tub, which we would have liked, but there was nothing wrong with the shower. Our room was on the 11th floor and did not face the street; it was very quiet, with no street noise at all.

The breakfast is included in the room rate, buffet style, choice of cold cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, bagels, toast, coffee, you get the idea, nothing to brag about but nothing wrong with it either.

The location and affordable price are two of the best reason to stay at this hotel, it like 6 blocks from everything!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forwarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    914
    309
    93
    70
See reviews for
870
565
129
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights early october, room was small but very clean with every thing we needed (we are not living there). Not the best area but not to bad if you turn left on exiting hotel and go via 8th ave. 9th does seem a bit seedy between 37th and 41st street. We had a great time, breakfast is good and will set you up for the day. Do your homework as price can vary check, all sites pricing seems to be going up the longer its open. Business center was vary useful but does get hot (they turn air-con off stops you staying in there to long ).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian-the-builder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The Hampton Inn Time Square South is located relatively good and you will find many of the places in a walking distance. We were staying in a double bed room on a high floor (26th) with a great view to a brick wall (i wouldn't imagine they have anything better). The room was very small and it was very hard to handle the stroller for our baby, introducing the crib into the room made moving in the room impossible. The room was clean as expected from hampton network, nothing extra ordinary, the showers were also very small but clean. The service in the hotel is the real disappointment, you couldn't put a smile on the front desk people even if you told them they won the lottery, grim faced and always giving you the feeling that they are doing you a favor for every service they give you.
The hotel supposedly has a free wireless connection to all guests but in our room the connectivity was impossible, only when we went out to the elevators it came back.
The rooms are also very expensive and i thought i would get better return for the money i spent (354$/night)
I would not recommend staying in this hotel unless you get a deal you cannot refuse. There is a hotel boom in NYC for a while now, and you will find a better hotel with little effort.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eris0303
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed at the Hampton Inn Times Square South from 10/1/09-10/4/09 and I had a very enjoyable stay. The area is not "bad" as other posters have stated. It's a city street no different than many other city streets. If you've never been on a street in a city such as New York it might seem daunting. But it's as safe as you make it safe. Be aware of your surroundings and know where you're going. People who look clueless or lost are targets. So even if you don't know where you're going - fake it. Attitude is everything. Remember, any place can be "dangerous" from the cleanest suburban neighborhood to the dirtiest city street. The hotel is situated between 8th and 9th Avenues (though is closer to 9th) and both avenues are fairly busy.

You're only a few blocks from the theatre district which made the hotel perfect for me. While in town I took in a production of "Bye Bye Birdie" at the Henry Miller Theatre (on 43rd Street between Broadway & 6th Avenue). A very quick walk from my hotel. The staff was helpful and courteous and I have no complaints about them. Whenever I stay in a hotel I put the "do not disturb" sign on my door to keep out the hotel staff. I don't need my bed made every day and don't accumulate much trash during a short stay. While the Hilton Family of hotels is quite reputable I'm not sure the temptation to go through someone's belongings or swipe something would never occur to one of their employees. Temptation is always around. Especially when there's a laptop and an ipod in the room. So, I just have them stay out of my room. They can clean it once I'm gone.

I highly recommend this hotel. Only six blocks up from Penn Station and a few blocks down from the theatre district. Not many taxis come down 39th Street but one can be easily hailed at either 8th or 9th Avenues (though if you're going uptown it's better to hail one on 8th). If you're uncomfortable with the thought of hailing a cab just ask the front desk for help. I never had to do this but I don't see why it would be a problem. The only time I used a cab was when I went to the Lincoln Center (in the 60's). I walked everywhere else. Walking can be a real treat because you never know who you'll see. During my stay I saw four Broadway actors just walking down the street - one of whom was Dustin Hoffman.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eris0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

The hotel was located just a block away from Times Square. It was also convenient to the subway. Having 2 young children along, it was a great place to stay, because breakfast was included. They could get something they liked and a snack to take along for later in the day. The hotel staff was very accomodating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortworthtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

No evidence of the start up problems mentioned by previous reviewers. Good room size by Manhattan standards. Double windows for soundproofing, quiet air conditioning. Friendly staff, good breakfast area, nice fitness facility, fast WiFi in room. The location might be a bit of a concern for families but did not concern me at all. Tall and narrow, only 6 rooms per floor. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retailwonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Excellent hotel and polite and friendly staff! stayed in posher, more expensive hotels in n.y and this has to be by far the all over best! staff are very friendly and helpfull, hotel nice and clean and location great too! view wasnt too good as we stayed in a room to rear of the building but we cant ask for everything, still was very tidy, clean and spacious room. would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minted20003000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
5,329 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#293 of 467 in New York City
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 467 in New York City
1,874 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#223 of 467 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#165 of 467 in New York City
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing