We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #253 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I am a pretty good traveler. I spend over 100 nights a year on the road so I try to be accommodating and understanding of the staff. I can roll with things pretty easily but really had a hard time trying to understand why the staff was just rude.
I had a one night stay as I needed to overnight in NY because of my flight. Got to the hotel and asked them in help in resolving a small issue which any other hotel would have done without a problem, especially being a Hilton Diamond Member. Of course, the help they gave was non existent and when I asked for a manager a lady came out and pretty much yelled at me.
I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. I should have picked the other hotel on my list but thought the $20 savings would be worth it. Same on me. Never again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cxworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2014

Hello,

I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations. If you have the time, I'd love to talk to you about your stay with us. Thank you again for choosing us, hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,215 - 1,221 of 2,492 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is a great hotel close enough to everything but far enough away (2 blocks) that you are not bothered by too much noise at night. The team is friendly and always willing to help with suggestions. It was very busy when we were there but you would not expect differently in a NYC Hotel. Would recommend this facility to consider for traveling to the city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hi there!! We thank you for the review and recommendations!!! We aim to please and we are happy to hear that we met your expectations! Please make sure to come back and stay with us next time you are in the city!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This location is excellent. We were close to most NYC attractions and public transportation. The lobby is very small. They store luggage, but unfortunately it is is in the lobby for the most part. The rooms are also small. However, we had a corner room on almost the top floor. The views were great. We could see the Empire State Building at night from our room, which was beautiful. We also very much appreciated the little extra shown by the staff. On Easter, the Easter bunny came with a basketful of goodies for all the people eating breakfast, that although crowded, was tasty. Overall, the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. This, the value, and the location is why we are giving it an excellent rating!

Room Tip: top floors have excellent views and more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Oh, the bunny rabbit!! Ha! I'm so glad you liked our Easter treats!! We thank you for your kind words and review. It was such a pleasure having you here and we hope you come back soon!!! Have a great Spring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Hotel is in a safe and convenient location to all Times Square attractions. The breakfast is good. A great variety of cold and hot foods. The staff was quick to replenish the items on the buffet. Beds are uncomfortable. The noise from the elevators can be annoying at times. The room size is appropriate for two people. Heating did not work very well. It was either too hot or too cold. No happy medium. Housekeeping is slow to respond (if they ever do). I had to ask three times for clean towels and still had to go track down staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am saddened to hear about some the challenges you faced during your stay. We will definitely address these concerns with the staff. We thank you for your honesty and for your feedback. Thanks again for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Recently we spent two nights ( Apr. 12 -14th) in NYC on our way to Miami, and this hotel was perfect for our purpose, within walking distance of central park, theatres, the Rockefeller centre etc. Located centrally and at the right price it served us well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and well maintained, unfortunately as we only had two nights we were not able to use all its facilities. This was our first visit to the USA and this initial impression was positive for the remainder of our holiday in the States.! If we do return to NYC then the Hampton will be our first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We are so glad to hear that your first visit to the states was a great one!! We are happy to have been your choice here in NYC. It was such a pleasure having you here and we hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We had the pleasure of working with Lidio during our stay at the Hampton Inn Times Square South, NYC. He was friendly, funny and informative. He not only stored our bags for us, he offered to make a reservation for a car to take us to the airport. It turned out to be much cheaper then taking a cab. He always had a smile on his face and was eager to help in any way!

Room Tip: The rooms are clean but very small!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi!!

We are so glad to hear that Lidio was extra accommodating and helpful during your stay!! Hamptonality at it's best. We appreciate you taking the time out to review your time with us. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel out of the million here in NYC :) Hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Everything was really great--service, friendliness, cleanliness of room; however, we were up on the 32nd floor and the hotel itself is rather compact. We had a great view, but I would definitely request a room closer to the ground floor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Wonderwomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Hi, thank you for the review. We hope you enjoyed your time in the city! We appreciate you staying with us and hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#160 of 470 in New York City
5,584 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 470 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 470 in New York City
2,194 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#196 of 470 in New York City
1,210 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#147 of 470 in New York City
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $125 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing