We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above AND BEYOND customer service, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #242 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above AND BEYOND customer service, great location”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We came to NYC for a couple nights to celebrate a friend's bday. Chris at the front desk was so kind, accommodating, funny, ummm the list could go on. He was helpful but more than that, really listened to what we needed. He even called a restaurant to see if they could keep the kitchen open since we got in late and were still hungry.

Nelson was also at the front desk. He was very friendly and welcoming. I know it seems like that comment is plain but the thing is, I haven't had a customer service level from the front desk of any hotel like this in the past 10 years. Again, we felt listened to and cared for.

As a matter of fact, everyone that we came into contact with was friendly and smiling.

The rooms were clean and space efficient (it is always small in NYC) and easy access to a lot of great stuff. I was surprised as to all the restaurants available right on 9th Ave.

I would definitely go back here again because of the service, cleanliness and location. Oh, and breakfast was free!

Thank you to the staff for making our stay memorable. We felt well taken care of.

Best wishes,
Julie and Lauren

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jblezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi Julie and Lauren!

THANK YOU!!! We are thrilled to hear that you had a pleasurable experience at our hotel! We strive to please each and every guest that comes through our doors!! We know you have endless options for lodging in the city and we appreciate you for choosing us!!

Hurry back, you are missed already!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    906
    306
    91
    68
See reviews for
859
563
126
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

If you are a smart shopper and can wait till the last minute, deals can be had. I waited to the day of arriving in NYC to pick a hotel.. Two great sources are Kayak and if you like Hiltons, use HHonors. I booked my two night stay using the HHonors app the morning of arrival. My first pick was the Hilton Garden Inn (time square) but it was sold out. My 2nd choice at $139 for the first night and $149 for the second night was the Hampton South Time Square.

Great location between 8th and 9th. 9th is a great place to eat at a reasonable cost. The staff was very friendly and our check-in could not of been easier. We stayed on the 12th floor. The elevators are very fast. The rooms are what you expect in the big city (small).

The only issue is with the elevator, I could here it at night (my wife did not). The breakfast (free) is a nice way to start the morning off. Also, the room and hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiefSparta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi there!

Thank you so much for your kind words and review! Thank you so much for staying with us and for the compliments!! Make sure you come back and see us real soon!!! It was an absolute pleaure having you here!

We'll be waiting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and the location was excellent! Short walk to all the sites we wanted to see. And, at $130/night, it was an excellent value that also included breakfast. Highly recommend it for anyone wanting to stay out of the middle of Times Square, but just a short walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We are so glad you chose to stay with us!!! Our location is close to everything and we are so glad it was convenient for you!! Now you know where to stay next time you are in NYC!!

We loved having you here!!

Cheers,

Team Hampton TSS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newfoundland,
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for a week. It was her first time in NYC so the location was great for her to see the main sites. I would also suggest a place called Capizzi to eat, its really close by, and a great meal for a cheap price. (this was recommended to us by hotel staff) Overall the price of the hotel was a great deal, we had breakfast included, just your basics but enough. Or during the week you can also grab a to-go bag. I would say the concierge one day was a little irrigant. He stood out from the other staff who were always friendly and helpful. The elevator is slow...just try to be downstairs before 9:30, beat the rush! It was a little hard to get cabs sometimes in the area so allow for this. If you want to get a bus to the woodbury commons, don;t fall into the trap of buying it at the hotel. It may be 5$ cheaper but you have to come back a lot earlier if you just go to port authority. The hotel tried to tell us we could;t get tickets at port authority anymore, which is not true at all. But I guess everyone is out to make a dollar somehow. I would stay here again if I was looking in this location.

Room Tip: stay on the lower elevators to avoid elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanerxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and recommendations. We appreciate your honesty and feedback. We hope you come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I spent 6 nights with a group of students and we had an amazing experience. We felt very welcomed and got to know some of the friendly staff. They have a great complimentary breakfast with a variety of items (warm: eggs, sausage, waffles, etc) cereal, yogurt, fruit. There is 24 hour tea and coffee available. The rooms are small (NYC small) but a clean and quality hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 785danicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here. Please come see us again next time you are in town! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I chose this place because of the reviews and was not disappointed! Good breakfast selections, easy location with close proximity to all major places we went....including subway. Very nice staff and overall great place! Price good, too. No complaints from this picky hotel person! Thank you!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LeighannaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Hi there! Thank you for choosing us during your visit to NYC! You did your research and we are so glad you enjoyed your time here!!! We hope we lived up to the reputation! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice hotel for what I needed (to be within walking distance to a meeting destination) If you are staying for pleasure, I would head over to Times Square. This place is nice, but not "where the action is" Hotel staff is amazing. They do everything possible to make sure you have everything you need.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Cheri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTS, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
We strive to be your home away from home! Thank you so much for the lovely kudos! Please come back and stay with us again. We really apppreciate your review, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#170 of 468 in New York City
5,287 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 468 in New York City
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,838 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 468 in New York City
1,858 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#267 of 468 in New York City
1,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing