We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small town hotel in the Big Apple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #253 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Feels like a small town hotel, as I have been staying there sine the first year it opened. Staff is mostly the same, meaning it is a good place to work. Everything is nice and clean, free WiFi. I usually have a lot of packages waiting for me when I arrive. No charge for this. The neighborhood is quiet, just off the crazy human rush hour walk. I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you George B for such a wonderful review! It is always a pleasure having you stay with us while your in NYC! We certainly appreciate your loyalty. We'll see you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,497)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,427 - 1,433 of 2,497 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

This very clean, ver appointed hotel is a few steps off of Times Square. Excellent walking distance to everything. Great breakfast, nice workout facility, rooms are small but welcome to NYC! They were very clean and very well furnished. Staff was AMAZING!!! Chris is a great source of information for food, shows and shopping!! Hampton should make this guy a tour guide for the city. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Thea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Thea D,

Thank you for writing such a great review of our hotel. We truly appreciate the kind words. It is always good to see that our guests enjoyed their time with us in NYC! Oh and Chris is definitely an asset to our team, as well as the rest of the staff here at the Hampton Inn! We hope you stay with us again! Have a great rest of the summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very good location. Helpful Staff. Very good breakfast. Negative: Housekeeping came at 6pm to do the room. At that time we were getting ready for dinner so we didn't get the service. I would really have appreciated if they would have done it earlier during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Sabrina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We certainly appreciate your honesty and take your comments seriously. We are always working hard to improve the service that our hotel provides and we sincerely apologize for the delayed housekeeping service. We hope this does not deter you from staying with us gain. Until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Staff was very nice and accomadating. We asked for a low floor which they did. for us. Hotel was clean and the location was just off the busy area of times square which was great. We were just a few blocks from the on off bus which was very nice. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthurr43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you giving us an excellent review and for rating us so well! It's great to hear that our staff was so accommodating with your needs. We hope to see you back soon. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a really good hotel to stay at, it is near enough to Times Square to walk easily but far enough to be away from the crowds. There are plenty of restaurants around the area and close enough to walk to subway, buses and shops. The room was not huge but this is a big city and space is a premium. The shower was too narrow though and we had to wash ourselves sideways. The room and furnishings are clean and we could see the top of the Empire State Building from our window. As previous people have mentioned, there are only 2 elevators and waiting time can be long as the cleaning staff use them as we'll. it is quite an effort to find a place to sit for breakfast on busy days but the food for breakfast is good and plentiful. It would be better if the waffle makers were at a different location because they clog the line. All in all though we had a great stay and would recommend this hotel to all.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank longtimetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We appreciate your honesty and for giving our future guests such great tips and suggestions. We hope you stay with us again. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

... This property is very clean and nicely renovated. Great staff and breakfast is a nice treat. Nice location; within a few blocks from Times Square. I will be back for sure. Excellent place for casual travellers who need a bed and breakfast style accommodation. Price is reasonable, so you will save some $$ for fun too. Go for it!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jitka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hi there!

Thank you so much for your kind words! We loved having you here and we hope to see you sooner than later! Now you know where to stay the next time you are in town!! Thank you!!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After a one night stay before we boarded our cruise on the 21st March we were very much looking forward to our return stay for 5 nights whilst we explored NYC and we were not disappointed. 5 minutes walk from the heart of Times Square so a great location for a kick off. We booked a 3 day bus pass but once we had been on it once we were able to walk to the sites as the hotel was so central, if you like walking, like us save yourself some money and don't bother with the bus tours. Central park was only a 15 minute walk one way and Macys a 10 minute walk the other. The tours were ok if you want background information but we had more fun exploring ourselves.The hotel staff were so friendly that not only did they give my daughter an Easter gift but they even gave me one too! Hotel was spotless and this is coming from a clean freak.The breakfast was plentiful, you could eat as healthy or as naughty as you wanted, only downside was the breakfast area was on the small side but we only had to wait one morning for a table to become free. The gym was ample for a workout. Lifts....well lets say we waited and waited and found being on floor 14 a bit of a pain. Other than this the hotel was well worth the money we paid and would 100% recommend it. Thank you to all at The Hampton for making our NYC trip such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd-Fogerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Hi there,

I am so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time during your trip to our city! Now you know where to stay the next time you are in NYC!!! Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#159 of 470 in New York City
5,594 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 470 in New York City
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#163 of 470 in New York City
2,236 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#202 of 470 in New York City
1,213 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#146 of 470 in New York City
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $125 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing