We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New York City Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #238 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
St. Charles, IL, United States
2 reviews
“New York City Vacation”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This is a very clean and comfortable hotel near Time Square. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. It's also a good value and a great place to stay if you're on a budget. Free breakfast is a plus. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Robb H,

Thank you for writing a wonderful review of our hotel! We are very grateful to hear such kind words about our property and our staff. We hope this does indeed bring you back to our hotel. Until then, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    895
    300
    88
    64
See reviews for
847
553
125
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

From the moment I checked in, I was treated with a friendly, warm welcome. Located right in the heart of the city.
Clean, and Brilliant! Breakfast just amazing and tasty!
will come back to this hotel only!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Wow!! Thank for the great review! We truly appreciate that we are your top choice of all the hotels in New York. It is always great hearing that our guests had a fantastic stay with us! We hope to see you soon, until then, have a great rest of the summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Room was typical New York City size, clean and adequate. Hotel front desk staff very friendly and helpful. This hotel shares a concierge. The breakfast area is very small and cramped in the morning unless you arrive early. There are only two small elevators and again the wait time can be lengthy as there is not a seperate service elevator. This hotel is a short distance from a main road to get a cab and a little dark at night. Price was resonable; noise level was very good!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flagirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We appreciate your honesty and are glad to hear your stay was up to par. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, NE, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Wonderful experience and extra kudos to the front desk and breakfast staff for the extra effort they put into their jobs and hospitality! There are obviously many choices for hotels in the Manhattan area, we liked the location, the safety of the area and found the location to be easily accessible to most anything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words and nice review. I hope you had a great time in NYC. We really appreciate you choosing us and we hope to see you again sooner than later! Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hampton for four days and found our experience overall to be very good. Rooms were clean and the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was absolutely perfect.....close to to Times Square, theaters , and many fine restaurants. The price was also very reasonable....no need to stay at expensive and fancy hotels as there is so much to see and do in NYC and this location allowed easy access to many attractions and events. Also is within walking distance to Central Park! We loved this place and will definitely stay here again when returning to NYC.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hello there!

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope we are IT for you each time you come to NYC!!! Christmas time is the best, just FYI. Thanks again for staying with us, it was an absolute pleasure having you here!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our room was great, good size and very comfy bed. Bath was a little small but good hot water and clean towels. The hotel staff were attentive and helpful with recommendations regarding restaurants . Great location to all things, Broadway, Central Park, waterfront & Times Square. We walked to everything except the two times when my feet were hurting so bad we jumped into a taxi fora $5 ride. The temperature was in the high 90's to 100+ and the air conditioner ran all nite but our room was nice and cool. The breakfast was nice, nothing fancy but usual breakfast food and the breakfast lady was nice and friendly. We stayed at Hilton Times Square in December and although it was lively this hotel was more convenient for walking and sightseeing. Great experience and would definitely stay in this hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced 39th street but noise was not a problem on the 11th floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: I do not mind reusing my bath towel one time but since we had to shower three times a day it was virtually impossible. We started the day with a shower then before dinner and then before bed due to the heat. I'm glad they are trying to be environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi!!

Thank you for taking the time out to rate us here on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please make sure to come back sooner than later!!! We loved having you here! Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is located near everything. You are two blocks away from Times Square and Broadway and the bus terminal is on the corner. The room is small but when you are in NYC you just use it to sleep, take a bath and keep your luggage, so the space it's more than enough and also the room is very clean and confortable. The breakfast is simple, without a great diversity of food, but everything is fresh and tasty. The hotel staff is very attentive and polite. Next time I'll go to New York, I'll definetely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone_NYC_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
WOOHOO!!!! That's what we love to hear!! It was a pleasure having you as our guests. We hope NYC treated you well. Thank you for your kind words and nice review. Don't take too long to come back!!

Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,240 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#136 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#148 Family Hotel in New York City
#179 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing