We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #252 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is located near everything. You are two blocks away from Times Square and Broadway and the bus terminal is on the corner. The room is small but when you are in NYC you just use it to sleep, take a bath and keep your luggage, so the space it's more than enough and also the room is very clean and confortable. The breakfast is simple, without a great diversity of food, but everything is fresh and tasty. The hotel staff is very attentive and polite. Next time I'll go to New York, I'll definetely stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone_NYC_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

WOOHOO!!!! That's what we love to hear!! It was a pleasure having you as our guests. We hope NYC treated you well. Thank you for your kind words and nice review. Don't take too long to come back!!

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,442 of 2,493 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

cute hotel with limited rooms, hotel staff awesome, but needed to change rooms between days, had to check out of one and the other room was very late getting ready. Staff gave us a little goody bag to help but we all really wanted our room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank cashd65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hello there!

Thank you so much for taking the time out to rate us here on Trip Advisor. Our sincere apologies over the slight hiccup. We hope you come back and stay with us in the future! NYC misses you already.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel has too many maintenance issues, especially in the bathroom. The hotel staff is slow to respond. The housekeeping area must be understaffed because the room was not cleaned until late afternoon or early evening.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for your honest review. We sincerely aplogize for the inconveniences caused during your stay. Thanks for giving us a shot. Hopefully you can give us another chance in the future.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location and is a great value for the area. It is convenient to tourist attractions,airport restaurants,etc. The rooms are rather small,but this is NYC.But, the room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was very nice and pleasant. Would definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and for highly rating us! We are glad to see our accommodations met your expectations and were a great value to you. We hope to see you soon, but until then, safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our first trip to New York City and we stayed for 7 nights at the Hampton Inn Times Square South. We had a wonderful stay and the staff was extremely polite & professional. We stayed with our 2 children & the double bed room fit us just fine. The breakfast buffet was wonderful & we even received a bag with muffins, apples, & water at our last morning breakfast. The average wait for the elevator was 2-3 minutes. I had mentioned our son's birthday & when we returned from our day of touring, there were some treats & a Happy Birthday note for him. We felt very safe in the hotel & on the street. Close to Times Square & the subway. The staff was great about answering the many questions we had about the city. When we asked for non-feather pillows, they were delivered to our room promptly. We would definitely stay at this hotel again & I have already recommended it to a friend heading to NYC!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCGatorFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear SCGatorFan,

We have to thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We are so glad that we were able to surprise your son with a small gift for his birthday. We try to anticipate our guest needs and exceed expectations where ever possible! Thank you again for reviewing our hotel and recommending us to your friends and family. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great location, easy walk to subway, Staff at the Hampton Inn were VERY accommodating!! As always the hampton inn is known for it's comfortable bedding and clean rooms.
A BIG Thank You to Chris at the front desk who's smile lights up the entrance. He was very helpful with getting around the city too! Breakfast was great, coffee even better!! Cold water and fresh baked cookies awaiting our return from a long hot day in the city.
We are planning our next trip and we will stay here again!
Thank You Hampon Inn!

Room Tip: We were on the 14th floor, our a/c was a little noisy but not terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tikihut3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review! Chris would also like to thank you for such kind words! We are so happy to hear that you and your family had such a great trip while staying with us. Next time, we will make sure your trip will be just as great! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

As we walked into the hotel, the front desk staff greeted us with smiling faces. We checked in (about 2 hours early) and the staff was more than willing to get us into a room as fast as possible. After reviewing on the computer for a few moments, they were able to get us in a room (which was actually an upgrade) immediately for no additional cost. We took the elevator ride and arrived at our room on the19th floor (I think 19th, possibly 17th). The room was small, but well decorated and the beds were comfortable. It was just my mom and I, so it was plenty of space for two of us. Once we got a little rest, we went down stairs to head to our first stop. After an afternoon and evening out and about in the city, we headed back to the hotel. We arrived back and were greeted with the same amount of enthusiasm as before. Our 3 day stay in this hotel was definitely a positive one. On our last day, we were all packed and ready to go, but had a late flight. The front desk was more than happy to hold our bags for us while we spent the day in the city. The only place where there could be improvement is the set up of the breakfast. The toaster and waffle irons were right next to each other and it created quite the traffic jam in the morning. I will definitely be staying here again on my next visit to the city. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbk16990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

What a wonderful review! It is certainly a great thing to hear that your stay went so well from beginning to end. We strive to make sure every one of our guests feels welcomed when entering the hotel. We recently renovated our breakfast area so it does have a different feel from our last layout but we are always open to the suggestions and comments from our guests. Your feedback does help us make a change. Until then, we hope you stay with us again. Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#158 of 470 in New York City
5,590 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#291 of 470 in New York City
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 470 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 470 in New York City
1,211 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#147 of 470 in New York City
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#144 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing