We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Times Square,metro, and restaurants”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #243 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient to Times Square,metro, and restaurants”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This property is definitely for those who just need a bed and not too much time in your room. It is located in the garment district.
Breakfast was great, and the breakfast staff very helpful, and busy at the *8:45-9:30 - quite crowded. Plan accordingly.
We used the concierge and bellman at the next door hotel for coordinating taxis, limo, and show tickets.
We had 6 rooms for our family trip and had 2 full size beds. Wish I could have had the king, but ah well next time.

Green Features: There was a double waste bin in the room to separate recyclables.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilac287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Good evening,

Thank you so much for your recent hotel review. We appreciate your honesty and we hope you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for the good tips that I am sure will be useful for our future guests! Hope the next time you are in town, you come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    913
    309
    92
    68
See reviews for
866
565
129
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very nice hotel and stayed for 5 nights on our 1st trip to NYC. The room was a sufficient size, clean and fresh. The bathroom was very nice too. There are only 6 rooms to each floor and we were next to the lift, but did not get any disturbance from other guests. Breakfast was included in the price and there was plenty of choice. Tea and coffee were available all day, if required. We found the location of the hotel very good and did plenty of walking. The staff were very friendly and helpful and were always there if needed. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello there!
Thank you for taking the time out to review us on TA. We hope you had a pleasant stay with us. It is great to hear that our staff was attentive and you enjoyed all the amenties available to you. We hope to see you back here the next time you are in NYC. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to NYC and were on the run 100% of the time. Our room was tiny, compared to others around the country, but I completely understand that space in NYC is not something that is come by easily. That being said, the bathroom was small but very comfortable and up to date. Overall, this was a nice hotel and the staff was very eager to help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatanachi L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for the great review on Trip Advisor we really appreciate it, we hope you come back to our great city and stay with us again. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I just came back from a two night stay at the Hampton Inn Times Square South, whilst attending an expo at the Javits Center.

As a regular guest at Hampton Inns on road trips, I knew generally what to expect from the place, with some added NYC realities.

Firstly, the hotel is clean, the staf are very welcoming and the place feels modern and unpretentious. The whole building is quite narrow and sits right next to two other hotels on 39th Street (between 8th and 9th Avenues). There are only I think five or six rooms per floor, which makes it relatively quiet and does not have that stuffy feeling with alot of NYC hotels. The elevators were fast, but there was alot of waiting around at some of the busier times.

I was traveling alone and had a king room with a view, although the view was a bit crappy really (could only see the top ten feet of the Empire State Building and a glimse of the Hudson River in the distance - I was on the 20th floor.). Although the room was much smaller than Hampton Inns found in many other areas of the country, they did make great use of the space available and I did not feel cramped in any way. The room was spotless, the water pressure was great (FYI no bath, just a nice shower). I have stayed in many hotels in NYC and this compares favourably to most. The majority of NYC hotels have small rooms, even at the top end, but this is no different in London, Paris etc. where space is at a huge premium. This hotel had a reasonably sized room whihc was perfect for one, would be OK for two, but not so sure for a larger family.

The breakfast area in the morning was very busy, but I found a place to sit each time, no problem. The food was standard Hampton Inn, with a relatively good selection and was kept topped up throughout the service.

The hotel was well located for me, being only a ten to fifteen minute walk to the Javits Center. It is also the same to Times Square proper and Penn Station. Overall a good location in the area of Hell's Kitchen.

There is an excellent Irish pub one minute from the hotel (Tir Na Nog) which has great staff and good food.

The staff were friendly throughout my stay and helped to arrange a private car to the airport for a reasonable rate and they also store luggage downstairs.

Finally, and I cannot stress this enough, the free WiFi internet was excellent. This is a major problem across many hotels that offer the service for free with horrible connection speeds, but this hotel came up trumps - thank you!!!

Overall, a very good stay and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GarethParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello there!

Thank you so much for taking the time out to review your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We love that you offered great tips for our future guests. We appreciate your honesty and thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you back soon! Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We took a group of high school seniors to New York for their senior trip & stayed at the Hampton Inn - Times Square South. It was a terrific location for all our planned events. It's only a block from the Times Square subway station, the breakfast was much more substantial than I had ever expected & the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdmc0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vangie427, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are very happy your group enjoyed their stay with us. Our location is great one for families and group tours since we are so central. We hope you and your group decides to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newberry, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The staff made it a pleasure to stay in NYC. They are extremely helpful and resourceful. Always with a smile and knew where to send us, making sure we took the right trains and recommending places plus giving us tips on what to do and not do in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for your positvie reviews regarding our hotel and staff. It's because of guests like you, we love our job! I hope you had a great time in NYC. Don't forget about us next time you are in town. We'd love to have you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in room with city views. This was on 24th floor and considering the views would prefer a quicker journey in lift or easy walk down the stairs and should I return would request lower level. Overall experience is pleasant one and would return to hotel.

First thing first is need to know that blocks are not very big and only take couple of minutes. The hotel is located a block from Port Authority (where take bus to Woodbury Commons so not far to carry purchases) with a subway next to it and water taxi piers to the back. It is also a couple of blocks from Time Square and also all the shows. My husband and I walked to the overhead garden park A few blocks away, then made our way to downtown through Greenwich, Little Italy, Chinatown..tired at the end but worth it.

The hotel is compact with 32 floors but only 5 or 6 rooms per floor. Rooms are not overly large mostly when trying to squeeze an ironing board in there But are clean and fresh. There are only 2 lifts used by guests and staff so depending on the time it can be long wait. There is complimentary breakfast which was plentiful for us but may not be if you are the type of person who expects buffet hot food variety as usually 1 egg dish (omelets or funny looking scrambled), bacon, sausages, oatmeal. There is juices, yoghurts, cereals, plenty varieties of bagels, bread, Croissants, Cup cakes, English muffins and you can make your own waffles. Once again breakfast area Is compact so gets cramped in serving area if people don't move out of the way whilst waiting for toaster or waffles and same goes for tables, Can be hard to find one if there at wrong time so some guests take tray back to room.

There is 24 hour free coffee, Tea and hot chocolate with cookies in afternoon if you get there at right time. Staff are all friendly and accommodating HOWEVER I wish we had been told at start that there is free access to laundry room at hotel next door. Machine and dryers are free just need to buy powder. As it is we spent $20 getting laundry done at cleaners on the corner before we made use of laundry next door.

Room Tip: Lower levels so that without luggage can walk down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetsPack_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing us during your vacation here in New York City. We really appreciate you taking time out to rate us. I hope you had an excellent time here in the city. Thank you for your honesty and good tips for our future guests. I do apologize that we failed to mention some of the amenities available to you. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 466 in New York City
5,322 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#237 of 466 in New York City
1,870 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#226 of 466 in New York City
1,844 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#167 of 466 in New York City
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing