We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great for groups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #251 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I organized a bachelorette party for 8 girls in NYC and we stayed at this Hampton Inn in several different rooms. It is a fairly basic hotel, but it was perfect for our group. The location was perfect for getting in/around Manhattan, the free breakfast was good and the hotel staff were very helpful at check in and if we ever needed anything (putting us all on the same floor, which was very convenient). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for choosing us for such a momentous occasion. I really hope you had a great time while you were here in the city. Thank you for your kind words and for your gracious ratings. I hope the next time you are in NYC, you stay with us! It was definitely our pleasure having you here! Have a great summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,495)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,476 - 1,482 of 2,495 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful service. Great home away from home in the city. Great front staff. Very clean rooms. Good housekeeping. Good sized rooms for the city. The breakfast is a good way to start the day. Great cookies at night. Nice foyer to hang out. Wonderful view from our room 3105. Fast elevators. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel. It's good to hear that my front office staff provided great customer service to you and yours. Please come back and see us soon. We loved having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last week during our visit of New York City. The staff were amazing, very helpful, and courteous. The room was typical size for NYC but extremely clean and fresh. Times Square location is excellent. Hotel was finishing some remolding of the lobby which should be done by now so done fret over reviews that we complaining of being inconvienced in the lobby area. The free breakfast was great with many choices. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay near Times Square.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hello!

You just made my day! Thank you for your kind words and review. We really appreciate the business and the kudos to the staff. I will definitely pass this on to the rest of the team. I hope you choose us again next time you are in town. Have a great summer. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel has a great location, just a couple of blocks from the subway and Times Square. We purchased a tour bus ticket for two days and were able to hop off and walk all over Manhattan. Our room was exceptionally clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Good morning,

Thank you for staying with us. I am so happy to hear you liked our hotel. Please make sure to stay with us in the future!! Hope you come back soon. Have a wonderful summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were most impressed with the Hampton Inn, the hotel was conveniently located within walking distance to many of the famous attractions in NY, Time Square, Central Park, Rockerfella Centre and the famous shopping on 5th and Madison Avenues. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The self service coffee and hot chocolate behind the foyer was very welcome when returning from a busy day exploring the city. We enjoyed being able to grab a bite of breakfast to start the day in the breakfast room. Would recommend Hampton Inn to other travellers wanting a nice clean hotel to stay in NY.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for choosing us during your time here in NYC. We really appreciate the business and the loyalty. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Don't forget us next time you are in town! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights whilst passing through NY on our way up to Canada. The hotel is very well located for mid-town Manhattan being close to the subway and walking distance to plenty of tourist attractions. We had a city view room that turned out to be on the top floor. We had a lovely view of a lot of the mid-town building and the Hudson. The room seemed a little dated but was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was quite reasonable although I can imagine the breakfast room getting very crowded when the hotel is busy. We were up early both days so this was not a problem for us. The hotel staff were very friendly and quick to sort us out when we arrived and when we left.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a high level room if it's not too much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tdng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Hello,

Thank you for such lovely comments. We loved having you here and we hope to see you again. Sooner than later, of course! Have a great summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the HI. Evangeline at the front desk was amazing. Great recommendation for food and sites. The rest of the front staff was ok. The room was quite large for NYC standards with a great view and super clean. Breakfast and cookies are meet the HI standards. The location is quite central in many ways. Walk to Times Square, Hell's Kitchen, Empire State Building, MOMA, and Central Park easily. For everything else, the subway was less than a block away. An excellent value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatanachi L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor we appreciate your kind words. I will inform Evangeline of the great name mentioned she is amazing and we value her so much! We are excited to know much you enjoyed our freshly baked cookies and complimentary breakfast buffet! We hope this will keep you from coming back to our hotel! Thanks again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#157 of 470 in New York City
5,590 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#293 of 470 in New York City
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#161 of 470 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 470 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison Square Garden Area
Hampton Inn Manhattan - Madison ...
#144 of 470 in New York City
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#134 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#175 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The newly renovated Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city. When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and stay connected using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing