We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Ranked #234 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
costa mesa, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

fix the elevators, redo breakfast area and it would rate much higher. Staff great. Breakfast delivery clumsy and awkward. Bunch of kids stayed at hotel jamming elevators. work out area small. budget hotel but nice bed, clean room, and in good location. not in time square, but close and close to javitz center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. I really appreciate your patience during our renovation. Happy to say that we are quickly approaching the finish line! I hope you come back to see the end result. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    873
    294
    84
    62
See reviews for
828
541
122
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights. The experience was great. Small room, but thats NYC baby! Friendly staff,good price and fab location! They even brought the breakfast to the room.
Highly reccomend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsAdri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatanachi L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review and the awesome scores, Were glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, We hope to see soon especially since we updated our lobby and breakfast area. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
196 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I am a frequent business traveler to Manhattan and usually stay in the Times Square area because of the location. This was my first and last stay at this hotel. Small rooms, stained carpet, dirty bathroom floor, slow elevators, sub standard breakfast and the room required cleaning. I know hotel rooms are small in Manhattan but the rooms at this Hampton Inn were the size of a shoe box.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Born2Travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatanachi L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are really sorry the Hotel did not meet your expectations during your stay with us, I would like to inform you that I have addressed your Issues to the appropriate Department heads, as this will prevent future guest to experience similar Inconveniences. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel so we can further discuss this matter. Thanks again and I hope to speak to you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel and the amenities that it has to offer. The free breakfast and cookies were a great addition to my stay. The customer service was really, really wonderful! Good Job. I felt really good when the gentleman at the front desk offered me a free bag of trailmix when I mentioned that I was hungry (and we'd just gotten off the plane). This hotel was clean, in a great location and right on time. I would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank rrbanks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your kind words and positive review. I am glad to hear that we were attentive and you were happy with the customer service provided by the front desk. Please come back and stay with us in the future! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

There is too little help available at the desk and with luggage which is held being located. Getting our stored bags took almost 30 minutes. The breakfast boxes we ordered (3) were all wrong. But they were on time! Staff failed to inform us that choices of continental breakfast were available in lobby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank gkaufmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatanachi L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We’re sorry the hotel did not exceed your expectations; we will like to apologize for the Breakfast delivery and for the Miscommunication between you and our staff member. Please give me a call at your earliest convenience so we can further discuses this matter! Thank you and I look forward to speak to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

...if you want to be right in the middle of it but no too close to busy and noisy streets. Only few minutes from Times Square and several other major attractions (Top of the Rock, Central Park, Empire State Building etc.) are close by. We stayed for 8 nights and besides some others guests who didn´t know how to behave, there was no reason for complaints at all! Staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast - the Hampton Inn usual, nothing fancy but sufficient! I´d recommend a room higher up and you´ll even get a glimpse of the Empire State Building. Will definitely choose this hotel again on our next trip to NYC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We loved having you here! I hope the next time you come to NYC, you stay with us! Have a great summer, thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in July 2012. The hotel is in a great position: really close to Times Square and 1-2 blocks from A-C-E underground. Our room was tiny but functional and both the room and the bathroom were clean. We had some troubles with the air-conditioner, which wasn't easy to set. The hotel was very crowded (it was high season) and we had to wait for a long time to get the lift. Breakfast was included and with a good choice of food and beverages. The staff was very kind and helpful: we asked for a car to go to Newark Airport and they gave us a limousine!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatanachi L, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We are excited to know how great and convenient your stay was, We like to thank you for the great scores you provided on Trip Advisor, I’m sorry for the Inconvenience the Air Conditioner caused you during your stay, We hope this wont effect you from coming back to our hotel, Especially since we have a brand new/updated lobby and breakfast area from our wonderful guest! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square Central
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Square North
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Times Squa...
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,128 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#267 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#240 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South

Property: Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Address: 337 West 39th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#137 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#149 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Times Square and wake up to all of the great attractions the city has to offer. The Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South is the perfect base for travelers looking to experience everything New York has to offer from concerts at Madison Square Garden to Broadway theatre productions and the works of the world’s most famous artists at the Museum of Modern Art. Walk to Central Park or hop on the subway and travel to other famous attractions throughout the city.When you return from a long day of experiencing all of the sights and sounds the city has to offer, you can relax in a clean and fresh Hampton bed® and send pictures to family and friends using our high speed internet. When you wake up you can enjoy our signature complimentary breakfast with free coffee and tea throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Times Square South Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing